another master piece showing different colors of pakistan when it was a normal fun country..
we shut down all bars, pubs, cultural events,banned alcohol, closed all beach restaurants, dance clubs, cinemas, theaters…and opened 100 times more mosques, 2000 times more religious madrassas…but look where we are today…the country is one of the most manhoos countries on this globe…god is definitely not happier but really upset with us…you know what lets go back to old pakistan ..I am OK with a mai-kada if it makes pakistan a normal happy fun country..hell with all these mosques of today where we have nothing but blood!
LMAO.... Saudi Arabia should have been the most deadly country if the number of mosques and absence of bars determined how violent a society is.
If you would ask me to pin down ONE or THE MOST IMPORTANT reason for our decline, it is lack of application of law. No matter how crazy you are in a country, but if you know that law applies strictly and equally to all, regardless of your social, political or economic status, you'd behave. A nice example is how people drive like humans when they are on motorway from ISL to Lahore and would suddenly become beasts behind wheels as soon as they get off the motorway.
LMAO.... Saudi Arabia should have been the most deadly country if the number of mosques and absence of bars determined how violent a society is.
If you would ask me to pin down ONE or THE MOST IMPORTANT reason for our decline, it is lack of application of law. No matter how crazy you are in a country, but if you know that law applies strictly and equally to all, regardless of your social, political or economic status, you'd behave. A nice example is how people drive like humans when they are on motorway from ISL to Lahore and would suddenly become beasts behind wheels as soon as they get off the motorway.
blah blah blah.......suadi is one of the most screwed up societies in the world...bomb or no bomb....no one wants to go there....yes Muslims go there for spiritual reasons but no one wants to live in that depressed society......period
ok so in 60/70 people used to follow all the laws? and pakistan had a rule of law then? whatever makes you happy my man....
the point is that we were not a religious society back then and we were far more normal....happier...civilized.
we then became a religious society and we are in a deep s-ch-it today..
that is a fact...rest is just an explanation to save the face!
all i am trying to say is that religion has absolutely no role in shaping society...pakistan is a classic example! turkey and egypt will be soon inshallah!
religion is only good enough to be followed in perosnal sphere and gain spiritual pleasure and bring discipline to your life...that if you wan to...not by compulsion
blah blah blah.......suadi is one of the most screwed up societies in the world...bomb or no bomb....no one wants to go there....yes Muslims go there for spiritual reasons but no one wants to live in that depressed society...i just got an offer to work there..left $150K/annual on table but decided not to go....period
ok so in 60/70 people used to follow all the laws? and pakistan had a rule of law then? whatever makes you happy my man....
the point is that we were not a religious society back then and we were far more normal....happier...civilized.
we then became a religious society and we are in a deep s-ch-it today..
that is a fact...rest is just an explanation to save the face!
hmmmmmm..... make up your mind. I just cited Saudi Arabia because you believe it is absence of bars and prevalence of mosques that is causing violence in Pakistan. You don't have violence in Saudi, because you know you'll go directly to jail and don't know when you might get released if you are naughty. That can also go with a not-so-depressed society. North Korea has no mosques, but ahem....... Burma is 5% Muslim, but very corrupt. Mosques are just symptoms of disease. I agree with you that religiosity has been a terrible tool in Pakistan, but it is just that... a tool.
Yes, the society was more law abiding in 50s and 60s, at least that's what I have heard and read. You could actually get into trouble for selling substandard chilli powder or riding bicycle without tail light. Religion has been a tool used by ruling elite to grab power and continue enjoying absolute power. When is the last time you heard about an influential businessman, general, politician, bureaucrat or landlord who was actually convicted of a crime and SERVED his sentence?
Google Ayub Afridi to get a context of what I am trying to say and compare that to someone bringing in a few grams of heroin into Saudi. Also Google 'golden crescent' to know how this "religiosity" is financed. We used religiosity as a tool because it was the need of the day and the generals knew they were above law and no one can touch them.
The so called drunkard liberal that Paracha. Look at looser's twitter account and you will know how refined and liberal he is.
Iska liberalism beach pe nahati nangi auraten, sleeveless main dance karti Nusrat Bhutto, aur sharaab ki bottle aur bars ke na hone ke rone per khatam hai. Why can't he see 80-90 per cent of population for whom these things were and still are forbidden tree.
all i am trying to say is that religion has absolutely no role in shaping society...pakistan is a classic example! turkey and egypt will be soon inshallah!
religion is only good enough to be followed in perosnal sphere and gain spiritual pleasure and bring discipline to your life...that if you wan to...not by compulsion
rab rakha!
lol, who gave you the moral authority to come up with these delusional theories? maybe to you drinking alcohol and dancing half naked is normal but to the majority of us it is animal behavior. lmao at you liberals and your arrogance.
And Pakistan has 20 million people with revenues coming from hajj and oil, which incidentally the saw dees had no hand in developing the tech to extract it, but we don't so you don't get to compare Saudia to Pakistan. Balochi sardars have that khannas as well that they would be rich like their omani brothers but balochi minerals would take hard work + technology that only the west can offer.
The so called drunkard liberal that Paracha. Look at looser's twitter account and you will know how refined and liberal he is.
Iska liberalism beach pe nahati nangi auraten, sleeveless main dance karti Nusrat Bhutto, aur sharaab ki bottle aur bars ke na hone ke rone per khatam hai. Why can't he see 80-90 per cent of population for whom these things were and still are forbidden tree.
To me now, those issues are more of a personal moral issues now (our leaders aren't immune either) which certainly doesn't require a death mob. I don't know how kattar a pipliya you are but from what i have seen with ehsan bhai, my major issue with NFP showing the seventies like he does is that he never mentions the destruction of the pakistani economy by nationalization (admitted by PPP last govt) and quota system. He briefly mentions the banning of alcohol by bhutto, but all his nazla falls on Zia ul Haq like a jiyala. He has some relevant points, but he loses credibility with such jiyala pan in his articles.
PS I too have noticed his fascination with sharab, be it the muree brewery ads or the nanga imran khan in whiskey ads or in locker room where alcohol is allegedly being served. I think that has to do more with his own itch to have easy access to public alchohol in karachi.
lols, I’ll be the last person on this earth to be called a Pipliya. I just disliked them to the extent of mild hate.
I’ve serious issues with Paracha because he writes blogs / articles like a propaganda machine. uss se to kisi ka subh fajr ke time uth kar namaz padhna aur nafs se ladna bhi hazam nahin hota
and to me, many of these pics look like they are from the urban side of india of the 70s. that tudor ad could be right out of an old readers digest india edition next to the fashionable skypak and vip luggage ads.
The period NFP is referring to has nothing to do with ZAB. It was Ayub’s Pakistan. The beemari and downslide started after that when ZAB and Zia inserted religion in the constitution. Ayub for me was the best Pakistani leader after Jinnah. He provided good governance. Under Ayub Pakistan was a strong country, a tolerant and progressive country. It is not like people did not pray or fast or there were no halwa molvis back then but they did not feel the need to display their faith or religiosity. PIA was among the top 6 airlines in the world. Malaysian and Middle-East princes used to come to study at Aitchison College etc. Major industrial development happened during Ayub’s time - Steel Mills Mangla and Tarbela dam etc. all happened under his watch. When I talk to my elders, my parents & uncles etc. they only have good things to say about Ayub.
The only blemish on Ayub’s almost 11-year rule was A he was a military dictator - but then it was not all his fault. Then ayyash President Sikander Mirza shot himself in the foot when he appointed Ayub Chief Martial Law Administrator CMLA & B he won a rigged Presidential election against Fatima Jinnah
Religion and Pakistan - the problem i see is that everyone has there own version of Islam in Pakistan if you disagree with someone else's version you'll get called kaffir or your local mosque will get bombed, religion is the root of some problems in Pakistan today, Pakistan should definitely move away and look beyond religion if it wants to see progression.
Britain is no different. I find more ghoomey huey narrow-minded intolerant young muslims here in the UK (infact most people who came here are still stuck in the 60s or 70s and their children behave the same way whereas most young people esp. in urban Pakistan have moved on, more tolerant and progressive imo) than in Pakistan. I had a very happy childhood in Pakistan. No such problems existed back then.
I think the author is saying, why does everything have to be religion phobic.
Why can Pakistan not lead the normal life, where people have choices - To pray, to dress, to accept others as they are, rather than the intolerant gun yelding society which Pakistan has become.
Seeing all those photos I was genuinely surprised, to see the liberal Pakistan of the 60s, 70s, 80s.