'Allotment' of plots

It seems to be a favourite topic for discussion; Pakistan military bashing. And while at it people almost always bring up the topic of military officers’ residential plots allotment. I accept the fact that there is a lot of undesirable stuff in the military too, and there are corrupt officers but there has to be slight insight into the actual process. Constant defaming without simultaneous mention of actual procedures and gerenal rules makes everyone look bad and creates paranoia.

The word ‘allotment’ while referring to military officers and their plots generally seems to be misunderstood or misused. As a matter of fact it’s not just colonels and generals who are allotted plots, every army officer is entitled to subscribe to the officers housing plans schemes etc and they are indeed ‘allotted’ plots by the Army’s choice, the senior or longer serving the officer, the larger the size, better the locality. But the officer isnt just gifted the ownership docs in ribbons upon retirement, a sum is deducted from their salaries each month and upon retirement they are eligible to own the plot only upon full payment of the remaining amount. Plus not all officers are allotted plots in DHA Karachi.

It’s just that the military looks after it’s people better. Sure there are those who work around the system and get hold of more than their share due through various means, but that’s not reason enough to smudge the entire process of alloting plots to military officers. Heck, 80% the population of Defense is non military background, so if there is corruption it’s shared equally by civil servants. If we can come across a Colonel with a 500 yd home in DHA, we come across ten Tax/Customs/Police officers with 500yd homes in the colonel’s street. Why not fuss about them as vocally too, because it’s their actions and lack of devotion to duty or corruption that affects the lives of common Pakistanis more as compared to military officers. Plus if DHAs all over the country are the most valuable places today, who made them valuable? the areas today referred to as DHA were just land at some point. The army acquired the areas for its needs. Like any dept can and could anywhere. the military developed the area and turned it into a valuable locality. Civilians loved it and started buying homes there too. My point being that DHAs were not gold mines that the military took hold of illegitimately. They acquired the lands by procedure, though subsidized like in any country, and turned it into a gold mine on its own, initially for its own people and then for all. I’m sure if given a choice many ppl would love to buy homes in Kharian cantt, Malir cantt, Wah cantt, because the military keeps it’s stuff straight. Can we start fussing over how the military has got hold some of the finest localities of the country to use as cantts!? Heck they made them that way.

Now if our civil land depts, ministries, district admins, and so on can not do the same for us the common man the civilian, it’s their fault and their failure. Not the military’s. We should curse the inept govt depts, ministers, provinical and federal govt officers, their slacking and their ill ways. Not the military. Had we had the courage or the right mind to do that, we as citizens of Pakistan might have snatched our rights from the people who come to serve us but rule over us-I mean the civil servants, elected leaders and politicians. And i mean not only those we have today, but majorly those that we have had on and off since the 1950s to the mid 1990s.

So I guess if an executive employee of one multinational concern has issues with the packages offered or being extended to his equals in a rival concern he ought to start questioning his company and those responsible for his benefits, packages, funds, plans and so on in his company. What would we call him if he started questioning the legitimacy, procedures, legality, suitablitities etc of the other company…!? Sure there must be some points he could raise his fingers on, but what should be of greater concern and significance to this person…?

Re: 'Allotment' of plots

Haris- you cannot compare the Army to private sector and other govt depts and say they should 'compete' to make sure they get the best 'financial' package.

Amongst other things, Pak Army rules by the gun.

Armies of other countries do not get the same 'benefits' as Pak Army despite doing the same job.

It is not the right place of the Army to put Army men into civil service posts(while in service, and depriving civilians of jobs) and make them multi-millionaries

Resentment against the Army for turning Pakistan into Faujistan builds every month, and will one day explode

Where does the money for army salaries come from? Why do they need so many perks in a country as poor as Pakistan? And on top of that they also rule us.

Apparently 50% of the land in sindh is held by non-sindhis. i suppose this is all army allotted land.

The army is inefficient and needs tolive rough in order to be able to fight. This sort of pampering is not given to lower level officers who actually fight like hero's.

it is about time this system was stopped. if there is any free unused land within pakistan it should be given to the poor notto those who are already rich.

what is wrong with pakistan? am i the only one who asks this question?

If an income tax officer from his haram money buys a house in Dha no one should not have any sympathy with them and they should be condemned and same goes for politicians,smugglers and obviously ARMY wallas

If we lok at dha of karachi i agree we will find more civilians then army wala.But the fact is the whole area was alloted to the army the reason we see civilians here is because colonel saab who was alloted a 1000 yards plot sold 500 yards of it and lived on the other 500.

The reason why people want to live in army areas like DHA because they are the safest areas around and have all the facilities with water,less power breakdowns,proper drainage system etc etc.I can give the example of karachi when there was lawlessness in the early 90s the whole city
suffered from strikes but nothing happened to the protected DHA.

The agricultural lands of army walla why are they alloted these lands.Sujawal in thatta and sanghar area is full of army lands

Its not just the plots its about benefits in health education,memebership of exclusive club even to concession in parks.

Actually every army functions by the gun. So Pakistan army isnt an exception. And like i often say, the army is an armed institution and can be expected to use force, but the reality is, the army inspite of being the army has ruled lesser by the gun as compared to the other allegedly unarned democratic rulers. All of whom have been famous for their irrational, illegal use of arms and ammunition for various personal purposes.

The reason i gave the example of a company was because that's what it basically is about. If the army has better planning and execution capabilities, Who is to be blamed?

And then again the argument about why the army rules or why armymen get jobs in civil depts. Everyone knows the reasons. I'd just mention an example of KESC. Brig Sadozai remained MD for about 5 years until the recent privatisation. Ask a common karachi dweller what KESC was like 5 yrs ago, and what its like now. It may hurt but it's the truth, no civil MD was able to do better. Why? Let's ask the civil depts.
Meanwhile, if or not Brig (engineer) Sadozai enjoyed any under table luxuries or whether he recieved two salaries or just one, or if he or his deputies and other officials indulged in any scams or bribes is of little concern to the commoner who is more concerned with better tariffs and less loadsheddings and breakdowns and quick courteous responses. As far as the corruption is concerned, if not less it may be as bad as during the previous democratic times...so what seems better...? corruption by a few with gradual improvement or corruption by everyone with no improvement? There is blood loss during surgery but it has to be ignored. likewise the little corruption by military can also be disregarded like the massive corruptions of civilians that are traditionally disregarded in Pakistan.

The perks enjoyed by a red tabbed colonel are the object of everyone's attention, why aren't the perks enjoyed by a 19 grade FPSC officer ever discussed? Depending on the post they get airconditioned offices, cars, drivers, armed guards, gratuity funds, residential plot schemes etc and so on too! And again if a company employee doesnt get get discounts to the company's own school, hospital, park, club, farm etc and his friend in another company does, he ought to ask his company and question why he isnt. Whats so bizarre if the military allows these benefits to its personnel on use of its own facilities. I must add that civil depts officials also have almost all these facilities, the only diff is, they are not up to standards. Why? Because of the diff between how soldiers run things and how corrupt civilian administrators run their depts and care least for the well being of their own community and fellow citizens.

And the army as the nation's army has a right to own land where it desires through due legal process on payment of a price. It's not as if they own land and keep it for their field exercises in the middle of cities. They acquire land and let it out to those willing to purchase with 1st priority being their own employees who are also human and have a right to own property on payment of a sum, If their dept is nice enough to offer them the plot at subsidized rates, it shouldnt make anyone jealous.

And, yes military influenced locailties are best planned and organized. But, they are not Camelot! DHA Khi is one of the areas with the worst water shortages. Residents suffer no less or more power failures than any other part of the city.

I must also say that I'm not closing my eyes to corruption, I'm not denying that there is corruption, nor am I endorsing any form of civil or military corruption. I suffer from as much paranoia as anyone else, but i just feel that blaming the army for every problem and pointing fingers at the army and army alone is extremely irrational and misguided. God knows how much corruption civilans are capable of and everyone has records. Let's call a spade a spade and blame only the one who ought to be blamed. Let's not generalize or pile up baseless hatered for anyone. Let's not create biases. Absolutely not for our own military. Let's try to accept the equation and possibilities of having black sheep. But black sheep shouldnt make us hate all sheep!

I was meaning to answer this post earlier but i held back after the karachi blast...anyway my two pence:

• Myth: The Army runs businesses better than civilians

Fact: Untrue, some of the biggest loss making groups in Pakistan are Armed forces owned. In state run businesses the most successful has been PTCL and that's never been Army run. In fact major turn arounds in the state run banking sector have all been done by civilians.

**Myth: look at what a good job the Army has done in KESC in bringing down losses
**Fact
*: Interestingly the reality is quite different, electricity prices have increased since the Army openly entered WAPDA in 1998..so some of the recovery is attributable to increased charges and not improvements. As far as electricity pilferage is concerned, yes there has been some improvement but to put things in perspective:
1998 KESC losses at nearly 60%, KESC was the biggest loss making group in WAPDA

2007 KESC losses 40%+ KESC still biggest loss making group in WAPDA.
So overall the turn around has been poor.

**Myth: The Army is less corrupt than other institutions.
**FACT:
* The reality is the claim is unproven, there is no transparency in deals or independant auditings, so even if there are huge corruption scandals nobody knows. Again at the lower level because of tough screening there maybe less corruption, but it's been consistently shown that it is the senior armes forces officers involved in mega deals of corruption, Admiral Mansur ul Haq is one example and he got away with just a slap on the wrist.

Yes, that is all factually correct. The civilian government of Nawaz Sharif had botched up KESC and WAPDA so badly that it had to call in the Pakistan Army to clean up the mess in 1998. It was one of the very few good decisions that man made, and being a native of Karachi I can testify what a turnaround there has been since.

I see that zakk or TRD type people have not been able to achieve the "Pakistani dream" and that makes them bitter as heck.

For anyone who has actually lived in Pakistan and had money to buy a plot in any of the cities should know better. Unfortunately poor Kabuli Kommies never believed in and never had access to the capital. So they burn and roast themselves day and night.

Pak army housing schemes are generally desirable. However Generals are not alone in setting up good housing developments. Especially these days Bahria, and Wapda towns win the game hands down in some of the cities.

Case in point! Gujranwala is almost in the army heartland. However the best kept secret for this industrial city is the scheme run by a retired Wapda officer. The same is true with many other cities and schemes.

Bahria has launched many schemes in Lahore and Islamabad. They are doing pretty darn good as well.

I understand that all these examples will never extinguish the hell fire burning in the hearts and minds of Kabuli Kommies. They will never forget the utter defeat of Kommies a la Kabul.

antiobl and his paranoia over commies and mullahs aside..the issue of the housing boom and army allotments are 2 different things. One is linked to the abuse of power the other is purely an economic activity. As far as Nawaz Sharif is concerned his biggest success was the appoinment of civilian profesionals to head UBL,HBL and NBP banks...all those heavily in the red banks were turned around in 2 years or so..by contrast WAPDA is still incurring heavy losses.

Zakk- They are just teenagers who do not know or care about facts, they
have their opinions made by others , and go on and on about it

Anti- It's not the 80's, time to move past the immature 'commie' jibes,
even if you are just a kid

nice article Haris...i would simply say, that jealousness is a natural feeling among people....those who are not part of the establishment resent who benefit...and would use any excuse to defend their point....

Re: ‘Allotment’ of plots

*“6,814 employees below BPS 13 and 584 above BPS 13 of the Capital Development Authority (CDA) had applied for plots in the capital and that January 24, 2004 was the last date for applying for plots. The applications are being scrutinised. So far 63 CDA employees have been given allotment letters. The rest will get letters within three months”
*http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006\04\13\story_13-4-2006_pg7_21

13 Grade employees in the army would be Havaldars and Naib Subedars I guess. Plot prices in the capital’s most moderate sector I-9 too are rather sky rocketing lately.

I don't see anything wrong with the allotment of plots to those who have spent their lives working for the military or civil establishment of the country. However, corrupt practices (in army or civilan institutions) are in no way justified. Pakistan is losing its best minds to the new wave of corporate culture. To attract intelligent and capable people to these vital national institutions, we must give them some financial incentives. Any saith sahib of Karachi or Sheikh sahib of Lahore can buy expensive property by hiring a few 'chotas' to work in their shops or stores. People in Pakistan have whole gas fields alloted to them. Pakistanis have plots alloted in London after extorting money from the poor people of Karachi and the near-bankrupt banks in Lahore. Why whine about DHA only!

Amorphous
Getting plots from illegal and black money is something else.No one can justify a corrupt politician civilian or army officer.our fauji brothers are alloted plots and agricultural lands.I can give you example of NHS of karachi where a navy Lt commander and commander ranked officer can get a 350 yards house on his retirement.He has to pay around 2 million for that house and that too in intallments.Most of the navy walas who are alloted this house right after the balloting process makes a deal with the potential buyer.you know what these houses now have the market value of around 30 million and above>it that justified

I mean they make around 2 and half crores or more by selling these houses.

There are civilian schemes as well but can they make a profit like this obviously not.

Amorphous
Getting plots from illegal and black money is something else.No one can justify a corrupt politician civilian or army officer.

I don't see anything wrong with the allotment of plots to those who have spent their lives working for the military or civil establishment of the country. However, corrupt practices (in army or civilan institutions) are in no way justified

^ So selling a 2 million house for 300 million is corruption or not???

Thats what I am trying to point out its all legal and obviously they cant be investigated with this.

syedpk, I don't exactly know what the procedures/details of the allotment process are. But I have clearly stated that I do not oppose these allotments if a civil servant or army officer has honestly served the country for decades.

Disclaimer: The only army officer in my family was a doctor. He is retired now. He did not get any plot.

wickremasinghe sahab

Yeah those who serve the country"honestly" should get some reward.But the fact is our military elite with these allotments are making millions and billions without any check and just taking advantage of the prime land which their institution owns.

anyway do you know his batch?AMC?? I know many army doctors.How long did he served.Everyone is alloted after completing 10 to 15 plus years in service some are even alloted for serving less than 10 years also.was there a case of court martial???

I love pakistan and its fauj pak army zindabad

Nahin mere bhai, he took early retirement. Secondly he was not an AMC graduate. Don't remember the number of years he served.

Yes, it is tragic that we can not use the prefix 'honest' with any public/private institution in Pakistan.