Allah and Global warming.

Surah rehman:

1. The sun and the moon run on their fixed courses (exactly) calculated with measured out stages for each (for reckoning, etc.).

2. And the herbs (or stars) and the trees both prostrate.

3. And the heaven He has raised high, and He has set up the Balance.

4. In order that you may not transgress (due) balance.

**9. And observe the weight with equity and do not make the balance deficient.
10. **And the earth He has put for the creatures.

If you really want to get to the soul of what he meant.
Read through(native/indigenous) philosophy of keeping balance.

re: Allah and Global warming.

to anyone wondering, that's not true.

1) Earth's orbit is elliptical and the distance from the sun varies from around 147 million kilometers to 152 million kilometers on any given year.

2) Every star has a habitable zone that is affected by the size of the star and its intensity. The Sun's habitable zone is about 0.95 AU to 1.37 AU. An AU is the Earth's average distance from the sun, 93 million miles, so Earth's orbit could decrease by 4,500,000 miles or increase by 34,000,000 mises and still be in the habitable zone.

Point being, that NO, the Sun, Earth and the moon do NOT have fixed courses as this is WRONG. Our solar system, including our Earth, fluctuates, moves, vibrates in WILD patterns, that are unpredictable. If for example, our Earth had FIXED and EXACT courses, then all of our rains would fall the same time each solar year; all of our seasons would start at an EXACT time etc etc. The quran isn't a completely accurate science book. It's a guide line for all things philosophy.

Re: Allah and Global warming.

have you, in your infinite wisdom, ever considered that the fluctuating courses are EXACTLY how He meant for it to be and therefore the courses are fixed?

Can all those bodies' movemnt(course) be predicted in far future??
How??

I don't think allag(swt) use tape-measure and then said those words.

How the hell does all this relate to Global Warming?

Muzna, in my opinion, that is a fallacy filled argument. Meaning, "if i'm wrong, then i'll just adapt the right answer and pretend thats what was meant in the first place."

the ayat SPECIFICALLY mentions FIXED and EXACT. These things in science mean ABSOLUTE CERTAINTY. But with all due respect, science has PROVEN that these movements ARENT fixed OR exact.

:lifey:

rozoon sy app ky dimagh per acha aser para hy :omg:

yaar tum logon ka to koi haal naheeh

watch this

on some nice A$% tv.

Dr. saheb....you are well entitled to your opinion. I will not argue.
I merely expressed mine.

There is no compulsion in religion.......

double.

my "opinion" on the science i mentioned isn't an opinion, its a fact.

but in your OPINION your religion of your version of islam there is no compulsion. my version has respect for science.

Dr sahib when a 80 yeah old women, who walk straight tell you this(some thing) is good for you. YOU LISTEN!!!!!

we been fasting for a long time, and actually know what it does to us....

so please spare us from your wisdom..... till ramazan ends atleast.

accept science for what it is, beta. science triumphs all. RESPECT it.

The Iyet has variable meanings since Arabic word Husban had different meaning.

“(The sun and the moon are made punctual) their orbits are measured; and it is also said that this means: they are suspended half way between heaven and earth; and it is also said that this means: they both will be taken to task and have a lifespan like the lifespan of human beings.”

It is a useless argument.

Science is not perfect and there is no such thing as science being fact. Anyone who believes science is an absolute fact in all matters, has no idea what science is.

How are you Monk?

Exactly.

Each sentence of Quran or any book can be interpreted in many different ways. It depends what color of glasses I am wearing when I read it. I read Moulana Moududi's Tafheem ul Quran and felt that since he started plitico religious party so he was looking reference from Quran to prove that what he did was exactly what Quran wants him to do.

And then there is this classical joke told by my father long time ago.
A Qasai , a butcher and a moulvi were going through jungle and they heard a hudhud singing in a tree.
So the Qasai goes : It is saying "sri paya dhak rakh"
Banya says no he is saying "nown tail adrak"
Moulvi says no he is saying "subhan tairy qudrat"

lol. Huh? people are hopeless.

if you want to question something, question the quran. what i posted IS fact!

Good, app ?

That's what lack of knowledge does to us when we rely on translation instead of actual text. Translation loses the meaning sometimes and it is sad that the whole argument of science is put in against the words used in translation

Arabic for this ayat is:

Ash Shamsu wal qamaru be husban

now do a transliteration:

Ash Shams = The sun
wal qamar = the moon
be husban = punctual

notice husban alone means calculus or calculation. The word hisab (Math) comes from the same root. When added with a be, it becomes punctual.

This means the sun and the moon are punctual in their motions such that we in today's world are able to calculate their astronimical movements to the millionth of a second.

Our salah schedule for the whole year (if not years) can be produced by calculating the sun's movement.

We now are able to calculate phases and the birth and the age of the moon scientifically as well.

The whole premise of the counter argument was based on a false uderstanding of the meaning of the Quran.

**Husbaan **comes from the root Hasiba which means to reckon or think
**Husbaan **in an intensified form [mubaaligha] which means: very precise calculation.That is why Qiyaamah is called ‘yawmul hisaab’, the day of calculation/reckoning.

The verse then means that they are compelled by Allah to follow a COURSE i.e. orbit.
So, basically the word Husbaan covers both meanings, yet again the diverse meanings from one word in the Quraan.

Meanwhile in BIHUSBAAN the BI means ‘with’ or ‘bound to’. Sometimes particles such as BI and ALA [on] take on firm meanings.
Our Prophet (SAW)has said: ALAY kum BI ssidq: BIND yourselves to truth.

Because here the orbits are precise meaning the sun and moon do not waver from it, what that basically means they are BOUND by Allah to follow it!

Now talking about the Translation of the following verses:
The sun and the moon (run) on fixed courses. (55:5)
which means :

**They move in their orbit in perfect succession, according to precise calculation that is *never delayed nor disturbed,

It is not for the sun to overtake the moon, nor does the night outstrip the day. They all float, each in an orbit. (36:40),

(He is the) Cleaver of the daybreak. He has appointed the night for resting, and the sun and the moon for calculating. Such is the measuring of the Almighty, the All-Knowing. (6:96)

***As @Dr. LuLworth said:

*1) Earth’s orbit is elliptical and the distance from the sun varies from around 147 million kilometers to 152 million kilometers on any given year.

1. Every star has a habitable zone that is affected by the size of the star and its intensity. The Sun’s habitable zone is about 0.95 AU to 1.37 AU. An AU is the Earth’s average distance from the sun, 93 million miles, so Earth’s orbit could decrease by 4,500,000 miles or increase by 34,000,000 mises and still be in the habitable zone.>>>

*So by *fixed courses *and *measurable precise calculation *, the Earth’s distance can vary from around the range you mentioned and yet still not be delayed or disturbed! And the habitable zone of sun that you mentioned is what Allah is referring to as a fixed course. The Earth and the moon can vary their distances yet remain in the *habitable zone *(which is the fixed course that Allah SWT refers to these verses).

In summary: A fixed course could mean a **FIXED range **of distance b/w which these heavenly bodies vary each year YET are never out of their course or orbit as to cause delay or chaos!

So you just can’t say it is wrong. You are only arguing over ***distances ***in miles/kilometeres which can easily be mistaken or proved inaccurate and if you talk about science it iself is so unpredictable that what was a solid fact or verity a decade or so back was disproven by science itself later. (for instance, PLUTO being a planet earlier but now no longer so)

:slight_smile: