Ali_Syed feedback

Re: Ali_Syed feedback

Had it not been Ali.. this forum would become a jihadi forum with terrorist links.

Thanks for that!

In one of the previous feed back threads I saw the whole new team taking on Shamraz.. Shamraz served this forum for years and was instrumental in shaping the matured discussion atmosphere here. I have all the praise-respect for Shamraz and Lusi prior to Shamraz.

Noone took on Shamraz, he asked why some posts were edited and I told they were edited to delete words such as goat lovers, pigs etc. You as an ex-Mod should know that.

but to see a lot of people now complaining these moderation action is not exactly this forum stood for not a very long time ago

We have always had people raising objections, please do not forget when you were a Moderator it happened against you as well. :)

And oh, this reply is coming from a secularist and a liberal. :) However my job isn't to pander to lefties and righties. Its to maintain an atmosphere where both can work. FYI I spent last night clearing up offensive right wing clutter, but you wouldn't know that since you're not in mf so its disappointing to see such allegations.

I counted you as probably the best PA Mod so I hope you'll post and PM me if you have any issues. Thanks bro.

Sub log itne garam kyun hain bhai logo, please thandi lassi piyein sub!

Right, this is going to be a detailed reply and I really hope it won’t be misunderstood as me taking you on, Yazdi bhai. I only posted what 3 lines in Shamraz’s thread, not attacking him in any way, and still I’m being told I’ve somehow disrespected him. So in case this lamba sa reply gets mistaken as something else, just a disclaimer that I’m only writing this because your opinion matters to me and it seems like I’ve majorly upset ye so this requires a proper response out of respect for you. I don’t think you’d be able to point out a single incident in all these years where I’ve been disrespectful to either of you or ever held your views against you so I feel saddened with the whole new team vs us thing going on. I always held ye in high regard and I wasn’t aware of this apparent divide between us. You need not remind us of your years of extraordinary services for us to continue to respect you. As far as I’m concerned, you’re not only an asset to GS but to the country as well.

Now I understand there’s some major heated debate going on in Society that has resulted in tensions between the liberals and the religious-minded but why is the team being held responsible for that? If there’s an influx of “internet mullahs” on GS, why should that be a problem as long as they’re debating within the boundaries of the forum? If there’s anyone I expect to be tolerant of opposing views, they’d be the liberals and yet you’re telling me that they’re disappearing because they’re put off by the conservative views? Contrary to your observations, 3 years ago when I was new to the forum, there were hardly any atheists, secularists, liberals around (of Pakistani origin) but today there are plenty or they’ve become more outspoken than ever like Ali said. In fact, just going by the poll results of the PA thread, there are more secularists and moderates around than the so-called mullahs.

Now if the mullahs start complaining that there are too many liberals roaming around, I’d say more power to the liberals. Why are we being expected to filter one group out because the other group doesn’t like them? Extremists obviously have never been allowed to use GS as a medium to spread hatred so no this forum will never turn into a jihadi terrorist forum. But other members, conservatives, liberals and moderates, have every right to express their views even if they don’t see eye to eye. Unfortunately, not all of them manage to keep their cool at all times as you’d know quite well and the foul language/personal attacks is what the mod was editing, it had nothing to do with the posters’ views. Like Shak said, so much of right wing clutter is being removed daily and the right-wingers could easily turn around and play the victim card. I can’t do much about that, I’m sorry. Those who trusted me with this role must have had faith in my integrity that if I did see something wrong happening, I wouldn’t cover it up.

“Let the people from diverse views make their point of view and let the readers decide who is making sense.” Again referring to the same PA thread as an example, everyone freely posted their opinions, did they not? Was there a single secularist liberal poster who was silenced just because a mod didn’t like his views on the topic being discussed? Have your views ever been censored? I actually had to PM some of the conservatives asking them to tone down their views, I haven’t done that with a single secularist poster. The person PMed me back saying we give liberals way too much leeway and here you’re saying it’s the other way around. Ab mein kis ki sunun?

As for me posting something disgusting about protecting some mentality… yeh kub hua? If you’re referring to extremist, intolerant, hateful mentality, how is that religious mentality? The people I’m backing up are the conservatives, not the extremists. There I am saying that we will continue to enforce the policy that everyone should be respected regardless of their views, that if a team member was being hateful towards others, he’d be let go and not protected, that we have not discriminated on the basis of religion, race, nationality etc when hiring team members, that we’d never hold anyone’s views against them and still I was being disgusting? Really? Mein karun tau kya karun, ap please mujhe batayen. The religious lot are getting offended because the atheists are making fun of their beards and the atheists are also feeling super victimized by the religious lot, or beech mein hum phis rahe hain. We aren’t perfect, we’re struggling to strike a balance and we’d like to count on you guys to bear with us, to be patient with us and to guide us as you’re more experienced, more mature.

Finally, whether the team is old or new does not have anything to do with the orientation of the forum because the forum and the entire team is always overseen by the same people who’ve been looking after it since the 90’s. I’m new but I’m not a dictator who gets to do as she wishes and destroy the years of hard work put into the forum. If you don’t trust me, at least have faith in the admins to keep the forum steered in the right direction. Again, I really hope this post hasn’t enraged you in any way as this wasn’t my intention at all. I just wanted to address all the points you raised in detail as I’m positive that good will come out of such discussions.

Bill O ' Reilly of thr Fair and Balancrd Fox News says the same thing - that folks on the left criticize him. And so do the folks on the right. But is Fox News fair and balanced? That is a rhetorical question.

That the mods in general are significantly tilted to the right - there is no doubt. Is it OK for forum to have a policy favoring one ideology over the other? Absolutely.

But should they acknowledge that pronounced tilt? Yes.

But in the real world does that acknowledgment happen? Who are we kidding?

I thought long and hard before posting this. It is not necessary for management to instinctively put on a defense attorney's hat on. It is not necessary to LOOK FOR ways to justify mod posts. That just increasesan us vs them mentality. Call a spade a spade.

I know what the response would be. That you are doing just that. Therein lies the rub.

Maybe a flat hierarchical structure would be useful. Each sub forum has mods assigned but no one reports to a CM. the Director handles operations. The mods handle individual sub forums. And a genuine attempt is made to select mods from diverse backgrounds and viewpoints.

I hope my post has been respectful. I have posted what I believe to he the truth as I see it. And I am sure the management sees a different truth. Hence the need for balancr/ diversity.

Please show me that policy.

If the following policies count as favouring a particular ideology, so be it. They aren’t about to change any time soon.

If I was to write a letter to Fox News asking them to remove certain hateful propaganda or reprimand certain extremists, it would be a cold day in hell before they paid heed to my concerns. On GS, you have reached out to me multiple times regarding members/posts that concern you and I have taken care of them every single time. Moreover, some of the people you reported are currently on the radar, we’re monitoring them even more closely. So you should be the last person equating GS to Fox News. Look around yourself, we’re major self-critics when it comes to Pakistan and Islam. I just read a post yesterday calling Pakistan a sick country and it was left untouched. So as far as I’m concerned, we’re very fair around here. I know you see a different truth but that doesn’t make us untruthful.

Director bhi insaan hai mere bhai, she has a life outside of GS, believe it or not. There is no way I’d be able to handle a team of 40 people and all the subforums all on my own. That is why we have CMs and they have a challenging job, they’re not just sitting around doing nothing that we can get rid of them and it wouldn’t make a difference.

So we haven’t been genuine in doing that and yet there were people making jokes that we should rename Paklinks to Desilinks because we’re no more a team of Pakistanis or Muslims only but in your eyes that’s just not diverse enough. Mere pyare uncle jee, common sense use karo. Why is a Pakistani forum dominated by Pakistanis? Ab agar is baat se kisi ko takleef hai tau I can’t do much about that. We don’t control the ratio of conservatives to liberals, Pakistanis to non-Pakistanis, Muslims to non-Muslims around here. We don’t control who is in the majority. Why is the majority’s opinion being taken as official GS opinion? Mods are members first, they’re also entitled to their opinions, and their views also cannot be taken as official GS stance. Officially, we’re neutral which is why you don’t see anyone getting away with insulting other religions and nationalities that are all protected under our policies. We’re so careful about protecting the minorities that we don’t even allow discussions on the Ahmadi sect as they always get ugly and hurt the sensitivities of our Ahmadi brethren.

I want the readers to read through this thread and tell me whether or not it looks like a balanced discussion with diverse opinions took place? http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/583928-which-kind-of-pakistan-would-you-guys-go-for.html Was everyone given a fair chance to voice their views, whatever they may be?

How is this thread from positive thoughts about Ali became a rant?

With all due respects, at least Southie of all people should not complain.

Shak, Jinx and LKK have also done great job by the way.

i am amazed that leftist liberals/atheists are moaning. just goes to show how they intentionally tried to keep the respective forums dominated with their viewpoints in older days.

@ Huma - no GS is no Fox News. It is an excellent Forum. In fact, the only forum I am a member of. Much better than desi and non desi forums.

I was giving an analogy. Did not mean to equate GS with Fox news.

I think there was a slight mis- interpretation of what I meant by honesty. I was trying to state each of us has our own way of seeing things - so to some extent, our own truths. And so we have several versions of truths existing simultaneously.

When I said GS should make a genuine effort to have more diversity, I wish it was taken as constructive suggestion. Rather than the reaction you had. Which was a defensive response asking is GS not making genuine efforts.

Sometimes a statement similar to as follows would suffice - we are doing our best. But if there is concern among some that more diversity would be nice, we would do our best to accommodate it.

Having said all of that - just want to reiterate I enjoy this forum And GS is no Fox News. Folks are doing their best. As you indicated you have been looking into concerns expressed re: posts. So such exchange is a good thing.

I feel comfortable our voices and concerns are being heard in a transparent and fair manner. (On a lighter note, you will be glad to note our office will issue a strongly bullish report on HUM(A).

God Bless!

I agree and this is exactly what I had said in your previous thread. InshaAllah when there's more openings, we'll be keeping your suggestion in mind. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoy this forum, this is exactly what my mail goal is, that everyone enjoys their time on GS.

Thank you and I look forward to that.

You did equate GS to Fox.

Please do not try to fool readers.

You did not like moderation on some occasions and said it is tilted to right and said “there is no doubt”. When it is really not tilted to right. (Shak and Ali both are examples of that)

Then you said… Is it OK for forum to have a policy favoring one ideology over other, you answered yourself…absolutely.

Then you said: " But should they acknowledge that pronounced tilt? And then said “yes”.

Then as a punch line you said;

“But in the real world does that acknowledgment happen? Who are we kidding?”

Now,… this punch line means you are saying all good should happen but in reality moderation is wrong just like FOX channel claiming to be fair and balanced.

:hmmm:

I was unfortunate to read a line from poster above about my trying to fool readers. Happened to see that sentence in realtime post.

A wise lady mod had suggested to me to refrain from getting involved in useless and baseless arguments. Advice coming in very handy right about now.

@shak and Huma..

Thanks for your very kind words for me. I know GS community has a very high regard for me and your detailed replies are a clear indication. Please let me also reciprocate your gestures by letting you know that GS community is very close to my heart. I will always remain a part of this community irrespective any formal title which I know was my own decision due to time constraints. I have also spent my personal hours as a poster and moderator with this community and anything I feel can be improved here will always be communicated to admin, but please do not take it as a criticism on GS team. I feel due to some lack of experience and pressures some of the actions being taken by GS team are not in line with the GS philosophy..

Over the years I received many PMs from a diverse group of people appreciating our team for such a high quality discussion forum. Some of the Indian posters used to get surprised that a Pakistani forum could give them such an open discussion opportunity provided they remain civilized. I still remember one of the messages I received from an Indian poster who indicated that he can not imagine such a tolerant Indian forum. He conveyed that if you even identify yourself as a Pakistani on any Indian forum you would be facing all sorts of abuses and personal insults let alone an opportunity to express your opinion. This is the basic hallmark and achievement of our GS forums which I would like to see maintained.

Now coming back to present situation where shamraz also expressed his concerns. Twice in past one week I have been labelled as a Kafir and Islam hater. Personally I don't have a problem with this kind of abuses as I can handle such situations and give befitting replies to these hate mongers. It's not the first time I have participated in heated discussions and I have enough material to make my point as far as discussions are concerned. But not all the posters are like that. A lot of posters would just leave the forum when they have to face these insults for expressing their opinions. This kind of fatwa bazi was never tolerated on GS forums.. For me tolerance of these insults in the name of freedom of expression is simply disgusting as Huma is mentioning. Freedom of expression ends when personal liberties of others are threatened.. and to say "muslim majority have special privileges to insult others with their fatwas" just because this is Paksitani forum where majority of members are muslims is not what GS stands for. In fact most of the posters in GS forums are here and not posting in some other jihadi Pakistani forum is because they don't subscribe to those opinions.

On the other hand people like Southie are complaining that their posts are being edited.. I have moderated for more than 3 years.. Southie was my poster also in the business forum. I know Southie does not even know bad or insulting vocabulary. Shak I am not mentioning the sort of editings you have done as you have rightly pointed out that this kind of remarks need appropriate moderation actions. I already mentioned in my post that I am not aware of the details of these editing.

But when I see these jihadi hate mongers throwing fatwas on people are having a honeymoon in our forums lately and highly civilized posters are complaining.. there must be something terribly wrong going on here. My first post was like an outsider sounding his concerns.. Now after assurances from Huma and Shak I am talking like a member of GS team. Please don't confuse freedom of expression with hate mongering. Specially selective "freedom of expression" on the basis of the composition of the poster community is not what GS stands for..

I am a male, sunni, muslim, punjabi, and very prosperous. These are the assumed most privileged gender, racial, religious, ethnic and social credentials one can have in our country. I am not personally an effected party when I talk about Ahmadi persecution or minority rights in our country. Yes I am personally aggrieved when hate mongers in the name of religion, ethnicity, gender, or any other base would like to suppress the essential liberties of others. I have a certain opinions about these matters which are known to everyone. Heated discussions are my speciality and I am never afraid as a poster to face such situations. I have a hate club here which is perfectly normal.. also because mostly some of posters from the other side of divide have no answers for certain questions I raise. They selectively answer such post, avoid main questions raised and often resort to personal insults and fatwa bazi. I can face these situations.. but not every one can..!!!

It's good we are having this discussion...

P.S. @Huma.. Thandi lassi pee lee hai..

^ Bro, we will keep an eye on the people who hurl accusations/fatwas without any leniency.

Yay! :smiley: Honestly, ye are the last people I want to see unhappy. We would be the ones at loss if you were disappointed with us.

Absolutely and this is exactly my vision for GS too.

Can I first just address the complaint about biased moderation – I looked into it when Shamraz spoke about it and I can assure you that it was completely unintentional if it appeared to be biased. I would never blindly defend a wrong moderation act and I am going to send you guys a PM with some more details about this to protect the privacy of the people involved. You’re spot on in saying that because we’re not as experienced and also facing a lot of pressure, we’re bound to make some mistakes along the way. I haven’t ignored your feedback, I have taken all the necessary steps to ensure this issue gets resolved. More details in the PM.

Haye mein mur jawan, where did I say or even remotely suggest that? :naak: You have completely misinterpreted something I said, no way on earth would I say it’s okay for Muslims to insult others because it’s a Muslim dominated forum. Hell no. You shouldn’t even be worried about this because we’re absolutely on the same page with regards to this. Someone who I consider to be a right-wing extremist here has already collected 40+ infraction points within a matter of 10 days. What does that tell you? We have zero tolerance policy towards hate-mongers be they leftists or rightists or whatever. But if the mods do miss a post that you feel is inappropriate, please do report it and we’ll take prompt action.

Having reassured you that we will monitor such personal attacks even more closely now, I just want to bring your attention to the other side of the coin. Fatwas are also being issued by the non-religious and the liberals. I read through the entire PA thread that seems to be the reason behind this tension and I could see many secularists’ posts attacking those with opposing views. Ali is absolutely correct in saying that there is a major divide between people on the extreme right and the extreme left. It’s not okay for someone to call someone else a kafir, but is it okay for people to refer to the others as terrorists, dumbasses, fools? This is something I’ve come across quite a bit on here.

Earlier this year, I remember expressing my displeasure about Pentagon’s training course that advocated total war against Muslims and one of the liberalists made a taunt that talibans are my heroes. They conveniently ignored the fact that in the same thread I had referred to taliban ideology as retarded and I was simply saying that the ideology behind that training course was also retarded. But they didn’t like that apparently and off they went with their fatwas. I was so put off that I no longer take part in such discussions, I can’t afford to because of the position I’m in. Then just recently, I was flicking through another thread in Society and came across a poster saying that it doesn’t take much to be labelled an extremist/terrorist/madman these days, you only have to be a religious person or a critic of the US or Israel to be labelled such names by the liberals.

So I’m sorry to say, the rightists aren’t the only ones issuing fatwas. Both groups can be intimidating to each other and then we end up getting pressurized from both ends. The discussions are never about a member’s personal religious orientation but about the topic at hand so if we’re expected to take action against posts labelling others kafirs, we’ll be taking action against those labelling others terrorists, jihadis, talibans too. This isn’t something I’ve come up with but I was advised by the admins on this matter. No one gets to equate someone with murderers. Fair enough, no?

Thanks Huma and Ali for your feed back. Also Huma I have seen your PM which is self explanatory. Thanks guys for your positive response to some of the issues.
Best of luck to all the "Team GS"..
I know it's not an easy job you guys are doing. It's not easy to sustain the pressure.. specially in sensitive forums like PA, WA and RS.
I think the issue is resolved..!!!
Just keep up the good work guys..

P.S, Sorry Ali to derail your thread.. You remain the "hero of the moment.." and you can count on my support anytime brother..

^ and if I may add, the markets celebrated this resolution with a resounding rally.

i think ali syed should be banned for being this way. come on people, he’s just pretending. :rolleyes:

my fav still is LKK pai. <3

Thanks Huma for the pm. My apology if I said anything in my previous thread that came cross as an attack on you or your team. That was not my intention b/c being a mod can be a tough job & I know that first hand.

Also, GS is home to many of us who have spent long time here & we wish to see it grow and expand, but I hope there is still vetting process for mods, like it used to be. Also, thanks yazdi for your kind words.

it took us (yazdi, psyah, shamraz, tlk, and myself) time to come up with appropriate policies and moderating procedures, there were other mods who came and left but we were able to provide them decent structure to follow for moderation purposes. I am sure and hopeful that you guys will fix your loop holes as you gain more experience in your forums and working together as a team. Southie, unfortunately CMs dont just sit back and enjoy chai samosay, if that was the case i wouldnt have resigned :D

Anyway, guys thank you for your hard work and patience.:)