Tournament Schedule

**May 10 – Pakistan v Sri Lanka at Rangiri Dambull Stadium, Dambull 

May 11 – Pakistan v New Zealand at Rangiri Dambull Stadium, Dambull **

May 13 – Sri Lanka v New Zealand at Rangiri Dambull Stadium, Dambull 

**May 17 – Pakistan v Sri Lanka at SSC Ground, Colombo **

May 18 – Sri Lanka v New Zealand at SSC Ground, Colombo 

**May 19 – Pakistan v New Zealand at SSC Ground, Colombo 

May 23 – Final at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. **

Note: Day matches begin at 0900 hours (PST) while the final begins at 1330 hours (PST).

There has been no words from NZ Cricket Board Authorities whether they will tour Sri Lanka or not.

Keep this thread alive for further details, homies. Thank you.

Go Pakistan!!! :dhimpak:

Great..
lets start another thread for Worldcup 2007 also.

Simply can't wait.
I can't wait to see the mixture of old players and new players playing the same team. And most specially Shoaib and Sami opening for Pakistan.

Out of the 15 who played in Sharjah, how many of them do you think will actually make the 15 in Sri Lanka.

With the likely hood of Inzi and Shoaib returning.
I don't think Saqlain will be playing and same goes for Razzaq because of county duty.

Seniors will not be brought back just yet. Miandad and rashid have said on several occassions that give this new team 5-6 months to turn into a world beating side. so i dont think any of the seniors will be making a come back…i mean why bother drop them for just one series? doesnt make too much sense.

the youngsters r playing fine, as it is. razzaq won’t be around though :k:

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *
Great..
lets start another thread for Worldcup 2007 also.

Yeah you can start doing that cuz indians are participating too.

I thin from the fifteen that played in sharjah, MOhamamd Zahid Naveed Latif and Razzaq will be missing most likely. Shoaib and inzi might be back alongwith another new comer.... maybe one of Yasir Hameed or Farhan Aadil

Originally posted by saby: *
I thin from the fifteen that played in sharjah, MOhamamd Zahid Naveed Latif and **Razzaq
* will be missing most likely. Shoaib and inzi might be back alongwith another new comer.... maybe one of Yasir Hameed or Farhan Aadil

naaaaaah. :) I won't miss his slow a$$ bowling and run-up.:)

:nono3: Aiasi baatein nahin kartay. :nono3:

ChthonicPowers: :smack: If Razzaq wouldn’t be around, it’s not good for Pakistan, means Thumbs Down, not Thumbs Up

saby: I believe Naveed-ul-Hassan will replace Razzaq. He’s off to County Cricket. Hassan has got nice pace with good line and length, was closed to hat-trick against Sri Lanka in Sharjah Tournament. Dunno if he bats great.

Umair: Right on the money! Inzi and Shoaib will make their way back to the team, though, their selection should be based on physical fitness and Domestic Cricket performance.

P.S, I wanna see Mota Inzi. :smiley:

Coach Miandad on Pakistan tour to Sri Lanka. :slight_smile:

‘Sri Lanka tour tough assignment for Pakistan’](http://www.jang-group.com/thenews/apr2003-daily/17-04-2003/sports/s4.htm)

KARACHI: Pakistan coach Javed Miandad has described the forthcoming tour to Sri Lanka as a tougher assignment for the Pakistan team than the quadrangular series held recently in Sharjah. “It is going to be a tougher assignment because I would rate New Zealand and Sri Lanka as better and stronger teams than us at the moment,” Miandad told ‘The News’ from Lahore.

“We (myself, captain Rashid Latif and manager Haroon Rasheed) have told the boys that they need to put the Sharjah victory behind them now and start thinking about Sri Lanka. We have told them they need to work on a policy of taking it series to series and not think about the past or long term future assignments,” he added.

“We have to be realistic and realize that we are not going to rebuild the team in a short while. This is going to be a process of trial and error before we find the players for the long term future.”

The 45 year old Miandad said he was puzzled at questions being asked about the ability of the present bunch of Pakistan players against teams like Australia or South Africa. “I don’t understand why we are thinking about Australia or South Africa at this stage. I have also told the players they must just concentrate on the moment and the series they are playing. When the time comes to play South Africa or Australia we will adapt to them also,” :k: he said.

“It is only if we do consistently well and keep on improving against the teams we are playing in our immediate assignments that we can look forward to the future with a positive frame of mind. For us in this rebuilding process it is the present that matters and with time everything will fall into place and the players will also mature.”

He said similarly questions were being posed about the Test matches. “Why worry about the Tests now. At present I just want us to concentrate on One-day cricket and do well there.” The former Pakistan captain had no doubt that there was lot of cricket talent in the country but it required to be polished a lot.

**“From what I saw today it seems most of the players have been told that if they hit a few fours and sixes or just bowl fast they can make the Pakistan team. I saw poor defensive techniques and lack of concentration and stamina. But it is not an alarming situation.”

“Because when we went to Sharjah, we had a depleted squad short on confidence. But the reason for our success was that the boys wanted to learn and adopt accordingly and they were hungry for cricket. I think we managed to combine all these aspects and worked on our little weaknesses to produce satisfactory results. The same will also happen with the players selected from the trials for the academy programme they have the ability to improve.”**

Miandad pointed out that even when superstar players like Wasim Akram or Inzamam-ul-Haq first came into the Pakistan team they were raw and required guidance and advice. “We were there to guide them and they had the potential to pick up and improve quickly. I think the players now coming up can also establish themselves if they want to learn. No one becomes a good international player overnight.”

Miandad had a lot of praise for chief selector Aamer Sohail and his colleagues for holding the long process of trials. “I think they are very sincere and doing a hard work. Their approach is the correct way to define and separate proper talent which has the ability to play for Pakistan or just remain good for domestic cricket.”

He said he was keen to have the national camp for the Sri Lanka tour from around 23rd or 24th April so that the pool of players selected from the trials and those who went to Sharjah can start thinking and playing cricket.

I disagree.

Why disagree, Man?

Razzaq performance was pathetic in the WC but that doesn't mean he ain't a great all-rounder. His performance in the Sharjah Tournament speaks for it self. Just 'cause of bad patch doesn't hold vaild argument.

Anyway, I hope Naveed-ul-Hassan performs good and fulfilled Razzaq's position.

Re: May 03: Tri-Tournament in Sri Lanka

Kiwis decided to tour Sri Lanka. Good on them

Get ready to feel the hot, humid wheather of Sri Lanka, Black Caps. :smiley:

Kiwis look forward to tough Lankan tour

COLOMBO: New Zealand’s cricketers are looking forward to a tough tour in Sri Lanka, manager Jeff Crowe said here Thursday.

The New Zealanders arrived here Wednesday for a two-match Test series and a triangular one-day international series with Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Crowe said the Kiwis were aware of the humid, sultry conditions they would face in Sri Lanka. “Playing Sri Lanka during April and May at home can be very tough,” Crowe told reporter at a press conference with the hosts Sri Lanka.

New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming said he was looking forward to a competitive series. The Kiwi captain said the atmosphere in the country had completely changed because of the peace negotiations under way between the Sri Lankan government and the Tamil Tigers. “There is a real change in the atmosphere, the ceasefire and the peace process is very noticeable to all. We want that to continue,” he said.

Good news thanx PT bhai :k:

Good for rest of the ppl who are anti Wasim not really good 4 ppl who have to bear watching a cricket match minus Wasim Akram :<

Yaar, teaser you’re always welcome. Promise me, you will broadcast Tournament Coverage Live.

C’mon C’mon tell tell. :wink:

Cricket camp for Sri Lanka tour from 23rd

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) will hold a training camp for next month’s tri-nation one-day series in Sri Lanka between April 23 and May 1, said a PCB spokesman here Friday.

“National selection committee will announce names of the players for the camp on April 22. During the camp, the 15-man team for the competition will be announced,” the spokesman said.

Pakistan’s team will leave for Colombo on May 4 for the tournament that will be played between May 10 and 23. Pakistan will play their opening match against the hosts Sri Lanka at Dambull on May 10 and will take on New Zealand the following day at the same venue.

Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
Yaar, **teaser
* you're always welcome. Promise me, you will broadcast Tournament Coverage Live.

C'mon C'mon tell tell. ;)

Inshallah I will thats if Dishnetwork shwos the matches.

kan't wait 4 destruktion from Hafeez n Sami

**YAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Dishnetwork will be showing the New Zealand/Pakistan’s Tour of Sri Lanka

PT bhai I will be braodcasting for sure.

Date: 5/9/2003 - 5/23/2003
Channel: 457/471
Price Info:
Package - $99.95
Premier Date:
5/23/2003

Here’s the link

Ordering Info: Order OnLine Now! Use your Remote Control or call 1-877-DISH PPV(347-4778) :wink:

I hope there is a war in a neighboring country so the tournament can be reschedualed and the price should be brought down to $29.99, just like Sharjah. :D

Thank you teaser bhai.

Aap Jaisa Dost Har Banday Ko Nasseb Ho. Ameen. :)