Alcohol should be as easily available as Pepsi or Coke: Sindh MPA

Re: Alcohol should be as easily available as Pepsi or Coke: Sindh MPA

I hate Pee Pee Pee but I agree with this MPA. Alcohol should be available to everyone, it is a huge industry. There is a huge market in Pakistan for it. Hopefully more companies like Murree Beer will prop up.

This is our judicial announcement . Why you are strict to one little better .

The entire system has failed: SC 13 mins ago | Comments (0)
http://cache.pakistantoday.com.pk/2012/03/SC-27-469x213.jpg
The country’s entire system has failed and the government has lost its writ not only in Balochistan but also in other areas, Justice Jawad S Khawaja said on Thursday while hearing a suo motu case initiated against a girl’s gang-rape in Faisalabad. The bench, comprising Justice Jawad S Khawaja and Justice Athar Saeed, was hearing the case at the Supreme Court’s Lahore Registry. The court continued the proceedings after police did not arrest the main accused, Asghar Ali, a close aide of Punjab Law Minster Rana Sanaullah, despite strict orders given by the bench on the last hearing. The bench was hearing an appeal filed in the Supreme Court by rape victim

You are going overboard in criticizing PPP. I worked for federal government for sixteen years, I never ever saw people including hard line supporters of JI, JUI etc refused commission. They thought that it was their right. Officers block the files for onward movement to accounts department unless contractors come to their offices and pay the commission openly. I am talking about the era when munfafiqe azam mardood marde momin marde haq Zia-ul-haq so called amirul mominin was running the governmet under shoora and Islamic laws. Perhaps you were not born then and ignorant on this issue, ask your elders what I am talking about.

chalayn munafiqat khatam kartayn, aap ki khawahish per prostitution bhi legalize kar dete hayn, chars/afeem/heroine ke dukaanayn khulwa dete hayn... aur kuchh karna pasand farmayen gai aap Pakistan ke liye?

**There have been lately band baja on stupid issues against PPP only. You should have opened a new thread on this very sad incident which is not only highly condemnable but the criminals and supporters should have arrested without dely. Agar Waheeda Shah ko ek thaparh maranay par saza mil siktey hay to, what CJ has stopped to initiate suomota against SS and his lawminister? kya CJ sirf PPP ke leaders ko saza denay ke leay hay kya?

^^yeh baat app ki sach hai
khooda pahar nikla CJ woh bhee bika hua

Is nt Khokhar a Rajput name, of which there are quite a few in Sindh?

There are huge markets for many things in Pakistan many which are far more important and positive than alcohol. Drinking alcohol has no benefits. Why is it so important that we have to have it available?

Prostitution is a huge industry too, will improve our tourism. :P

I wouldn't want alcohol to be available at street corners for my children. Instead of saying that prostitution and alcohol consumption should be more strictly regulated, you guys want them to be available more freely. A lot of children start smoking and continue it because it is so freely available. Yes, since some rich, influential or desperate people can get alcohol, it doesn't mean every home should. Since some people can easily get away with murder, it should be legalized. Since some people can easily get away with black money in Swiss banks, it should be legalized.

LOL, and typical jiyala statements..... Since OTHERS are also corrupt, it is the right of PPP to be corrupt.

I think Mr Khokhar is right in this respect. There should be no ban on sale or purchase of Alcohol in Pakistan, neither State should try to impose anything on individuals in the name of religion if that is personal to individuals. We should know that when it comes to personal things, official interference make people revolt to that interference.

That means, official ban of something make people ‘attract to or adopt’ that and official imposition of something make people ‘dislike or reject’ that. In such countries, Elites (and middle class) get attracted to banned things and reject whatever is imposed, especially in countries where implementation of law is partial or slack (as Pakistan).

Coming to Alcohol, it is surprising that many who live in western world talk about banning Alcohol in Pakistan. Their hypocrisy is obvious when one realises that they are willingly living in countries where Alcohol is widely available without restriction, and talk about country (Pakistan) they are not living that it should have restriction on Alcohol. If they really feel availability of Alcohol is bad for society then before comments they should leave the society they are living where Alcohol is available unrestricted.

As for impact of Alcohol availability in society, I know that even though Alcohol is banned in Pakistan, it is widely (but illegally) available, just like heroine and Hashish. Further, I know many Muslims who live in west but never touched Alcohol, on the other hand, I also know many Muslims in Pakistan who regularly consume Alcohol.

Fact is that, ban on Alcohol did not decreased but increased Alcohol consumption in Pakistan (however illegally). Other fact is that, when there was no ban on Alcohol, Alcohol consumption amongst middle class Pakistanis was considered as third rated and disliked addiction but ban on Alcohol made Alcohol a middle class status symbol and its consumption a fashion.

^ Would you love to have your daughter go to a street corner shop and buy alcohol from there?

A lot of Pakistanis do start consuming alcohol once they move abroad, reason being easy availability.

I'm from middle class Pakistani family and have lived in Pakistan for three decades and I only know one person there who drinks. I know a lot of people who smoke though, cigarettes being easily available.

Yes, those who really want to drink, can obtain alcohol, but open availability makes 'experimentation' and later addiction much easier. I am for banning or at least increasing tax on tobacco many times as well.

^^^ You do not have to get personal. Anyhow, I live in UK so if anyone wants to buy Alcohol where I live, they just have to buy like any food item from super market.

I do not know if you consume Alcohol or not, as it is your words. Maybe you are not because you may not be moving amongst middle class affluent Pakistanis. Anyhow, I am not concerned if you consume Alcohol or not, as what I am saying is about Pakistani society itself.

At present, according to WHO (World health Organisation), around 10 percent ‘male’ Pakistanis above the age of 15 are consuming Alcohol, and Alcohol consumption in Pakistan has almost tripled per head what it was before Alcohol was banned in 1977. It means, Pakistan had astronomical consumption increase of Alcohol after ban. Here is detail and chart.

http://www.who.int/substance_abuse/publications/en/pakistan.pdf

I'm not saying that others are/were farishta, but when it comes to PPP, the Commission earning activities increase a lot in all areas and all shapes, probably due to barkat Pir e Commission Hazrat Zardari RA, Madda zill hu... Pir Mazhar ul Haq take commission for primary school teacher jobs... Feudal Lords of rural Sindh and PPP representatives at Sindh Assembly, take commission from kidnappers of their ransom income... In Urban areas, they support Bhatta khori to teach a lesson to MQM..

This is what PPP all about now.

its good more pakistanis are not living in sin city otherwise they would have asked for clubs and casinos to be opened like grocery store..

i think that MP had trouble finding liquor for himself that is why this recommendation.....

those who gave life for pakistan did not sacrifice their lives so some scumbags can buy liquor from grocery stores..............:(

:hayaa: Khokhar could easily buy it from Murree Brewery :wink:

No may be he was at place like KP..................:D

these MP's are not worried about education,health,security system of pakistan but for availability of alcohol!!!!!

Ye teri sada dili maar na daale mujhko :hinna:

They only worry about those things, which guarantee them rule over slaves… Providing education to people means, apne paon pe kulhari marna… They are not that Sada dil as you and me are.

I do not accept with what this member is saying as at the moment its not readily available so people who really want to drink will go looking for it, for a vast majority of the people they are not missing anything. There are more kharafaat attached with booze, nothing healthy.

there was a time wen ppl who smoke use to feel shy smoking infront of elders/ladies as a respect etc....now there's nothin left like that in our society.. if alcohol is being available openly in markets,then gods know wht will happen to our society in wich our religion comes first.....may be kida who now smoke will start drinking infront of all......

Yar leave buying from Brewery, today one do not even have to leave their locality to get Alcohol, and at very affordable price too. In most cases, people can get Alcohol at their doorstep and cheaper than UK supermarket prices.

Here is how it goes: In Pakistan, most people have contacts with their local amenity shops (Perchun shops) whose owner or person running the shop know them (local residents) by name, including where they live and what they do. So, one can go to these amenities shops in their locality (Mohalla) and ask them for Alcohol. In most cases, these shops would be able to provide Alcohol under the counter.

That means, few things happened after ban in Pakistan:

1: In past one have to go to licensed shops to get Alcohol, but now after ban Alcohol access became easier and at door steps from local amenity shops.

2: In past a person have to be adult to get Alcohol, but now it is easy for kids of all ages to get Alcohol within locality.

3: Alcohol was more expensive before ban but after ban one can get ‘imported and branded’ Alcohol in Pakistan (that is readily available) cheaper than UK (most popular brands in Pakistan are cheaper then UK super markets like Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury, etc).

4: Reason for availability of cheap Alcohol could be because there is no tax on Alcohol so higher profits with expanded market. That means, Alcohol ban has become good business for bootleggers who oppose any lifting of ban.

5: As for police and other law enforcement agencies, we know how ‘maulvi’ they are. Since police are consumer of Alcohol themselves, people who sell Alcohol illegally in Pakistan get in their good book and become their buddy, providing them not only cheap Alcohol but ‘haddi’ too.

Thus the situation is:

Before ban (pre 1977): Availability was restricted, as other than government collecting tax on Alcohol, accessibility was monitored with licenses and due to taxes. Buying Alcohol was difficult not only because of its restricted accessibility but also because of going to known Alcohol shops at faraway places, entering shops to buy Alcohol in full daylight while people staring at buyers with disgust, and paying high prices too (due to license cost and taxes).

After ban (Post 1977): Availability became unrestricted through local amenity shops. Dealing became secretive with ‘under the counter’ purchases. Since demand expanded and there is no tax or licence on Alcohol sale, prices got cheaper and more affordable.

So, present situation is nice going for people in Alcohol businesses. They support ban on Alcohol, are vocal about keeping the ban as it is, and use their propaganda machine all over the places to keep things as it is.