How common is it? Do you know any friends, family members who do it?. Have you personally tried it?. For people who do, what is your logic for drinking it?. Would love to hear both people in Pakistan and abroad.
Re: Alcohol drinking amongst Pakistanis
Not so long ago, I used to think … no, I used to firmly believe that there is no alcohol in Pakistan. My geography teacher used to think I was some expert in south asia and used to ask me all sorts of questions from child labour in India & Pakistan to religious values. I actually told the entire class that even the president of Pakistan doesn’t drink alcohol, let alone the common man. Little did I know it is not just easily available but people also drink it regularly. :hinna: Sometimes ignorance is bliss.
One of my friend drank "Brandy" only once in her lifetime as she had this severe flu and was unable to sleep. After that, she have never ever gotten closer ,nor touched alcohol. I personally feel that its ok drink for medicational purposes, but drinking just for fun is just HARAM. Hain na, Omer. Don't you think for medicational purposes is acceptable?
Sure they do. Its common as anything.
I dont think its common. I'll take it as common, If I can go to shop at the corner of the street and say - bhai 2 sharab ki bOOOOtal daina.
In the last 10 years or so its becoming very apparent. Restaurants in Islamabad where the elite gather are now serving it upon request. Previously you would find people making an effort to hide it. With that said, I wonder if there are any DUI laws in Pakistan.
Don't know about Pakistan but many Pakistanis here do sadly.
oh...many people drink......the urban educated middle class don't......but move to upper/elite or lower class social strata.......all sorts of drinking, womanizing, gambling,drungs.....you got all the variety :D
pakistani newspapers reports every other day of people dying cuz they had too much of poisonous desi sharab. In Pakistan they make sharab of even of chukandar and put it in between kachray ka dhair.
sense wense to hai nahi k yeh cheeze haram hai, per muft ki her cheeze logoon nay khani-peeni hoti hai.
and it is common among elite and lower class (as nomica already mentioned it), though the ratio in middle class is still lower, but its not far when everything will be same since everyone is trying a lot to compete elite class.
besides, in 60s there were bars in karachi. and if i am not wrong before marrying late BB, zardari was even planning to make a night club in Karachi.
I know Pakistanis who do, but in our main social circle and family we see regularly, no one does. We are in the US.
really? I'm actually shocked!
It's not that common and it's not true that it is more frequent in upper class, its equally common in all classes. The only difference is the poor people live on 'sasti wali sharab'.
It is increasingly gaining popularity among the urban youth in their 20's. When I finished high school in lahore, I would say that only 10% of the people in my class drank at that time. 5 Years later , 90% of the same lot drinks regularly, sadly. Among the more affluent classes, not drinking leads to a certain amount of social isolation and this compels most people to start with alcohol in the first place.
if you look at at the Sunday Daily Times Society pages, a lot of people are at parties holding glasses, and trying to cover it up. that might just be alcohol as well
^It usually is. Alchohol is widely available in Pakistan and hardly an elite gathering goes by that doesn't serve alcohol. Every class from dirt poor to filthy rich drinks alcohol. The difference is the lower class drinks the desi home made sharaab and the rich have access to all sorts of brands. A lot of the Pakistani friends I made at uni in UK drank freely, and it's quite common in their families here too. I've been offered a glass lots of times (I've never tried it though :p). I've seen people in cafes and restaurants drinking beer cans with tissue wrapped around. Drive around DHA (Phase 5) at night and you'll see people with their cars parked, drinking alcohol, and you can see a lot of alcohol related accidents too.
Well in Pakistan apart from the one or two idiots and unlucky lads hardly anyone up north could find fizzy drinks let alone alchohol nearest stuff to alchohol was Rooh Afzah or something...
Anyway once I started back for the Capital and Karachi it was a hotbead of Alcohol and other things... even Lahore was infested with seedy underground sources... I am ashamed that for many years I had to serve Alchohlic clients and protect thier worthless hides when to be honest I should have gotten a more sensible job or at least helped guard someone worthy.
Anyway I came to Britian a few years back and it is startling how many close friends actually drink... the local elite to average Joe's do it... so far I have other pursuits which are probably controversial but at least they are Halaal... namely I have a passion for hunting.
It is increasingly gaining popularity among the urban youth in their 20's. When I finished high school in lahore, I would say that only 10% of the people in my class drank at that time. 5 Years later , 90% of the same lot drinks regularly, sadly. Among the more affluent classes, not drinking leads to a certain amount of social isolation and this compels most people to start with alcohol in the first place.
Exactly, not drinking makes you feel left out now. Sad state of affairs really, people have lost all sense of direction.
Ive seen many Pakistanis indulging in the US...during gatherings (usually non-desi events), corporate dinners, etc. Its not a big deal to them.
I cannot say, however, that its socially acceptable now because as far as I know its still looked down upon.
I have no idea about Pakistan though.
^It usually is. Alchohol is widely available in Pakistan and hardly an elite gathering goes by that doesn't serve alcohol. Every class from dirt poor to filthy rich drinks alcohol. The difference is the lower class drinks the desi home made sharaab and the rich have access to all sorts of brands. A lot of the Pakistani friends I made at uni in UK drank freely, and it's quite common in their families here too. I've been offered a glass lots of times (I've never tried it though :p). I've seen people in cafes and restaurants drinking beer cans with tissue wrapped around. Drive around DHA (Phase 5) at night and you'll see people with their cars parked, drinking alcohol, and you can see a lot of alcohol related accidents too.
Was gonna say pretty much the same. I've been in university environment for far too long. I don't personally know any British Pakistani's who regularly drink (I'm sure they exist, I just don't know any), but know quite a few international Pakistani students who do and a lot. From what they have told me, it's not something they just started after coming to the UK.
How common is it?
quite common and shocking too.
Do you know any friends, family members who do it?.
as far as i know none of my friends and rishtedaar drink alcohol. allhumdolillah
Have you personally tried it?.
NO
Ps. ek time tha jab UK ke kisi super store main alcohol wale aisle se guzrna bhi mujhe gunaah lagta tha thinking ke koi dekhe ga tou kya soche ga. tauba tauba...HAHAHAHAHAHA.