Former captain answers call for help Akram to train Pakistani pacers
Wasim Akram, former Pakistan captain and the highest wicket-taker in ODIs, will train Pakistan fast bowlers in Lahore. Akram, who retired from international cricket in 2003, was contacted by Nasim Ashraf, chairman Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in Singapore where he is on assignment as a commentator.
According to Ahsan Malik, a PCB spokesman, Akram will supervise the special two-week camp that is to be held in mid-May.
“The chairman contacted Wasim today and invited him over to help Pakistan cricket and we are very happy that he has volunteered to help,” he said.
“Wasim has offered all-out support to the Pakistan team to supervise the camp for young and upcoming fast bowlers. He will also supervise a training camp in June for the national team in (the northwestern city of) Abbotabad,” added Ahsan.
Wasim’s decision comes after new Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik said he wanted to emulate him and it will boost Pakistan’s efforts to recover after their dismal World Cup.
Wasim retired from international cricket with a world record 502 ODI and 414 Test wickets. He was criticised in Pakistan when he was reported to have helped Indian fast bowlers in 2004.
I think he will eventually get some sort of post in pCB, which is reallly good for cricket as Akram has really good eye for new talent as well. .Inshallah good times lie ahead.
^ I wouldn't want him at any post other then bowling coach or trainer at best.
He has the nasty attraction to indiscipline and bookies.
Great talent and cricket mind no doubt.
Common guys. We shouldnt blast Akram for no reason. He has achieved enough in life and now wants to give back to his country. I think it was very evident in his interviews. Anyways, thats my opinion, i think he has been a great embassador for the country and if he wants to help out new boys, then all of us shoud support him.
^ Don't hear me in the same light as KA....
however, you remember the phrase "...doodh ka jala chachh ko bhee phoonk phoonk kar peeta heay..." right?
No doubt he is floundering around these days as a good guy, however, his talent should be utilized for training bowlers and picking up new bowling talent and thats it.
ya i also wonder why his name was in justice Qayum report for **"NO REASON". **To me he is not a good choice ever to coach Pakistan national team.
Just being a great player does not mean you also posses the quality of becoming the coach one day.
If that was the case i guess Sunil Gavasker, or Viv Richards or Allan Border or Taylor would have also considered being the coach of some national team.
No doubt Akram was one of the best bowler. but he does not possess the qualities of a coach. How would he point out batting flaws ? or fielding drills ( he was pathetic at it when he played ), or discipline ?
^ I wouldn't want him at any post other then bowling coach or trainer at best.
He has the nasty attraction to indiscipline and bookies.
Great talent and cricket mind no doubt.
No different than Inzimam, Mushy (MiniMe), Waqar, Saeed Anwer when it comes to match fixing charges, all these players have been reprimanded, fined and censured for match fixing allegations.
Indiscipline? I wonder where that came from? Akram has never been accused of match indiscipline, refused to take the field or ever blamed a green wicket.
Wasim Akram is one of the greatest cricketers to walk on the field wearing the pakistani colours and do honor to his profession.
He is one of the greats and will always be remembered for his cricketing exploits, nobody cam take that from him no matter what is said and how many times.
No different than Inzimam, Mushy (MiniMe), Waqar, Saeed Anwer when it comes to match fixing charges, all these players have been reprimanded, fined and censured for match fixing allegations.
Indiscipline? I wonder where that came from? Akram has never been accused of match indiscipline, refused to take the field or ever blamed a green wicket.
I did not mean indiscipline on the field. Rather his encounters off the field.
Shaadi ka rishta tho naheen manga.....we are not looking for a Maulvi to lead prayers or a suitable boy for marriage, we want a talented, professional cricketer who can guide Pakistan back to its days of glory.
Saeed Anwar was NEVER fined for match fixing. He was fined for 'not cooperating' with the Qayyum commission. Meaning, they wanted him to spill the beans on the others and he didnt. He was never actually accused of throwing games - whereas Wasim Akram was repeatedly accused of fixing matches and being close to bookies.
Wasim won't be a good coach .The man is all '' natural".it is difficult for him to coach .As a bowler (greatest i ever saw) ,he is indisciplined,remember those no balls and wides .Waqar younis is the better option ,he was a work horse and did a fine job in the limited time.
According to Ahsan Malik, a PCB spokesman, Akram will supervise the special two-week camp that is to be held in mid-May
Aap log shaant rakhein, Akram is not going to be the coach, he has volunteered his services for the two-week camp only. Instead of being grateful and respectful to this great player, we have ppl vilifying him. Iss Mulk ka tho allah bhee hafiz naheen, bunch of ungratefuls.
It is painful to read comments of some of the guppies here who are trashing the services of a legend. Did he take over 500 ODI and over 400 test wickets for India? Shame on us and our narrow minded vision. Akram was, is and will always be a great cricketer who was one of the best left arm bowler the world ever saw.
Sau Saal Nargis apni bay noori pay roti rahee
bari mushkil say hota hai cahman mein deeda war paida.