Akhtar sits out rest of series -- (He is a liability)

Yes to me he is a liability now until he gets fit enough to play regularly. True that he is the fastest bowler, true that he bowls good when he is at song, true that he makes batsmen lick the ground BUT

• He is really UNDEPENDABLE.

• His “in and out” is destroying a future of atleast one other Pakistani youngster and that is also disturbing combination (if there is any) of Pakistan cricket team.

• We dont know If he will be fit for any match or not so Pakistan simply cant plan ahaead.

• (atleast) I am fedup of his “Joy Trips” where he plays 15/20% of the matches and enjoy otherwise.

• Other than fitness problems every now and then he leaves the team in b/w no where for some other reason (basically money/club/county).

Without disregarding his skills just for his and Pakistan’s sake I am strongly on the point of view that he should only be given chance ONLY if he is 100% fit. Believe me any 100% fit bowler can deliver more than (or atleast eqal to) a 20% fit fragile Shoaib.

What do you guys say ?

Akhtar sits out rest of series

Pakistan will protect ( :hehe: ) Shoaib as much as possible

Third ODI, Harare. Zimbabwe v Pakistan. Starts Wednesday, 0730GMT
Pakistan’s Shoaib Akhtar has been rested for the final three matches of the one-day series in Zimbabwe.

Team management are already anxious to ensure he is not over-bowled ahead of the World Cup.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Tauqir Zia said: “The World Cup is a major and long tournament and we want our best players to be available in top physical condition for it.”

Zia said Akhtar, plus veteran pacemen Waqar Younis and Wasim Akram should play in selected matches only and get proper rest between matches.

Akhtar, 27, complained of a niggling knee problem in the first two matches of the series, both of which were won by Pakistan.

“The problem is not a serious one, but Akhtar is being rested for a few matches so that he can make a complete recovery,” PCB media manager Samiul Hasan said.

Express

Pakistan are also scheduled to play in five one-day internationals and two Tests in South Africa from 2 December.

Akhtar, known as the “Rawalpindi Express,” has picked up 88 wickets in 25 Tests and 116 wickets in 71 one-day internationals.

He was unofficially clocked at more than 100 miles an hour (160 kms) during a one-day international against New Zealand in Pakistan last April.

Pakistan are due to announce a shortlist of 30 probables for the World Cup this Friday and the squad for the South African tour at the weekend.

NW, I hope you realize that Shoaib did not want to sit out, our management is giving him rest so he can perform at his highest level in South Africa.
Name a super fast bowler who hasn't been injury prone.
Take today's bowlers like Brett Lee or Shane Bond for example, eventhough they are no where as fast as Shoaib, they are injured every now and then.
And go even in the past and you will see bowlers like Waqar Younis (who used to be super fast in his golden days) were injured, Remember the 92 WC, right before that he played non stop cricket, and what happend next I think you are familiar with.
Yes Shoaib is injured more often than a regular fast bowler mainly because of his run up and his action, but he is also an exception.

Injury ?
1 time, 2 time, 3 times how many times ?
Just look at M.Grath, Wasim, Waqar, Kapil, Imran, Vaas, Walsh, Marshalls, Ambrose and so on spcially when they were young no one was like this. True that they got injuries every now and then but then they took of that period recovered fully and then made themselves avaialble. Imran kept himself out for years because of injury a example right at home.

Now come to the 2nd argument You can say all above mentioned were not SUPER FAST mind you, you dont allow race cars on city streets. If being SUPER FAST is the reason of all his injuries he should slow down a bit.

Rawalpindi Express is a LUXURY well spent. I say pamper him.

Memory Lane… February 1999, Jam Packed Eden Garden Calcutta… Shoaib starts from 30 plus yards out and gathers momentum as he looks into Dravid’s eyes and then his furniture. He jumps as he passes the umpire and releases one of his guided missiles towards Dravid’s toes. Dravid uses his bat not to play the ball but as a stick so he can save his toes. Furniture Broken!.

Calcutta crowd got mixed feelings as they see Dravid walk back but Tendulkar is loosening up as he walks to the middle. Takes guard. Deafening Noise. Tony Greg at his best praising the duel. Shoaib eager to run… towards Mr Sachin R Tendulkar… Fires… :kaboom: Mission Accomplished. Crowd Silent. Shoaib took the stuffing out of India’s batting line-up.

I say keep the guy just for that!. :jhanda:

*Originally posted by Nakhrey Wali: *
Injury ?
1 time, 2 time, 3 times how many times ?
Just look at M.Grath, Wasim, Waqar, Kapil, Imran, Vaas, Walsh, Marshalls, Ambrose and so on spcially when they were young no one was like this. True that they got injuries every now and then but then they took of that period recovered fully and then made themselves avaialble. Imran kept himself out for years because of injury a example right at home.

Now come to the 2nd argument You can say all above mentioned were not SUPER FAST mind you, you dont allow race cars on city streets. If being SUPER FAST is the reason of all his injuries he should slow down a bit.

First of all NW bhai, the bowlers you mentioned above, only 1 comes close to being as fast Shoaib and his name is Malcom Marshall and that too was about 18 years ago. Since then cricket has become a lot more competitive sport, atheletes are more physical when they play, now days cricket is being played alot more than it was in the Marshall era.
You can go look at Marshall's profile on cricinfo and see the number of cricket he played at his time.

And now about your 2nd arguement, if he slows down he will become an average bowler, speed is the reason why he is so successfull. Why do you think an average batsman is able to read Waqar's 85 mph yoker than an average batsman being able to have his stumps blown off from a 95 mph yoker.
The difference is the speed, while other bowlers like Wasim, Waqar can get by without speed because they have variety in their bowling unlike Shoaib whose only weapon is his fast reverse swing yokers.

OK lets agree on disagree for now and we will see :)

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

First of all NW bhai, the bowlers you mentioned above, only 1 comes close to being as fast Shoaib and his name is Malcom Marshall and that too was about 18 years ago.

I think Umair you were too young when Waqar and Wasim Started his career, ask any person who was not much young and who have seen cricket durin 88> 94+..... you will know that waqar was much more faster and much more depandable, I do agree that shoaib is a good and fast bowler, but believe me all the good critics place him well under waqar and wasim.
Nor he is nor he was never near of those. See the record of Waqar for his first 40 test or even 60 test and same with one day also.
The thing that lacks in Shoaib is his consistency, which used to be a part of the famous Two W's. and believe me boy, these Two W's ruined the career of another super star of Pakistan that was Aqib Javed (though not as fast as they were ,but still was very effective). The Two W's used to knock down three four wicket of the start, then that poor guy (Aqib) used to come, but still he managed to ahve a nice career with him.
The main difference between the fast bowlers of that time and this era is there Consistency, they all lack of it, though all the Fast bowlers got injured in there times but when ever they returned they played good cricket. you know, the Two W's used to bowl 14/15 overs spell a piece. but out Pindi Express seldom passes 7 or 8 overs, only it was witnessed in the current Test Series that hemanaged to bowl long.

Agree 100% with Nakhray Wali and coolBreeze :k:

Just let him play when he is 100% fit.

funguy that is very well put :k: :k: :k: :slight_smile:

hey! actually there r 2 reasons! jab bowling karaney per aata hai to aitni achi karata hai key WAH WAH! aur jab pitney per aata hai to jaysuriya off key sixes marta hai:hehe: well i agree! let him play when he is fit!

*Originally posted by coOoLBreeze: *

I think Umair you were too young when Waqar and Wasim Started his career, ask any person who was not much young and who have seen cricket durin 88> 94+..... you will know that waqar was much more faster and much more depandable, I do agree that shoaib is a good and fast bowler, but believe me all the good critics place him well under waqar and wasim.
Nor he is nor he was never near of those. See the record of Waqar for his first 40 test or even 60 test and same with one day also.
The thing that lacks in Shoaib is his consistency, which used to be a part of the famous Two W's. and believe me boy, these Two W's ruined the career of another super star of Pakistan that was Aqib Javed (though not as fast as they were ,but still was very effective). The Two W's used to knock down three four wicket of the start, then that poor guy (Aqib) used to come, but still he managed to ahve a nice career with him.
The main difference between the fast bowlers of that time and this era is there Consistency, they all lack of it, though all the Fast bowlers got injured in there times but when ever they returned they played good cricket. you know, the Two W's used to bowl 14/15 overs spell a piece. but out Pindi Express seldom passes 7 or 8 overs, only it was witnessed in the current Test Series that hemanaged to bowl long.

Cool Breeze, I agree every single word you said about Wasim and Waqar, I never disagreed that they were more consistent than Shoaib, but we are not discussing the consistency of the fast bowlers, I am only talking about the fittness level of Shoaib. I gave example of how Waqar was injury prone in early part of his career.

well whatever he is, Liablity, injury-prone inconsistent, he is our one-of-a-kind bowler .. No one is as effective and as lethal as he is and plus he is our bowling spearhead, NO second opinion about it!

So what do we do?? we pamper him :hehe:

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

Cool Breeze, I agree every single word you said about Wasim and Waqar, I never disagreed that they were more consistent than Shoaib, but we are not discussing the consistency of the fast bowlers, I am only talking about the fittness level of Shoaib. I gave example of how Waqar was injury prone in early part of his career.

my dear, Umair, Consistensy comes with fitness....
I watched each and every second of the test series in AUstralia, in which we lsot all three, and many other matches as well. he was fast, but he was not consistent....he bowls thee four fast overs and then he is limping back to the pavilion, That happened many a occasions , one example remember SHARJAH matches, you will get many examples :)

I really get all pumped up whenever I see Shoaib Akhtar at the top of his bowling mark. And as he gathers momentum and charges down towards the batsman... I just don't know if there is any better sight in cricket than watching Shoaib bowling. Fit or unfit !. Everytime he is bowling, you know anything can happen. He brings excitement!. Let's play ball with Shoaib !.

yup! well said! anythin can happen while shoaib is bowling.. a six or a four.. :D.... hez xpensive but when he takes one wicket.. boy there he go high up in the sky and bustin the batsman like anything!

[thumb=A]shoaib3.JPG[/thumb]

Well he is the best thing happend to cricket in a long time.

*Originally posted by funguy: *

The only person to watch runing down towards the pitch and delivering the ball was Khan sahib there is no one so far to compare Khan sahib and the excitement one goes through when Khan sahib is on the bowling end and is furious. Bus aur kuch nahi cricket ground me ja kar dekhnay ke pesay poray ho jatay hain :)

[thumb=A]KhanSahib00.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]KhanSahib01.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]KhanSahib02.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]KhanSahib03.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]KhanSahib04.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]KhanSahib1.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]KhanSahib2.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]KhanSahib4.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=A]KhanSahib3.JPG[/thumb]

Trying to well left and a Perfect inswing from khan sahib take the bails off ;)
[thumb=A]KhanSahib5.JPG[/thumb]

*Originally posted by Question: *

The only person to watch runing down towards the pitch and delivering the ball was Khan sahib there is no one so far to compare Khan sahib and the excitement one goes through when Khan sahib is on the bowling end and is furious. Bus aur kuch nahi cricket ground me ja kar dekhnay ke pesay poray ho jatay hain :)

Oh sir jee I did not know k Khan Saahab is still bowling ;)

Well point taken but I was talking about the present bunch of cricketers.

Khan saahab was a class of his own but if given a choice to watch one of them, I would pick Shoaib just for his sheer pace.

Please don't take me wrong. I was and still am a great admirer of the way Khan Saahab played cricket. But I am talking about watching a FAST bowler charging down the ground. Maybe I haven't seen much of Khan saahab.