Aishah's legacy

An old article, but i thought still applicable to today. The author reverted to Islam in the '70s; is currently an Islamic Studies Professor in the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Aishah’s legacy, New Internationalist, May 2002

I converted to Islam during the second wave feminist movement in the 1970s. I saw everything through a prism of religious euphoria and idealism. Within the Islamic system of thought I have struggled to transform idealism into pragmatic reforms as a scholar and activist. And my main source of inspiration has been Islam’s own primary source – the Qur’an.

It is clear to me that the Qur’an aimed to erase all notions of women as subhuman. There are more passages that address issues relating to women – as individuals, in the family, as members of the community – than all other social issues combined.

…] Islam brought radical changes regarding women and society, despite the deeply entrenched patriarchy of seventh-century Arabia. The Qur’an provides women with explicit rights to inheritance, independent property, divorce and the right to testify in a court of law. It prohibits wanton violence towards women and girls and is against duress in marriage and community affairs. Women and men equally are required to fulfill all religious duties, and are equally eligible for punishment for misdemeanors. Finally, women are offered the ultimate boon: paradise and proximity to Allah: ‘Whoever does an atom’s weight of good, whether male or female, and is a believer, all such shall enter into Paradise’ (Q 40:40).

In the period immediately following the death of the Prophet, women were active participants at all levels of community affairs – religious, political, social, educational, intellectual. They played key roles in preserving traditions, disseminating knowledge and challenging authority when it went against their understanding of the Qur’an or the prophetic legacy.

The Prophet’s favorite wife A’ishah, from whom the prophet said we should learn ‘half our religion’, was sought after as an advisor to the early jurists. In the famous ‘Battle of the Camel’ she was an army general. The prophet even received revelation while resting his head on her lap. Unfortunately, this period passed before it could establish a pattern sustainable as historical precedent. And the name of A’ishahs cannot erase what was to happen to the status of women in the following thousand years.

During the Abbasid period, when Islam’s foundations were developed, leading scholars and thinkers were exclusively male. They had no experience with revelation first hand, had not known the Prophet directly and were sometimes influenced by intellectual and moral cultures antithetical to Islam.

In particular, they moved away from the Qur’an’s ethical codes for female autonomy to advocate instead women’s subservience, silence and seclusion. If women’s agency was taken into consideration it was with regard to service to men, family and community. Women came to be discussed in law in the same terms as material objects and possessions. (This is today reflected in Pakistan’s rape laws which treat the offense as one of theft of male private property with no consideration for the woman’s rights).

Not until the post-colonial 20th century would Muslim women re-emerge as active participants in all areas of Islamic public, political, economic, intellectual, social, cultural and spiritual affairs.

Today Muslim women are striving for greater inclusiveness in many diverse ways, not all of them in agreement with each other. At the Beijing Global Women’s Conference in 1995, nightly attempts to form a Muslim women’s caucus at the NGO forum became screaming sessions. The many different strategies and perspectives just could not be brought to a consensus. On the Left were many secular feminists and activists who, while Muslim themselves, defined Islam on a cultural basis only. Their politics was informed by post-colonialist and Marxist agendas of nationalism. Concrete issues of women’s full equality: standards of education, career opportunities, political participation and representation were understood in Western terms. The cultural imposition of veiling was to them a symbol of women’s backwardness; for them full entry in the public domain and other indicators of liberation were reflected in Western styles of dress.

On the far Right, Muslim male authorities and their female representatives, known as Islamists, spearheaded a reactionary, neo-conservative approach. They identified an ideal Islam as the one lived by the Prophet’s companions and followers at Madinah. All that was required today was to lift that ideal out of the pages of history and graft it on to modernity adopting a complete shari’ah state, unexamined and unquestioned and opposed to modern complexity. Then life would be perfect. There were no inequities towards women because the law was divine and the matter of patriarchal interpretation was irrelevant. Female Islamists representing this viewpoint handed out booklets (written by men) with titles such as ‘The Wisdom behind Islam’s Position on Women’. Although the arguments were not intellectually rigorous or critically substantial they held a substantial sway. Ironically, these arguments would also form part of the rhetoric used by secular feminists to discredit human-rights and social-justice advocates who were in the middle ground, who insisted on fighting from within an Islamic perspective, or who happen to wear hijab.

As the term ‘Islamic feminism’ gained currency in the 1990s through scholars and activists, it would clarify the perspective of a large number of women somewhere between Islamists and secular feminists. While they would not give up their allegiance to Islam as an essential part of self-determination and identity they did critique patriarchal control over the basic Islamic world-view. Islamic feminism did not define these women, and many still reject the term. However, the term helped others to understand the distinction between them and the two dominant approaches for Muslim women’s rights.

Today more women are active in the discussion and reformation of identity than at any other time in human history. By going back to primary sources and interpreting them afresh, women scholars are endeavoring to remove the fetters imposed by centuries of patriarchal interpretation and practice. By questioning underlying presumptions and conclusions they are creating a space in which to think about gender. Drawing upon enduring principles of human rights, enshrined in the text, they extract meanings that can interact with the changing moral and intellectual circumstances of the reader. And women scholars and activists are also busy constructing a system of legal reforms that can be implemented today for the full status of women as moral agents at all levels of human society.

This moral agency is a mandate of the Qur’an and cannot be restricted by any amount of historical precedent, social custom or patriarchal aspiration. The long-term success of this project lies in the fact that it is all happening within Islam. And the rationale for change comes from the most trustworthy and reliable source of Islam itself – the Qur’an.

doesn't mention the passage in the Koran which advises husbands to beat thir wives.

Nice try. :k: Sadly, you conveniently forgot to mention how Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) used to treat his wives. Since he is considered an example for all of humanity, there might be some instructive lessons to be learned from that analogy regarding how to treat females.

Dear Ms. Nadia nobody's questioning the way the Prophet treated his wives. He never beat any of them and we should all follow his example, sounds neat, but why does the Koran oppose this idea and go on to advise husbands to beat their wives?

i'm sure there are just reasons for that dear guppie if wives doies real bad ( for example zina), i mean real bad then beat her i think..... allah knows better

Dear PI,

With all due respect - you need to stop jumping to conclusions :slight_smile: :flower1: Nowhere does the Quran “advise husbands to beat their wives”. Perhaps i am mistaken in interpreting your statement, but it seems to me you are implying that the Quran actually orders husbands to beat their wives, as though this is some sort of daily duty from the husband to the wife.

With all due respect, give me a break. Read this quote in context, and apply it with what has been laid down, as facts, from the life of Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) - in biographies written by several nonMuslims. Along with these two aspects, also please study the entire set of Quranic injuntions relating to women. Pulling out one quote from an entire scripture, and utilizing it to justify one’s argument - well, that is akin to me pulling quotes from other religious scriptures and using them as a basis for arguing that “X” religion condones burning of wives, or adultery, etc etc.

If you study the Quran in its entirety with an open mind and attempt to independently and non-subjectively comprehend what Islam’s stance is vis-a-vis women, then - and only then - does one gain an accurate understanding of women’s position in Islam.

Please do give the following two websites an extremely careful read, and then offer your counter-arguments in precise points to those raised in these two websites, subsequent to having read them carefully. i look forward to reading your arguments.

Quranic Perspective on Wife beating and Abuse, Fatima Khaldoon

**Is wife-beating allowed in Islam?**, Jamal Badawi

out of the 6000+ verses of The Quran, u read just one…
and u got it wrong too… :nono:

very sad…

*Originally posted by #let uz chat#: *
i'm sure there are just reasons for that dear guppie if wives doies real bad ( for example zina), i mean real bad then beat her i think..... allah knows better

And if the guy does something real bad such as Zina, why isn't the wife allowed to beat him? Dont be stupid!

Out of the 6000+ verses of the Koran, you ignored just one!
becoz you couldnt get it right. :nono4:

:konfused: i must have missed my reply somewhere…

WHen did the writer revert? I though they said they converted. :confused:

IS the articled translated from Arabic or something? maybe they lost something in translation.

lol bibi aiksecond theher to jaain likh raha hoon abhee!

Dear Nadia,
Well okay maybe I’m wrong but is main itni zor say daantnay ki kya zaroorat thee? :crying: Bohot afsos ki baat hai!

I didn’t say it orders, I said it advises. If you look at the words of the verse thats what it does.
‘‘Men are the managers of the affairs of women for that God has preferred in bounty one of them over another, and for that they have expended their property. Righteous women are therefore obedient, guarding the secret for God’s guarding. And those you fear may be rebelliou admonish, banish them to their couches, and beat them. If they then obey you, look not for any way against them; God is all-high, all-great.’’ Arberry ]

1- How do you know I haven’t read the entire Koran? :slight_smile:
2- I’m not justifying an argument, I only asked a question. :slight_smile:

I gave the two sites an extremely careful read and here are my counter arguments:

** Domestic Violence ** by * Fatimah Khaldoon *

ooO Translation of the Verse Ooo
The way this article translates the key verse is uncomprehendable. There is no reference to the translator. Apparently the translation has been authored by the writer herself. It is highly ‘proverbial’.

ooO An Example of ‘Proverbial’ Translation Ooo
Fas-Salihaatu Qanitaatun is a simple phrase * Fa * means ‘therefore’, Salihaat means ‘Righteous Females’, and ‘Qatinaat’ means ‘Obedient Females’. This has been translated as * The righteous women will cheerfully accept this arrangement, since it is GOD’s commandment *. The whole translated passage is poorly translated. Thats probably deliberate mis-translation since it does not mention anywhere that the translation is ‘proverbial’ and such font has been chosen that gives the impression that the exat words of the koran are being quoted.

ooO More Mistranslation - Pre-conditions to beating Ooo
The translation says: If you experience rebellion… as the pre-condition to the chastisement. The original verse uses the word * takhafoona * which means ‘you fear’. The Koran actually allows beating a women upon fear of misbehavior and the author of the article has tried to hide that by mistranslation. Please give me one reason why I should not think this mistranslation is deliberate? If everything you say is as logical as you claim, why do people have to misguide readers to prove the point?

ooO Yet More Mistranslation - Last alternative? Ooo
The author translated: * then you may (as a last alternative) beat them. * The original verse uses the phrase * Waz-Riboohunn * which means ‘AND beat them’. Wa means and, in addition to, or also. It does not mean ‘then as a last alternative’. It means ‘as well’.

After reading how this verse has been treated by the author, I am bound to think either the author is illiterate or has been doing this deliberately to reconcile the ‘image of islam in the west’. In either case I didn’t really feel like reading on. However, to avoid your ** wrath ** I thought I’d read the whole of it anyway :slight_smile: The whole argument in that essay is based around those mistranslations I mentioned. However, here are some questions:

1- I can accept the husband has been allowed to beat his wife as a last alternative after she has committed an act of indecency , but even then, why has the wife not been allowed to beat her husband if he commits indecency? Guys commit more indecencies than women, a verse which advises beating them up is much needed! :slight_smile:

2- The article relates verses 2:228 and 3:195 to prove that koran considers men and women equal in status. The verse under discussion here says *God has preferred in bounty one of them over another * which is aparently acontradiction. How do we solve this?

** Is wife beating allowed in Islam? ** by * Dr. Jamal Badawi *

This article was so stupid, and funny, I swear to God you can write better than this author. Dr. Saab is most probably a homeopathic doctor :smiley: Actually this essay is so lame I’m laughing. Itacks any logic whatsoever. My Points are:

1- The Koran has used the word 'AND’wa] between the suggested punishments which means ‘and’, the author was so clever he totally left out the word ‘and’ and filled up the spaces with his own brackets, (first), (next), (and last).

2- This writer was more against the beating of women, in the heart of his hearts he probably believes in human rights so he comes up with an explanation no man has come up with in 1400 years of Islamic history. Since he had no logic to support his argument, he added the funniest bracket of explanation I’ve ever read (tap) them (lightly) :rotfl: How logical is this? The Koran says Wazribu, which means, to hit, no dictionary suggests a’tapping lightly’ meaning of the word, and if any of them does, why has it not been referenced? If the tapping thing has been taken from a hadith, why has it not been referenced? It says hit, it doesn’t matter how hard, if one writer is allowed to say lightly, another one should be allowed to say very hard!

3- The only true point I found in the two articles, is Dr. Jamals reference to the Hadith which disallows hitting on the face or causing bodily harm. Its good enough and believable, but the question remains, if men and women are equal as the articles suggest, then why are the women not allowed to beat their husbands upon indecency as long as they dont hit the faces either?

The rest of the article is a contradiction coz if there is ample evidence from the hadith that beating is not allowed, why was beating mentioned at all, and why do the writers have to author their own (mis)translations to justify their points. Niether of the two writers is qualified to write their own translations as long as they have ample proofs in favor of their translations, otherwise all writers resort to quoting the translators that have been agreed upon generaly.

Its a shame though that these articles are so lame, I had to spend about two hours reading and writing this up, and there’s no valid logical argument in them at all. Both the articles depend on their own (mutually different) translated versions of the verse. Sorry for the delay, I really thought since I’ve offended you so much I should try to understand the point you’re making.

My advice: Write up your own article on this once we’ve finished the argument.

what do you say about the women right hand posses? who are they
non-muslim women? or it does not apply to people of the book
who were stronger and cant be take as captives ?

read the following verse

PICKTHAL: And if ye fear that ye will not deal fairly by the orphans, marry of the women, who seem good to you, two or three or four; and if ye fear that ye cannot do justice (to so many) then one (only) or (the captives) that your right hands possess. Thus it is more likely that ye will not do injustice.

Re: Aishah’s legacy

Quran may have elavated women status “only slighly” from the other abrahamic creeds but that was RELEVANT only for the 7th century or thereof - NOT FOR ALL ETERNITY!

The above article does NOT reflect the postion of Sunni Islam (forget wahabi-ism) as articulated by its sharia’h where the women is akin to:

“Women is like a field, till her as you see fit”. - Holy Quran

Nadia should stick to explaining the status of women according to the Sunni fiqh if she is one and not paint a picture that is false and pure propaganda.

4: 35.
Men are guardians over women because ALLAH has made some of them excel others, ** and because men spend on them of their wealth** . So virtuous women are obedient, and guard the secrets of their husbands with ALLAH's protection. And as for those on whose part you fear disobedience, admonish them and keep away from them in their beds and chastise them. Then if they obey you, ** seek not a way against them** . Surely, ALLAH is High and Great.

2: 224.
Your wives are a sort of tilth for you; so approach your tilth when and as you like and *send ahead some good for yourselves; and fear ALLAH and know that you shall meet HIM * ; and bear good tidings to those who believe.

4: 25.
And forbidden to you are married women, except such as your right hands possess. This has ALLAH enjoined on you. And allowed to you are those beyond that, that you may seek them by means of your property, marrying them properly and not committing fornication. And for the benefit you receive from them, give them their dowries, as fixed, and there is no blame on you what you do **by mutual agreement **after the fixing of the dowry. Surely ALLAH is All-Knowing, Wise.

very nice read nadia:flower1: its jus too bad we got so many examples of cnn backlash surfing here that u have to continue on with negative arguments. However, mashallah, that atleast they are inquring and not pleading ignorance. id stick around for the fun but unfortuantely gotta go, may allah guide us all..ameen…

I don’t mind being called a CNN backlash, but how would you or your friend feel if I call this article an Aljazeera backlash? I only passed a comment, I was lured into an argument and had to waste hours reading two stupid manipulative articles only to find no logical stance whatsoever. It isn’t my fault. I was invited to ask a question and have not been given an asnwer. Difference of opinion is a fundamental feature of religion, you can’t relate it to news channels.

A fool can be convinced with logic, and if a wise man gives me logic, I will be happily convinced. But when logic falls into the deep crevice between wisdom and foolishness, arguments don’t mean anything. If your scholars translate takhafoona as ‘you experience’ that is not my fault. If your scholars suggest Waz-Riboohunn mans ‘as a last resort tap them lighy’, you cant’ expect me not to laugh at them.

I do not mean to insult your religious beliefs, but it hurts me equally bad if someone insults my intelligence.

Paagal Insaan,

Thanks for your replies.

i wrote out a long detailed reply which unfortunately got deleted. Let me try to rephrase what i was hoping to state. Forgive me if i sound ‘harsh’ or ‘mean’; i have become quite used to engaging in discussions with individuals in this Forum and i rarely agree with most individuals! It is nothing personal against you, i was not ‘scolding’ you in my last reply. It is my style of writing, perhaps, which is sad but the only way i know how to write in this Forum. Anyhow - my apologies for sounding harsh. :flower1: :flower1:

First off, you seem to be exclusively focused upon what YOU perceive of as mistranslations in the two websites that i listed. Fair enough. But you must understand that that is not something that is objective; you are picking upon a person’s semantical habits (by the way, Dr. Jamaal Badawi is considered one of the foremost Muslim intellectuals of this time and is in much demand, around the world, to present speeches mostly to nonMuslim audiences). Anyhow - i really fail to understand where you are coming from, i am afraid. Everything you have offered as a rebuttal seems to me to be deriving from picking on extremely trivial issues (perceived grammatical mistranslations as you see it), rather than arguing the facts. You do not seem to deny, at least, that Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) treated his wives with the utmost love and kindness. Since he is considered, in Islam, to be an example for all of humanity - anyone’s suggestions that Islam tolerates harshness towards wives would seem to be an argument that falls completely flat i am afraid.

i am sure you are already aware of numerous examples from the Hadith (‘from among the believers are those who have the kindest disposition and are kindest to their families, such are those who show most perfect faith’; ‘the best among you are those who are kindest to their wives’; ‘heaven lies under the feet of the mother’; and from the Quran, Live with them in kindness; even if you dislike them, perhaps you dislike something in which Allah has placed much good (4.19) that validate the point i am attempting to make here. i am not certain how the Quranic injunction “Live with them [wives] in kindness” matches anyone’s assertion that Islam tolerates cruelty towards wives. i really am at a loss to understand this. All throughout the Quran, it is reiterated by Allah that the best in Allah’s sight, are those who are the most pious and righteous. If i had come across even one example where i believed i saw evidence of misconduct towards women justified in Islam, then believe me my dear friend - i would not regard Islam as positively as i do. It is precisely because of Islam’s principles vis-a-vis justice, human rights, and piety that is - for myself - at least, the source of peace. i am sure my words should carry more weight since, afterall, i am a Muslim female who has found her own liberation and peace within Islam, not with anything else.

If anyone has a problem with that, well - so be it :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :flower1: We are all diverse and i am sure each of us clings to personal beliefs and perspectives that are immensely dear to us. You need not be offended by anything i have stated, these are my personal beliefs. i will never, ever agree with a perspective that i believe to be wholly inaccurate and extremely biased, but i will always respect the difference of opinion. :flower1:

Regards,
nadia

Dear Hafeez123,

Please do not worry about what “fiqh” i adhere to. That is a concern that rests between myself and God. If you consider this propaganda, i am not forcing you to read it. :flower1: By all means, feel free to disagree with me - we are both here to learn afterall from each other. :flower1:

Rvikz,
IMHO, most important point for this is in order to avoid someone’s rights being exploited - refer to the following Quranic quote that you quoted: Thus it is more likely that ye will not do injustice. Everything in Islam is meant to avoid committing injustices against anyone else.

Destino and Yari-EH,
Thanks so much for your comments. :flower1: Much appreciated.