Aik aur latka diya Hasina nay....

Re: Aik aur latka diya Hasina nay…

How old are you kid? Are you crazy? You’ve quoted my same post thrice and before even giving me the chance to reply to your question, apna predictably pathetic rona dhona shuroo kar diya…bloody victim complex.

I thought in your earlier post you meant well, and I was in the middle of writing a very honest and civilised opinion, but now I don’t think you’re worth it.

Bloody victim complex… Why do you think everyone is like you?

Why did you edited it?

khair, here is the PTI’s view on the matter (though given 3 years back when Hasina ne kisi aur ko latkaya tha)

Just a moment…

I was going to ask Jolie for IK’s views on 1971 war, but I googled to find this report.

Now IK’s statement sound good here:

But I think he has similar statement even for Taliban. I won’t call him Taliban apologist, because I feel that he favours reconciliation by nature (rightly or wrongly).

Would be interesting to know if IK has ever given a statement like ‘rigging an inflexibility on electoral matters was the last nail in coffin of East Pakistan’. I think he had avoided such statement (to the best of my knowledge), as it would open a new pandora box and after that his idealism for Bhutto (which he expressed during certain rallies) will be useless.

I don’t think you know what victim complex is. Try a dictionary next time or just go through your pathetic posts justifying MQM on such basis.

In his dharna speeches (which I don’t think you would have watched or given any respect too), he did mention that failure to resolve the issue of electoral injustice in resulted in country breaking apart.

I think you can admire Bhutto for introducing grass root level political mobilisation and at the same time feel sympathetic and regretful about the lack of political flexibility that resulted in a colossal level of tragedy.

By the way @muqawwee123, Bangladesh wasn’t really a result of ‘rigging’ per say, both Mujib and Bhutto won their votes fair and square. It was probably the fairest elections in the history of Pakistan.

It’s just Mujib clean sweeped East Pakistan against everyone’s expectations, and as a result of having more seats than Bhutto, he was the deserving candidate for the Premiership.

Electoral injustice was the final nail in the coffin, but when we talk about electoral injustice in that context, it’s not about rigging.

May be he mentioned it indirectly and you are right that I did not follow all of his dharna speeches, I might have missed. If you can share any link to such speech that will be helpful. I would rather like to listen to IK’s views on overall tragedy. Did he mention that in his book by any chance?

If that helps - he is anything but pro-military when it comes to talking about Bangladesh in his book, he has condemned the operation in clear terms. In his book, he describes the 1971 war as the saddest memory of his young life. He’s certainly a pacifist…even you’ll have to agree to this!

Obviously Bangladesh did not happen because of rigging, if anything those were probably the cleanest and the fairest elections of all time. It was an electoral injustice of different kind, but despite that, if some real level of comprise and flexibility was shown to Mujib’s Six Points Agenda (which did not include his wish for the Premiership), a war could have been avoided.

That came to my mind that its post election phenomenon and army operation in March 1971 that turned the tables. Election were fairer, results were not digestible as usual.

Now the bold part is the catching phrase and connected with topic. While I was going through some pages online on 1971 war, I found that JI introduced Albadr and Alshams to equal the score from rival parties. Apparently, this fact is even mentioned in Pakistani text books taught in schools as per this link:

In-depth: What students are being taught about the separation of East Pakistan - Home - DAWN.COM

It appears that in East Pakistan Awami League and in West Pakistan PPP defeated JI very badly (did they have any successful electoral history before 1971 is another question which ajaz might know). A detailed break-up of winners during elections would prove that. So, a fact which even taken a place in text books of Pakistani schools say that JI was a major party to war crimes (Its another thing whether we agree or disagree that current punishment by BD govt are justified. Personally, I would say unjustified, but the final decision remains with people who suffered and as per reports there is a sizable population in BD which is for such punishment).

It was PPP who brought 90k bhagory… I think that was the very big mistake of PPP.

Ironically, (and I really can’t believe I’m saying this) but rigging could’ve stopped the war. The establishment and Bhutto simply did not expect Mujib to do so well in East Pakistan. Had they knew, they would’ve altered the results from the source to avoid that situation.

But truth of the matter is, electoral injustice was the final nail in the coffin. Things could neither proceed forward nor remain the same after that point.

I have doubts with the bold statement. Bhutto was even not popular in Balochistan and KPK (then NWFP) provinces and PPP did not win from these provinces (as far as I know). It was Bhutto’s first election and I didn’t read anywhere that PPP had an election campaign in East Pakistan. Further, the article I posted above about text books also refers to 1970 Bhola cycle killing around 500,000 people in East Pakistan and there was no support from west wing in such circumstances. This might have lead to hatred for any party purely belonging to west wing. Bhutto was shrewd enough to read all this, but we don’t know why establishment (to whom Bhutto was favorite at that time) could not timely acted.

Probably, credit for this should be given to Indira Gandhi than Bhutto, who rightly realised that India should not burden itself for feeding 90k prisoners. Pundit Baniye ki beti Maths aur economics nahin jane gi to aur kon jane ga :slight_smile:

O bhaio aur behno! Lets move a request to PA team to open a separate sticky thread, where we can dil khol ke personally attack each other without getting warnings / infractions, but don’t litter every other thread with nasty posts.

In that thread, I can also call JI rapist :sid:

Well sadly I have to say this with great shame and disappointment that path to power in Pakistan goes through Punjab. Bhutto was incredibly popular in Punjab even at the village level. Once you have Punjab in your pocket, your lack of popularity in other province becomes irrelevant. This is as true today as it was over 40 years ago.

I think establishment and Bhutto just didn’t realise how mobilized and politically aware the Bengali electorate had become by 1970. In a land marred with rampant poverty, social injustice and regional isolation, they were going to vote for anyone who would promise to give them their rights.

But there was a definitely an element of great shock when they saw Mujib clean sweeping East Pakistan in such style, had they knew or taken this prospect a little seriously, I doubt the establishment would’ve held itself back from altering the result from the source in East Pakistan.

You are one of the many few who mention this. This is very true, Indira had asked Bhutto to take the PoWs back as her govt. didn’t want to bear the expense of keeping them but Bhutto being an evil genius took that as an opportunity to gain fame in front of the awam by playing delaying tactics to get the prisoners released.

It was biggest mistakes of ZAB after not forcing Yahya Khan to hand over power to Shaikh Mujib the majority winner leader and getting released these cowards. He could have asked Indira Gandhi to keep these coward rapists and looters and supplied ration from Pakistan if there was any such problem. I don’t think so that daal roti was a big problem of Indira Gandhi. ZAB was a brilliant politician to convince any one including Indira Gandhi then. The way she humiliated these pows in Indian jails should have continued, till war crimes investigation would have been setup. People who have not seen ZAB in action are just guessing, JI based prejudice history or just subjective thinking.

You are lying. It never happened.

Imran has called for an apology to bangladesh but I want a truth and reconciliation commission where we have a comprehensive justice. Bangladesh has to apologize to how it has treated pakistanis in 1971 and now in those camps. I remember another analyst who said that if you want a blanket apology, apologize for the conduct between 1948-71 instead of 1971 where all sides have skeletons in their closets.

Sham trials. Shame on Bangladesh. Pity the murdered.

From Human Rights Watch’s website:

March 22, 2016
Chief Justice Calls Prosecution “Incompetent” and Evidence “Insufficient”

(New York) – Bangladeshi authorities should immediately set aside the death penalty against Mir Qasem Ali, a senior member of the executive committee of opposition party Jamaat-e-Islaami, and order a new trial that meets international fair trial standards, Human Rights Watch said today.
The Supreme Court upheld the conviction against Ali despite earlier statements in court by Chief Justice Surendra Kumar Sinha, criticizing the attorney general, prosecutors, and investigators for** producing insufficient evidence in the trial court**.

“Convictions can only be upheld when there is proof beyond a reasonable doubt, yet in this case there are grave doubts about the evidence after the court so strongly criticized the prosecution,” said Brad Adams, Asia director at Human Rights Watch.

As in other cases before the ICT, the defense was arbitrarily limited in its ability to submit evidence, including witnesses and documents. Defense lawyers were allowed to produce only three witnesses to counter 14 separate charges. Lawyers were threatened orally with a 50 lakh taka (approximately US$64,000) fine when they asked the judges to review their order limiting witnesses. The court denied the defense the opportunity to challenge the credibility of prosecution witnesses by rejecting witnesses’ earlier statements that were inconsistent with their trial testimony. The refusal to allow the accused to challenge the credibility of prosecution witnesses has been a hallmark of trials before the ICT.

Many of the trials before the ICT have been marred by evidence from intercepted communications between the prosecution and the judges that has revealed prohibited and biased communications. The ICT’s response on several occasions to those who have raised objections about the trials has been to file contempt charges against them in an apparent attempt to silence criticism rather than to answer substantively or to rectify any errors.

From Voice of America website:

http://www.voanews.com/content/bangladesh-war-crime-trial-executions-reaction/3073845.html

Sam Zarifi, Asia-Pacific regional director of the International Commission of Jurists, said the human rights committee of the United Nations is very clear that if a government wants to carry out a death penalty, it has to ensure that the judicial process in the case has been absolutely fair.
“In the case of the International Crime Tribunal in Bangladesh, unfortunately this hasn’t been the case,” Zarifi said to VOA. “We saw witnesses not being allowed to testify, evidence that could exculpate the defendants not being admitted on vague grounds.”
Alex Carlile, a lawyer and member of Britain’s House of Lords, said the trials in the cases of Mujahid and Chowdhury fell “far, far short of acceptable standards.”
Pointing to the case that Bangladesh executed the two men just three or four hours after their reported presidential clemency petitions had been rejected, Carlile said Bangladesh resorted to unusual haste in carrying out the executions.
"I think the speed at which the executions took place is obscene,” he said. “It falls way outside any acceptable criminal justice policies. I think the Bangladesh government has lost all respect among lawyers the world over.”