Ahle Tashi doing Matam

LUC please read post #8 by Zero1

"Ok, heres a request. Take what ever time you want. Do some research and share with us what you learn from the part of Noha I posted above."

This is a very simple request for you but believe me this would probably the best thing you can do for yourself. It will change your life forever. Guaranteed.

We will never learn or change!

My dear
we can if we try to search for the answers about the big part of our life called belief/religion.
i would strongly insist and request all muslim brothers and sisters, to enquire each and everything even about religion
when we recite Quran...when we offer prayers...go back and translate it
gain as much genuine knowledge as one can get about the various sects of Islam...from this I mean...consulting highly commendable books of these individual sects and speaking 101 with the recognized preachers or allamas or muftis...not just relying on a gossip that goes around...

Ihdinas Siratal Mustaqee. Siratalla Zeena Anamta Alaihim Ghairil Magh Dubi Alaihim Walad Dualin

Ameen

Yaar, respsect to all religions ... and we shld learn to find similarities between two sects rather than differences. Lookin at whats happening in palestine today i hope we will learn to change SOON !

Re: Ahle Tashi doing Matam

If we, any of us do something to get a sense of ecstacy out of it for our own egos then it is wrong, but we must ensure we are being honest to our beliefs first.

read Quran more carefully. And if you believe on Sunnat and tareekh then these too.

Another example of Ignorance from 1:10 onwards in the video you have posted the link to. Spoiled a perfect noha by starting matam half way through the noha.

when you say matam was done in days of ignorence and u dunt find some source in Quran stoping us from doing it then its perfectly alrite to do it .... because Quran talks about every bad thing people did in days of ignorence.

I would like to give my opinion with limited knowledge that i have & without insulting any shia that do matam:

Fair enough, you remember that Huseyn as was martyred in Muharram, but so do sunnis but we don't beat ourselves like some shias do. Doesn't islam tell us to not harm our body as it is "imanat"/gift of Allah?
Secondly why not just cry, or do zikr instead of beating ourselves?
Thirdly what happens if someone dies from beating himself so hard? would you count him as a suicide or accident?

i heared this alot that islam doent tell us to harm our bodies ... can someone get me a source where islam forbids from hurting urself ?

very reasonable questions.

First of all we do not believe that beating oneself is obligatory or wajib. The question is only the allowability. Many people cry in the majalis, many do not. Many just get up and leave after the majlis while many stay behind to do the matam. Many take it further and shed blood, large majority do not.

2nd- Body indeed is a gift of God but remmeber that soul is superior to the body. Soul expresses emotions through the body. And if these emotions are for a Just cause and for Allah (swt) then is it still wrong? Reflect on the following verses:

"Then came forward his wife in grief, she smote her face and said (what! I) An old barren woman?"
Quran 51:29

Also Hz Yaqoob (as) cried so much for Hz Yusuf (as) that he lost his eyes. Was he doing injustice to his body, nauzobillah?

Inna mal aamal o bin niyyate

Bayshak aamal ka daro madar niyyaton par hay

There are about 98% or even more of the shias, who physically hurt themselves for matam. We should therefore consider the fact that the ones who do these are no more than a very teeny tiny %age.

I have seen a far more common matam like act or BAN that is done by the people whose someone from their near and dear ones is dead. no one ssteps out to stop them from doing that. The shia azadari is keeping the Karbala alive by reminding everyone about it. Shedding tears in the remembrance of Ahl e Bait and the martrydom of Imam Hussain a.s. is far superior than crying for some worldly grief.

And who knows, Khuda ko kab kis waqt kisi ka kya amal pasand aa jay.

Qatl e Hussain(a.s) asl mein marge yazeed hay
Islam zinda hota hay har harbala kay baad

Matam doesn't hurt unless you're a wuss.

Sorry but these noha reciters who are true Muslims don't read their nohas or care for fake and fitnah-mongering Muslims like yourselves. You can go throw another tantrum because of this.

MULTI I can give you plenty of shiners on this topic but then again that will derail this thread (something you started doing on page 1).

^People do all kind of acts in the name of religion, custom or tradition all over the world.

Make a point and let people think. Everyone has a reasoning behind his/her actions which other person may not agree with.

The question could have been asked in non-threatening/condecending manner.

For centuries people have tolerated each other despite disagreemtns and majority still do. So why beat it again and again?

If adults are doing something to themselves knowingly then one can only feel bad but its just a different mindset. Now hurting little kids is not a good idea in my opinion.

Something which is so ingrained over 100's of years cannot be changed by the kind of discussion we are having. The thread seems to be getting sillier.

My point is : Disagree to a point and tolerate.

(I am sorry I am not trying to be rude to anyone)

I really do enjoy your temper tantrums. Please throw another, my fitnah-mongerer, for my enjoyment.

your body is gift of ALLAH SWT to you, and its a amanat to you, and you will be answerable about it on the day of judgement, so take good care of it through your actions as its functionality is pretty complex so we should value it wisely

second thing is your body is amanat to you from ALLAH SWT so it is up to him to ask him back when ever ALLAH SWT thinks that your time is up.
…so crying for the dead in fact the martyr’s of Karbala were shaheed, so its useless as shaheed are never dead.

besides if shia believes that they are paying respect then they should never forget no one can never be near to what they had come across.

hum loug to un ki dhool k barber bhi nahi hain. so leave the issue to ALLAH SWT.

ps. Muharram is one of the sacred months and we all must observe it modestly…and dont denote it with the shai’s only :smack:

Bismillah Hir Rahman Nir Raheem

AoA my muslim brothers and sisters

S**urely those that are martyrs are not dead but alive. But where does it say we can’t mourn for martyrs? If your brother, son, husband or someone closely realted to you goes in Jihad and gets martyred, it’s hard to believe that you will not mourn or cry for them. I hope we can agree to the fact that crying is a natural thing. Allah (swt) does not prevent us from doing any natural thing, and Islam has given us set mediums in going about carrying out these natural things. The only relevant example I’ll give at this time is the mourning that the Prophet (PBUH) and the family of the Prophet, had done for the martyrdom of Hamza (as). It is narrated that one could hear the cries from most of the houses in Medina over the death of Hazrat Hamza, and it is even written that the family of the Prophet and Hamza used to go to the house of Hamza (as) and used to cry till night. In fact if you read this next hadeeth you will realize that the Prophet (P) cried over Imam Ali (as) even when he was literally alive in this physical world:

"Hadhrath Ali narrates, 'I went out with Rasulullah (s) and saw a beautiful garden and I praised it. Rasulullah (s) said 'A better garden is waiting for you in Paradise'. Then Hadhrath Ali said, 'When the route became clear Rasulullah (s) embraced me and began to cry profusely', I asked 'O Prophet of Allah, what makes you cry?' He said 'the hearts of the Sahaba bear hatred towards you which shall open up after my death".
Ahlul Sunnah book Izalat al Khafa,**** Volume 1

Another hadeeth follows:

Imam Sadiq (as) said :"My grandfather, 'Ali b. al-Husayn (as), wept over his father for twenty years. When food was put before him, he wept." One of his retainers blamed him, saying: "I fear for you lest you should perish." So the Imam (as) kindly said to him: "I only convey my complaints and my grief to Allah, and I know from Allah what you all do not know.Ya'qub (Jacob) was a prophet from whom Allah caused one of his sons to be separated. He had twelve sons, and he knew that his son (Joseph) was still alive, he wept over him till he lost his eye sight. I looked at my father, my brothers, my uncles, and my companions (and saw them) slain all around me, so how can my grief end? Whenever I remember how Fa`tima's children were slaughtered, tears choke me. Whenever I look at my aunts and sisters, I remember how they were fleeing from one tent to another."
-Al-Muqrim, Maqtal al-Husayn
-Hulyat al-Awliya'**