Age differences

What do you think is the ideal age difference between a husband and wife? Do you agree with the view that a girl should ideally be a couple of years younger because ‘they age faster than men’?

And why is it that women don’t like to go for younger guys (given that the guy is well settled, a good earner)? I’ve never really understood the reason for that, usually guys who like older girls have little chance of winning them over.

Re: Age differences

Age difference shouldn't matter if there's attraction and love between the two.

Cuz most people dont feel comfortable going against the norms?! Although there is nothing wrong with it but i know even i would be very uncomfortable marrying someone younger than me :@:.

And i think the diff between age should not be more than 6 years. Ideal should be 3-4 but it really depends on the overall package however still i think exceeding 6 yrs of diff would be too much for me to digest :nono4:

Needless to say, opinions about the "ideal" age will vary....there's no fixed standard age difference. As with other things in desi culture.....religion allows something (like marrying a younger guy).....but society has its hang ups.....and then there are person preferences as well.

It is accepted that the man should be older than the woman and the more the age gap i think the more difference there are between them. People who are around the same age have a different mentality to others. Saying that there is people i know where the woman is older than the man.

Maybe I'm an little unsual but I don't mind going for a younger guy. I'd prefer marrying a guy who is around a year younger (maybe even 2 years, although I'm kinda iffy on that) than someone who is say 5 years older.

In the end, it boils down to compatibility. Everyone has their own preferences.

I am okay with guy 10 yrs older to me, but a guy few months younger to me … :nahi:

age has nothing to do with maturity or compatibility nor does the right age difference mean the the two will respect,care, always try to keep each other happy, try one's hardest to never hurt, and always have love for each other and put all efforts into making the relationship work.......also hopefully there's a long lasting attraction.

basically more weight should be put on important issues that make marriages work and not teeny things like age difference :P

husband 3-5 years older

you want a husband that's 3-5 years older, i always thought you were a guy...

lol...and u were right...until NOW! hehehe...just kidding...i said a husband must ideally be 3-5 years older OR a wife must be 3-5 years younger :)**

i'm a GUY and saying that on the forum for the records :)

khalil bro hai hai wonderful so just to let every single girl know that here, i would put that in bold if i were you, just so none of them miss it :hehe:

btw i was just kidding, i knew that, it just looked funny at first glance :stuck_out_tongue:

aaaaawwwwwww thankoo…u ke muNh meN ghee shakkar and haath meN sone kaa kaRaa agar me kii 2011 meN ho gaii to … va’da rahaa! :slight_smile: don’t i sound desperate enuf? ;)**

nope not at all :-)

oh achchhaa! :D iskaa matlab hai k maiN aur bhii shor machaa saktaa huN :)

suno dunyaa waalo! maiN aa rahaa huN.... :)**

i see nothing wrong with desperation:
Desperation is a necessary ingredient to learning anything, or creating anything. Period. If you ain’t desperate at some point, you ain’t interesting.
Jim Carrey

good luck with the indopak match:k: :smiley: alright let’s not derail the thread anymore :stuck_out_tongue:

Guys being married off to girls elder than them is okay in our family. There are so many couples where the guys are younger.
My dad is 3 years younger than my mom and they are the most loving couple around mashALLAH! Age doesn't matter as long you understand each other and are mature enough to handle the relation.

embarrassing is when your husband is mistaken for your dad or your wife for your daughter. other than that, a few years age difference is not a big deal. also, not women but men age faster and die sooner. they can reproduce longer than women though.

When age turns into a generation gap, yes it makes a huge difference in attitudes and compatibility. There is by no means no ideal age for marriage and compatibility is dependent on a host of factors which include age and personality but are not limited to it.

age doent matter what matters is LOVE and UNDERSTANDING
in my opinion 6-7 ya 8 not more than that