Age difference in marriage

Re: Age difference in marriage

Not an issue, as long as both of you have good understanding. Don't let go of something good just because of age difference.

One of the issues is that men have a shorter lifespan on average than women, when women marry someone older they need to make sure that person will go for regular check ups, exercise and eat healthy. Mens testosterones decline with age and thru diet and exercise one can slow down the decline. One is lifting weights. We age a lot faster as we get older. If you are in love then you have to ignore everything but if this is more an arranged thing then you can consider these points.

She's in love

**It is always the Girls choice:

Reporter asks the young 18 yr old bride marrying a 90 yr old Man:

Aap ne inme shaadi kay liye kia dekha?

Girl answers:

ek tu inki income!

aur dusray inkay din-come! **

http://gupshup.org/gs/humor-rated-g-/638191-18-yr-girl-married-90-yr.html?highlight=dincome

I don't think there should be any legal limitations in terms of age difference for marriages. HOWEVER I do support a minimum age on getting married. Some people mature sooner, some do later. But I think by 21 most people should be smart enough to make that decision for themselves. So I would set that limit at 21.

I do find marriages with age differences of 15 years and more ridiculous, because you'd never be at the same mental level. But from a strictly legal point of view they are ok. I just don't think they can really work out.

*surely you do make an exception to your ridiculously arbitrary rule for our Holy Prophet's marriage to Bibi Khadija RA, right? *

I was talking about this day and age.

@muqawwee123 Would you like to pull recent replies in new thread?

French PMs wife is 24 yrs older than him, I think he got a lot of female votes because of that. Our coach Zak who was an international athlete got beat in the half marathon by a 60 yr old chick. Depends on fitness levels.

I think the bit in bold is actually the point in some of those matches..

I would have never married someone older. My SO is about a month older and grew up within the same era watching similar movies/songs... (irrelevant examples but you get the point). We are pretty much on the same wavelength.
I did get a rista for someone older more stable/ settled but just couldn't see myself with him. There was nothing wrong with this person but I knew it wasn't going to work (age being one of the reasons)
And yes things like going out, dinners, same age group friend circle, matter. Its hard to compare a 20-30 year old with say 35-45 and so on. Things/ prioritize change as you get older.

PS: We are big in sports and I wanted my kids to grow up in the same environment. Therefore the reason of having kids early and being with someone closer in age with the same energy levels (I have had friends with older husband's complain their SO's don't run around too much with kids or get tired more easily; I never though this could be a issue but apparently it is:)

I think within + 5 is good. Anything over has to be an exception (My uncle and aunt have a 10 year gap but they get along well because my uncle is an exception to his age)

Disclaimer: There are always exceptions to the rule in both men and women.

Kind of unusual to find a desi couple who are both in sports, mostly they are both in biryanni..lol. I dig where you are coming from, I am very dedicated into sports and my wife kind of did not support the idea so it has been very hard on me.There is a biological age and a physiological age though..I have seen countless ladies where in mere 40s they get challenged with mobility and kind of waddle and have a hard time handling 3 or 4 stairs.