After Altaf?

I said in another thread that we should not wish death to anyone…it is against our religious beliefs but every report is suggesting that altaf bhai is very sick (and i wish him health)…anyway, we have discussed a lot about MQM and its past and i would like to discuss post-altaf scenario. Those who know Karachi politics intimately are particularly invited to share their viewpoint

1. is MQM structurally and organizationally strong enough to survive after altaf death or will the party weather away into several small groups ?

2. if it survives after altaf as one large group, who is most likely to lead MQM? farooq satar?

3. if MQM is weakened, will PTI able to fill in the gap after altaf bhai or muhajars will still stay away from PTI

4. what will be the the vision of MQM after altaf? a violence free party? but if it become violence free, will other violent groups let her survive who has suffered from MQM in last 30 years?

5. looks like establishment is still playing its dirty games..no one knows for sure but mustafa kamal seems to be the latest addition of establishment. what will be establishment role in karachi after altaf?

appreciate some thoughts…

Re: After Altaf?

I am not sure if "structure" is that important for an organization like MQM where the show is run by one-person... "manzil nahi rahnuma chahiye", jab rahnuma hi mar jaye gaa to tehrik ka kia karna?

That is most unlikely scenario, every 'big' name will try to claim leadership like Farooq Sattar, Hyder Abbas Rizvi etc. There will be tussle between these guys and their local supporters.

Very unlikely, PTI is seen as Pakhtun party, unless it inducts some local 'muhajir' leaders.

MQM is a 'gang', why would it give-up violence? It thrives on criminality of its 'grass-roots' members. It has trained hundreds/thousands of 'street-fighters', where are they going to go? Just drink a glass of cold water and go to sleep?

Only if Musharraf becomes MQM's head then it may become some sane party, but chances are bleak.

ok thx...so overall you think that MQM will lack one central leader after altaf and therefore may divide into separate groups with everyone claiming to be mohajar's real representative and that most of these groups will continue the fascist path and that PTI has no political future in karachi as it is viewed as a pakhtoon party by mohajirs...and that establishment will continue its dirty tricks in karachi.

very sad and scary picture but that may very well be the case. at least up-till now, our establishment has to deal with one altaf bhai who can stop or start the violence at will. everyone in mqm listens to him. once we have several small gangster type mohajar groups who will be fighting with each other and with other ethnic groups for monopoly, it will create such a mess.

Captain, PTI is not looked as Pashtun party by most people. Due to MQM's fialings, I abstained from voting but my brother voted for PTI in last elections. So did my brother in law, and so did some of my friends.

Well, yes, there might be some people who look at it as so. But it is not really the main reason people cite for not voting for PTI. At least that is not my experience.

Btw, MK also believe in need for separate province for Karachi. Some anchor mentioned that.

What does a separate province has to do with this thread?
But now that you mentioned it, what is so wrong with this suggestion any way?

what is the reason they mostly cite for not voting for pti? thx

I am also not sure what is wrong with this suggestion.

Here is one possible scenario PD.

Altaf gone. All factions merge. MK becomes party chief. Afaq Ahmed and Farooq Sattar got some senior level position. Everyone happy.

i wish things were that simple....doubt farooq satar, afaq or headhar rizvi going to accept MK as their leader....a lot of bad blood among them. all of them would like to cash altaf's legacy.

plus i heard that altaf in his will has already placed few names to run MQM including the new leader. It will be a total mess and establishment is simply ruining it by pushing MK. Mohajars will hate him as he will be seen as an establishment guy for ever from hereon...someone who betrayed altaf when he was on death bed.

I agree to an extent, there are few MQM supporters who moved away after MQM's failures and voted PTI but I know other MQM supporters who were moving away from MQM but when PTI started to make inroads they started supporting MQM even more strongly and called PTI a Pakhtoon party. Anyways, I am sure there will be people with all sorts of opinion but we will never know the actual number of MQM or PTI supporters as there will never be fair elections in Karachi (at least as long as MQM is as strong as it is today).

Mustafa Kamal's entry will simply split the party...perhaps not down the middle, but it will sever a fairly decent chunk off of Altaf's MQM. I dont see any of the resident Karachi MQMers joining hands with Mustafa Kamal any time soon. It will mainly be dissidents who left Pakistan.
After Altaf's death, his legacy will certainly live on, and no doubt MQMers will be subjected to his recorded speeches on a regular basis. But it will result in the gradual death of the 'muhajir' card that Altaf has routinely cashed on. Farooq Sattar or any of the others simply dont have the 'charm', for lack of a better word, to keep the crowds entertained.

I feel that Altaf's death will probably throw Karachi into a free-for-all situation, where MQM, MQM-MK, PTI and JI will bag votes on a somewhat proportional basis.

As he knows it is not possible without bloodshed, he is doing ethnic politics that may lead to violence as well. Ethnic politics can bring good to some individuals but it does not do good collectively. Well we also know that there is no other way to get succeeded in Karachi politics so it is what it is.

Similar reasons people have for not voting for PPP/PMLN.
I don't want to become the epitome of Karachi and its inhabitants. So I won't comment on their behalf. All I say is that I can happily share my own reasons and ensure that it is not due to PTI being a Pashtun party (which it is not anyway).

Why should there be a bloodshed? Do you think army/rangers/police don't exist in Sindh?
If a demand is not unjust then why suppress it based on assumptions? And if assumptions have basis and the demand just then why not stop the murderers and killers who will do the bloodshed?
Didn't Abul Kalam Azad say that creation of Pakistan will result in bloodshed. But did we stop? Do you think Pakistan should not have been created because Hindus/Sikhs were threatening bloodshed?

Think before you open your mouth. You have shown your racism towards Urdu speakers before, and that is the reason you don't care about Urdu speaking people being ruled by corrupt PPP waderas.

I just asked the question to expose you to others. I actually don't think creation is a separate province for Urdu speaking people will solve most of Karachi's problems.
It is better to work for dissolution of powers at local level, and development of interior Sindh.

I hope to see this one man leadership syndrome be eliminated from Pak politics. There should be no permanent leader in and party. Leader should be selected on the basis of intra party elections.
No Imran, no MK, no Nawaz, no Bilawal, no Ch. Shujaay, no Altaf.

Ok go ahead. Also If bloodshed as cost can be bore then why not get separate country which is off the record demand by MQM.

Dividing Sindh on ethinic basis is purely unjust and uncalled for. Sindhis do not deserve this treatment when your ancestors came via khokhrapar and from Punjab to settle down in Sindh, it was those very Sindhis whom you are calling waderas in a insulting way, who opened their houses and provided shelter and food.

As regard Abul Kalam Azad, you are again lying. He never said that there would be blood shed. He said if a new country was created based on Muslim majority, India would lose upper hand of Muslims in deciding the ruling factor and Muslims in India would lose most of the power they were enjoying before partition. mian read “India Wins Freedom” by Abul Kalam Azad, before attributing a lie against such respectful person.

Please don’t take it as offensive as truth is always bitter. Look how your ancestors came to Sindh and what they brought from India.

Was there bloodshed when Bhawalpur was merged in Punjab? Was there bloodshed when Bhawalpur was not restored?

and that "claim" was debunked by the claim makers (army/rangers).

wasn't there a news where altaf wanted to give his daughter the leadership of the party?