after a long time......

i’m back on gupshup after such a long time. :smiley:

i went into a state where i wasnt able to express myself or maybe everything just seem pointless to be expressed, meaningless words.

i had the shock of my lifetime when i found out my husband was having an affair. tat was some 10 mths ago. i went abt my life like as if nothin happened. i took on a full-time job to occupy my mind. i tried to find some sort of answers from ppl and on gupshup anonymously but i was still lost. nothin helped. all that kept playing in my mind was, i wanted to grow old with this man, why did he do wat he did? why did he betray me?
well, u guess it right, there are no answers. men and women simply cant think alike. u can fight for all kind of equality but no u cant mess with nature :smiley:
honestly it wasnt easy. at some point, i even lost the will to live. he was my only family besides my son. i felt so betrayed and cheated, i lost faith in everyone around me. i went in and out of depression. somedays i wanted to pack and move on. somedays i just cried myself sick wishing so hard tat he would take me in his arms and tell me its all an elaborate joke. i was affecting my son.
and all this while, he was going thru his own depression and shame. his friends and family abandoned him. we cudnt seem to support each other. i moved out for a while. it helped. at least distance kept da quarrels away. i was afraid of my own self. the way i kept bringing up his mistakes to him. i felt psychotic. tat was when i realised the mistake of putting my all in a human being.
i took responsibility of my own fall and moved on.
yeah i chose to forgive. simply cuz i understand ppl make mistakes.
maybe cuz i care too much.
or maybe i’m simply being a coward, afraid to move on to the unknown.
its not easy to identify the fears.
been married for 8 years.
he was or rather he made me believe he’s trustworthy, honest and a loving husband.
i used to go around telling ppl to trust their spouses like how i trust mine lolzz… what a joke it turned out to be!
in reality, he’s a drinker, gambler, cheat, womaniser, faithless man.
i lived with him for 7 years without realising any of the above, can u beat tat? all cuz he was leading a very convincing double life. psycho? maybe. i’m still studying his real character for wat he really is.
childhood traumas, lack of attention and low self-confidence. i know for a fact his family always put him down for his lack of intelligence, education etc.
so wats making me stay?
if he can convincingly put up a good side to me for 7 years, i’m sure there’s someone good in him somewhere?
ppl tell me to leave him and move on. yes tats an option but i’ve always believed the grass is not greener elsewhere. if i hav to leave him and struggle to get a new life why not struggle with him now and give us a new life? revenge is not my cup of tea.
anyway isnt it our duty to give a hand to those who hav fallen? strangers we’re willing to help, why not family?
yes he personally knowingly hurt me. direct stab. but doesnt tat goes to show the level of his ignorance?
he has now gave up his night job and drinking.
i can see positive progress. i have hope. honestly tat is all i have. i know i cant change him without the will of the Almighty.
when i was a teenager, i wanted to help the world. i wanted to do wat Mother Theresa was doing. I didnt hav the chance back then, maybe this is my chance?
well, wat can i say? he’s a lucky man :smiley:
pls feel free to share ur experiences and shower me with ur wisdom and advice. i need it.
married guys, i wanna hear ur opinions. if u and ur wife had to go thru something similar, wat would both of u do to make things better again?

Re: after a long time......

wow. you are a very brave soul.
i wish you luck in this!

Oh man...this is such a tough situation. Whatever decision you made, i'm sure it was for hte best. Best of luck...

Re: after a long time…

Oh man…i dont even know what to say…

What a strong woman you are. :k:

May Allah help u through this...and make this decision of yours to be in the best of interest for u and everyone....ameen...

all the best...hugz

nisa_ak,
those men who cheat, are only self deceivers.
so, be strong and know that he is getting used by other women. nothing else.
may you find comfort in the thought that you are noble and not at all pathetic as he is.
may Allah swt do justice with you. amen.
best,
Dushwari

If you have the strength to stay with this man, Allah will guide you and help you through this Ameen

May Allah bless u and give u strength, aur yaqeen karein if u succeed u dont know how many lives u would have changed :k:

wow you're a really strong woman mashallah.....it takes more to forgive someone like that and accept them back into your life than it is to leave and move on, although i'm sure leaving and moving on is hard as well
well i cant even imagine going through something like that oh wow.....if you don't mind me asking did you have a love marriage or arranged? and is your husband a relative?
anyways i hope Allah keeps giving you strength inshallah
you mentioned how you kept bringing up his mistakes to him....since you forgave him and want to start anew, don't try and bring up his mistakes again and i'm sure you already know this since you're much more experienced than I am
wow this story has really got me thinking and may Allah give all of us such strength to forgive someone who has hurt us

First of all I’m so sorry to hear that… you seem to be a very kind and forgiving woman, and what he did to you was just completely undeserved. I have to say, you are a very strong woman for staying with him despite all this. I went through something very similar… my husband went from cheating on me… having mere one night stands and little flings here and there… to suddenly getting deeply involved with, and eventually marrying, one of his flings when she got pregnant. I hope your husband learns to honor and cherish you, but I advise you to never ever let your guard down. You never know with men. Mine seemed to think that if I forgave him once, I’d always forgive him. Tell him clearly that you’re only giving him a second chance for your own sake, not for any other reason. All the best :hugz:

kinda hard to admit it....but obviously he felt he could get away with it so he must have initiated the affair. But now that he has been caught he obviously feels shame for it.

At the end of the day youve prob done the right thing by accepting him back. youve proved that your a better person, youve kept your family and your childs future in tact!

Although i must say had the shoe been on the other foot....do you think he would have been so forgiving?...i doubt it...us men seldom are!!

I'll be straightforward.

I am not a married guy, but from I know is that drinking and gambling lead to such affairs. If you want to end it once and for all than you have target his night habbits. Drinking means that he goes to bars, clubs alone or with his friends. Gambling means he is around drinks, women and women who are working...

If these two habbits are eliminated or decreased overtime than you will see a dramatic change in his life. Good luck, you are a strong person and Inshallah things will become better for your family. Ameen.

Selamat kembali Nisa. I was wondering recently about your whereabouts. Probably because of the short distance between where we live (rather lived), I have always felt that I am closer to you than anyone else here. After, reading what you have written, I don't feel sorry for you; I sort of feel proud. He is, indeed, a lucky man.

After living in the Orient for a long time, I realized that this sort of behavior is not uncommon there. Married men do such things and most of the time, women are aware of their behavior. I know a person from the same place where you live. He is a very nice guy, living with his wife and 2 kids. He does the same things, however. His wife is fully aware of his activities, but she is as happy as another married woman can be, because despite his behavior outside, he is a genuinely good husband(????) and apparently loves his family very much(????). Initially, we found it extremely strange but I guess people think differently in different places.

Obviously, despite your husband's follies, you love him. So it seems that he is a nice person. If you want to stay with him, it is your choice. The best thing is to sit with him in a completely non-hostile environment and ask him why is he doing the things he does. Try to find the truth behind his obsessions. Not being condescending or angry, try to open him up. Being the nice person he apparently is, there is a high probability that he is already sad about the state of affairs he has put his life in. The only person who can help him get out of this mess is you. Being quiet, angry, sad at him at this time will further push him in to depression and resentment and further follies.

Show him that there is a way out and you are willing to support him to come out of his darkness. However, let him know how damaged and torn you are because of his behavior. If he is a genuinely good at his heart, he will come back to you and you might find that you have unearthed a diamond out of this stone.

However, if your husband shows aggression against you and is not willing to talk, listen and improve his way (albeit gradually but definitely), I think it will be high time you think of moving on with your life without him.

Whatever you choose, may God help you with the right decision. Amen.

I think its quite common for men in pakistan that divulge in extra marital affairs!!

Ask your husband had you been in his place...would he have taken you back?

I don't think there is any need to make arguments which will not lead you anywhere.

true dat, u would ask this question only if u wanna escalate the problem :k:

wow.. i am dumbfounded. i was in shock when i read what your husband did to you but more so because you took him back. if this time around your husband cant realize your worth, he would be the most unfortunate man in this world. most women i have heard or seen will never stay with someone like that basically for the fear of being cheated on again, for the humiliation their husbands have caused them, etc etc. you're very very brave. i know it's not easy to just walk away from someone who you've been with for so long. a part of you will always keep hoping that you give him another chance because you believe that he will become a better person. it's all part of the love that you have for him. please keep making dua to Allah swt to help you make him a better person. He will help you, i am sure of that.

I am sorry!! The humiliation is only for the person who did the blunder, not her.

^ she said,
"i was affecting my son. and all this while, he was going thru his own depression and shame."
regardless of whos fault it is, the entire family suffers too. not everyone has the courage to walk around with their head held high. yes, the person who did the blunder has to face the humiliation and all but even those who love/care for him/her have to face alot of embarassment. people look at you with pity and some might even blame you. unfortunately, that's how the society works. and not many women are able to deal with it so they walk away from their cheating husbands.

Bravo ... you r strong. I totally agree with your decision. You not only saved your family but also the future of u'r child.

The only thing i m concerned is the future. We men are very bad in learning from our past mistakes. If situation remains the same, he might do it again. Change the environment around him. Be more involved. Be little bit more nosy, unless you feel that you can trust him again.

As they say 'Khilao sonay ka nawala, or dekho shaar ke nazar sa'
'Give them food of gold but keep an eye like lion' :)

Best of luck.