Q: whts wrong with ur temperment? are you trying to smack everything out of the park?
Afridi: yes ... i was in double mind.. should i play it like a test match or should i go for my natural game?
WHATTTTTTTTTTT ?? Dude.. its 80 for 5... what the f do you think you should do ? test match or natural game? is that really a dilemma?
Q: When did you make the decision to retire?
A: When I got out.
O achha? No need to think it over or discuss with the coach or the PCB. He was just mad that he cudnt clear the ropes again so he said to himself "Chor yar.. mere bus ke nai hai.. I should retire"....
Asif.... sure.. it was an honest interview... he also said that he was not too keen on test cricket from the beginning but took up the captaincy because PCB asked.. that shouldn't have happened to begin with.. but I guess what else do you expect from PCB? If cricketers were running the PCB they would understand that it makes no sense to force Afridi to go back to tests just because he did well in T20s and a few ODIs.... but when its politicians who don't have much cricket knowledge then the thinking becomes "hes done well in ODI and t20.. chal yar.. test bhi try karle"...
I am just saying honest or not he is still brainless :D
. but I guess what else do you expect from PCB? If cricketers were running the PCB they would understand that it makes no sense to force Afridi to go back to tests just because he did well in T20s and a few ODIs.... but when its politicians who don't have much cricket knowledge then the thinking becomes "hes done well in ODI and t20.. chal yar.. test bhi try karle"...
Correction.. Cricketers should not run PCB or for that matter any cricket board. The board must be run by business minded people who should take care of the corporate affairs and take business decisions. Most of the cricketers are simply not qualifed enough to run a cricket board.
Then there comes the selection panel which must consist of cricketers who have good sense of the game. Board chairman and manager of the national team should be the last person to even think of intervening in selection issues.
Unfortunately PCB is run by a 70+ years old baba with no idea how to run it, has severe verbal diarrhea and absolutely loves to stick his butt in team selection issues.
Q: When did you make the decision to retire?
A: When I got out.
Lol! I am speechless.
The guy acknowledged that he is not capable of playing Test cricket. There could have been a better way and time, however the guy is not capable of understanding that little formality either. oh well, thanks for walking out...you are one of a kind.
Correction.. Cricketers should not run PCB or for that matter any cricket board. The board must be run by business minded people who should take care of the corporate affairs and take business decisions. Most of the cricketers are simply not qualifed enough to run a cricket board.
Then there comes the selection panel which must consist of cricketers who have good sense of the game. Board chairman and manager of the national team should be the last person to even think of intervening in selection issues.
Unfortunately PCB is run by a 70+ years old baba with no idea how to run it, has severe verbal diarrhea and absolutely loves to stick his butt in team selection issues.
fkhan.. you are right to an extent.. it should probably be a mixture of ex cricketers and business minded executives (not necessarily politicians)..
when i said "wht else do u expect from PCB" it was aimed at both the ppl running the PCB and the selectors... this one was a selection goof but in an organization like PCB the problem is that the ppl running it are also part time selectors.. they call players and ask them to be the captain etc etc... with i dont know how much consultation with the selectors..