Afridi: star or slogger?(Merged)

Afridi has shown capabilits agaisnt express pace. I remember him hitting brett lee for three fours in an over square of the wicket in C&U 2000. He doesnt have technique to cope with extra swinging delieveries. But kindly enlighthen me which batsmen has it??. When the ball si jagging around off te seam, 98% of the batsmen get out. So why blame Afridi alone?

He used to be a front foot player initially but he improved his style and learnt how to pull/hook. His hook for Six off McGrath off the first ball in Nairobi last year is one example and again he did that agsint Ntini in secod one dayer in SA just recently. He just needs to choose his shots.

He’s a slogger but he’s a good batsman as well. he can really hit the ball hard and score runs quickly.:k:

I think he has been around long enough for us to finally Not Care about his tactics.

You could say he's grown onto us now.

"He hooked 1 ball for six"......."he hit 3 fours of Brett Lee ONCE....", guys these far and between events are not the mark of a classy player!

He is on par with Hick, hits 1 good knock in 100 and the pakistani ppl blow it out of proportion. This guy is nothing but a walking wicket, and if he laucnhes India on flat tracks for the odd ton-so what?

I swear I can score against India's pace attack-and I only have school level cricket experience. Is Tinu Youhannan such a threat that hitting a ton against them makes him a star!?

On abilities against swinging deliveries:

His name is up there in the cricket stars, he single handedly drew a test series against Australia in 1999 with back to back TEST scores of 213, 153* and 100 (of 77 balls), his average ton is second only to the massively over rated Bradman, and this blitz was following up from scpores of 277 against Australia in 1993, plus a small matter of 375. His average in the swinging conditions of England and Australia is top, and he produces match winning knocks when the chips are down. The finest player of pace in the world, the man who has won more tests alone then any other modern day test match batsman-his name is BRIAN CHARLES LARA-that is a legend.

Other players have the skill too, the ones who do are called "great"-the rest are fast forgotten-enter Shahid Afridi.

Loser :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: You’re saying he’s scared?? He aint scared of no one…the guy has confidence and guts to play any bowling attack in the world. Frankly speaking…you’re the only one acting like a loser right now :hehe:

Yeah he showed his bravery when he took his eyes of the short ball from Gough, turned his back and let it hit him in the helmet!

Was that a new technique only the brilliant Pakistani batsmen know?

I forget more about Cricket in any one day then you'll ever actually know-(yet still knowing countless times more then you) plz dont embarress yourself further. Recall how I was 100% right on the Pak-SA tour, 4-1/2-0 -you all laughed then-until you were shut up by the patheticness of your heros. :rotfl"

Wow dude.. You have some serious problems with Afrdi. Aap ki bakri to nahi chra li us ne. On a more serious note could you please quit typing fancy words without backing it up with some stats. The highest average ton after Bradman is that of a PAKISATNI named ZAHEER ABBAS . Ofcourse unlike you I will back it up with a link.

Click here to be surprised

Now in test cricket Lara’s average is way below the average of Tendulkar, hell his average is right there with Inzi so why not call Inzi a legend. Oh but wait he is Pakistani so you cant call him a legend. Anyway I personally believe Tendulkar is closer to the word Legend than Lara.

Ok lets try using your style of writing…Afrid just did that ONCE…that doesnt mean he is scared!! just like you said he pulled a ball for six ONCE…he only did this ONCE too…think before you type mr. Mo_best…and dont think ur such a genius jus cuz you were rite ONCE :hehe:

mo-best....u sound funny...coz u dunno what the hell are you talking about........telling us he hit six fours n all that n he is not a classy player...if ur just against him u can say that he is a great player but i don't like him coz im a....whatever
but he is still the best...it doesn't matter what you say....he is a great player....n when u talk about fear...u sound stupid so let's stop it here....n i dunno y the rest r wastin there time trying to correct u
NO OFFENCE brother

Ok little man, go to sleep.

Afridi is a legend, me and the worlds cricketing pundits are wrong-your right. He's better then Lara and Sachin, Pakistan are the best-they will storm the world cup and Afridi will lead the way.

Happy now?

Just wait until the world cup-and when I am right AGAIN on Afridi, I will parade the "I was right again" mask here........

Is Afridi good at tests or ODI's?

This is for all of you who insist of Shahid Afridi's class:

Test Record:

Matches: 14
Runs: 780
Ave: 32

H/S : 141 v India

Ducks: 4 (as opposed to 2 hundreds)

ODI:

Matches: 173
Runs: 3871
Ave: 24!!!!!

H/S: 109 (V India)
100's: 3 (India, NZL and SRL)

Ducks: 14

Yes, he is truly a class act. He's BRILLIANT against pace, his average of 13 against Australia underscores that.

He also averages 13 in world cup games.

This is your hero.

:rotfl"

Plz hurry and prove me wrong, esp you brothers who insist I know nothing. I look foward to reading your arguments about how this is all made up-well check the www.cricinfo.com statsguru for confirmation.

A joker-pure and utter joker!

This is the man you compared to IVA Richards, plz tell me where the similarities lie so I can try to spot them. Viv and Afridi have so much in common.......

:rotfl"

Inzi is a fantastic player,I have always spoken highly of him. As for Lara, he is in a different league-Inzi is great, but BCL can win a whole series on his own-not even Sachin is able to do this-sachin crumbles under pressure when Lara doesnt.

As for Zaheer, perhaps. I will check that and then rely, if it is true it is hardly evidence in his being better then Lara-by all accounts, even IMRAN KHAN, Big Z was a crap player of short pitched fast bowling, to quote Viv in Sir Viv (autobiography)..."He was simply scared".

Sit down.

i am working on Afridi V Bradman rightnow. I'd come back with the stats soon to shush u up.

Afridi roc all the way from kashmir to karachi baby.

*Originally posted by Spitfire: *
mo-best....u sound funny...coz u dunno what the hell are you talking about........telling us he hit six fours n all that n he is not a classy player...if ur just against him u can say that he is a great player but i don't like him coz im a....whatever
but he is still the best...it doesn't matter what you say....he is a great player....n when u talk about fear...u sound stupid so let's stop it here....n i dunno y the rest r wastin there time trying to correct u
NO OFFENCE brother

No point in argueing with such a loser like moe_best. You're right....we're just wasting time to correct someone who ignores the facts and lives in his own loner world.

Arey Pathan Bhai..kyun apna time zaaya ker rahe ho. Let Moe_best enjoy himself thinking “He is always right!” :hehe:

*Originally posted by yaasir: *

..... someone who ignores the facts and lives in his own loner world.

I wouldnt go that far bro. Its only net :)

First you wanna rely on what the cricket pundits say and cause they say Afrdi is not a great player so they must be right. Now those same people named Zaheer the Asian Bradman but now for some reason they are wrong. Dude u just wanna believe what u want to, it doesnt matter what someone says or proves.

This time he is.

viv and afridi same????
u gotta be kidding....
it will be centuries before there can be another batsman like afridi....
he guy is unique in all ways....
dont compare him to anyone....