Afridi removed as ODI captain as Misbah will lead in Ireland (All threads merged)

Re: Afridi dropped from Ireland tour?/PCB decides to dump Afridi

Osman got it right - :k:
“The chairman has been quiet for a few months and it has been bliss. Now he has stirred again, underlining once again as if it was needed, that he might struggle to run a chalkboard, let alone a cricket board.”

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/515791.html

Bhai khush ho jao Misbah captain ban gaya :smiley:

^^ did you drink what Ijaz butt drank?

who wanted Misbah to be captain of ODI team? - he is ok for tests.

Captained in 34 ODIs
WON - 18
LOST - 15
NR - 1

f PAKISTAN qualified for SF of T-20 and ODI WC under his captaincy !!

Its not about misbah being the captain its about Afridi removed from captaincy :@:

yeah..so...what's your point?

did you want him removed?

That is SUCH A brilliant article! Afridi should have been disciplined but the way he has been removed tells you everything that is wrong with Pakistan cricket! Ijaz butt..

Afridi was stupid in airing it out publicly. Waqar was stupid to interfere too much. but these are solvable issues. Afridi IS valuable as a player to the team and not his most ardent critics can deny that. Now I do not see how there will NOT be any divisions in the team.

I am beyond pi$$ed.

Of course not........

Ok afridi wasnt disciplined if he violated the rules then give him punishment according to the rules …not according to his dumb a** brain :smack:

Bhaiyoun. Bottom line is...Misbah got rewarded for making us lose the Semi Final to India.

Homi, If misbah's batting was the reason we lost the SF, then I can think of about atleast 100+ matches where Afridi did not bat while thinking for Team Pakistan. Would you disagree?

OK guys - multiple sides to this:
Afridi was replaced but why Misbah?
Answer:
1. Jerko Butt claims that he has killed player power, so he pounces on Afridi
2. Butts is scared that the if he appoints a junior upcoming player such as hafeez as a Captain, then because Hafeez is too knew, the team may start losing ODI games left and right - hence he planned to save face till his end of contract by appointing a "GO BETWEEN" captain of Misbah "the senior test captain".
3. By taking the above action, phatto jee Ijaazz butts thinks he may be able to prolong his tenure by hoping that Misbah may work wonders with the team.
4. He has no decision making power to select a good batting coach for the team.

If he was sincere to the cause of cricket in Pakistan (which he is not - no doubts about it) he would have appointed a young guy until the next WC.

a young captain was appointed after the 07 WC only to be back stabbed by seniors who thought captaincy should not be given to young player no matter how promising that individual be as a future captain. Those seniors gave(and still give) a rat's ass to Pakistan cricket and its future.

One irnonic thing that I see if Hafeez is given captaincy in future is that he was given consistent chances in the team since mid last year when he was a proven tried tested and failed international cricketr since 2003 - 2009 (and now after being given constant chances he has improved a bit), it was done to keep another player out of team, ( whose batting skills were (with the slump of form he was in last september) same as Hafeez, who could bowl 4, 5 overs of off spin and was best fielder in the team), because that player could have been a theart to Afridi's captaincy. And now that Hafeez, who was given chances to keep that player out, is being expected to be next captain....How ironic!

Guys, no matter who is the captain - can we all please finally admit that our team is a mediocre side that has been in a constant decline for several years.

You measure how good you are by the amount of wins you get and also against who you get those wins. When was the last time Pakistan has won a series against a top side like Australia, India, South Africa, England - even Sri Lanka?

We are rated so poorly in the rankings because we ARE that poor.

During Butt's reign, we have continued to slide downhill on a continous basis, 20-20 world cup performances and reaching the WC semis nonwithstanding.

As much as I hate to say it, Butt is the problem but so are we - the majority of Pakistani fans. We have gotten used to mediocrity and when our team continues to display pathetic performances, we get upset for a bit then forget about it and become overly optimistic for the next game!

We need to hold the PCB and the players accountable for their performances...after all this is OUR national side.

Having a 37 year old as a ODI captain is the most ridiculous thing you can ever do...no country will pull a stunt like this. But no country is Pakistan - we are continuously coming up with one ridiculous decision after another.

Not to say Afridi was Imran Khan or even Wasim Akram, but still to replace him with Misbah is ridiculous.

Do you mean Razzaq?

yaar, Razzaq ki bowling slow ho gayee hay lekin itni bhi nahi:

:cb:

oh..I missed that part…:frowning:

tau kis kee baat kar rahay hau :konfused:

oh naheen yaar…not politician Mr. Malik…come on…there is no way Malik could have justified his position in the team…atleast boom boom wickets tau leta tha…Malik tau na wickets leta tha aur na 30 runs say ziyadah kar sakta tha…siraf fielding say kaam naheen chalta…

Anothet fan of the Great Politician Malik :smack:

Yeah ur right …:frusty:

i say it again and again ..... 2 ODI series won against Average and Mediocre Side and we r in a mess again coz the Coach-Captain-PCB Combo found the urgent need to release some hot air from the back side ..... result is sh***** which stinks

My opinion: It's not Lack of talent, opportunity but rather the overall mindset of Players who make it to national Side and manage to make the headlines for the right reason ..... mostly this success gets to head and we as fans are part of the problem and so is the money that follows them ..... the money BTW follows them only to attract more Money (direct endorsement and News Channel breaking stories and pushing adverts in between) .....

So if u see it from a Business POV then almost any News regarding these players ultimately results in Money making for one or the other and some cases the Player itself

If u see it from a sporting POV representing ur Country at International Level Where u r not Malik, Butt, Afridi or Misbah but the Captain of the Pakistani Side well then u gotta ask urself is that all we've to offer as Country of 180+ Millions ...... is that the "Créme de la Créme" of Pakistan and it's Cricket ..... If the Answer is yes then one has to admit that they ultimately represent the status of the society/culture itself

Embarrassing to say the least

Solution is as simple (to write) as much difficult to implement. Heal the Society = Heal the Country = Heal the Cricket