Soak some basmati rice in cold water after rinsing several times.
Fry a chopped onion in oil until golden brown and remove the onion from the pan. Grind it into a rough pulp. Use the same oil to brown some lamb cubes. Add a cup or so of water, salt and pepper and simmer untill the meat is tender. Once the meat is cooked, remove it from the broth and add the ground onion pulp to the stock. Cook untill its reduced down to around a cup of stock.
Heat a couple of spoons of oil in a pan and use it to cook a couple of carrots that have been chopped into matchsticks (or grate them if you can’t be bothered with all that chopping). Cook the carrots in oil until tender and add a large handful of raisins and continue to cook untill the raisins have plumped up and the carrots are light brown. Drain the oil from the carrot and raisin mixture and set aside.
Parboil the rice, drain and place the rice back into a large saucepan. Sprinkle with cumin and saffron. Add the meat stock and stir lightly. Place a layer of the meat and half of the carrots and raisins mixture over the rice and place a tight fitting lid onto the saucepan. Place the saucepan into a hot oven for around 40 mins.
When serving, sprinkle the remainder of the carrots and raisins over the top of the rice and any oil left from cooking the carrot mixture.
And in true Blue Peter style, here’s one I made earlier…
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Baloni is aalo ka paratha, right? Shahreen, post a recipe plus pic too. You are very sughaRh, masha allah.
Faisal bhai its a special kind of aaloo ka paratha...its a lil bit more crunchy and the stuffing has different spices
oh, not baloni...BO LA NEE :)
the best bolani i had in my life was at Solang Pass, Fremont...u guys shud try it for sure!!!
I have eaten Bolani (or BO LA NI) many times.. in Afghan Restaurants here. They treat it as an appetizer, though considering their huge sevring size, it could very well be deemed as main entree. Anyway, quite tasty. Looks and taste just like an aalo ka paratha, though. Though the filling tastes a bit different. But I chalked it up as a different recipe.
Mantu are steamed meat parcel wrapped in pastry, and served poured with a yogurt type sauce and chickpeas. Its a pretty long winded process, not hard but just fiddly.
*Originally posted by Shahreen: *
Mantu are steamed meat parcel wrapped in pastry, and served poured with a yogurt type sauce and chickpeas. Its a pretty long winded process, not hard but just fiddly.
i ate Mantu once yaar but i dint like it that much...dint have a distinct flavor...i guess i'll just have to try some made by you :D
Faisal bhai i hope you have tried Solang Pass in Fremont..? you MUST go there with your whole family!!! they even have those gow takiya seating arrangements...you can sit on the carpet...its sooo cool!! you, bhabi n kids will really love it!!!
[QUOTE] Originally posted by irem: *
**Faisal* bhai i hope you have tried Solang Pass in Fremont..? you MUST go there with your whole family!!! they even have those gow takiya seating arrangements...you can sit on the carpet...its sooo cool!! you, bhabi n kids will really love it!!!
Yeah.. we have eaten at Salang Pass many times, though the wait time at weekends can be long. Afghan Village in Newark is also a nice option. Their Bolani is probably 2'x2' in size.
BTW the owner of solang pass is VERY kanjoos…when my mom was there, we went to eat there and my mom really liked the chutni so she asked him if he could give us some extra and can u believe how rude he was, he said we’ll have to pay FIVE DOLLARS for that small amount of chutni…whereas in pakistan they would have just given it like that…so my mom said thanks but its ok…can u imagine Faisal bhai!!!
i’ve been to Afghan village too and Afghan palace…all are quite good :k:
SHAHREEN i’m asking our maid to make kabuli pulao today and i’ll ask her to make bolani when u post the bolani recipe… and maybe Mantu too…!!
yummy cant wait thanks so much for the recipes!!! and mashallah for ur sugharness my mom would love u!!!