Adopting while single?

I always thought that if I wasn’t married by 30, I’d try to adopt a baby/child. I’ve always wanted children…they are one of the greatest joys in life.

Would you adopt a child if you were single and just didn’t meet Mr./Mrs. Right?

I was watching The View the other day and they showed a single lady in her 40’s that adopted the most adorable guatamalan baby ever. She and her toddler seemed SO happy…it was beautiful watching it.

You’re thoughts?

Re: Adopting while single?

This is what I had thought too.But Is it allowed?

do it of you can handle the stigma.
30? … :eek:

But why should there be a stigma attached to it?

If I had not found Mr. Right by 30...why should I deprive myself of the one thing I have ALWAYS wanted more than anything (even more than a husband)?

And before anyone says that children should be raised by a father and mother...I will say yes it is the most ideal situation...however there are so many children that are raised by a single parent and still get all the love, care and support they need. I myself was raised by a single mother and I couldn't have asked for a better mom...she is my world.

there shouldn't be ... but there is. fact of life.
however, best way to erase any stigma is to take it head on.

c'mon you can find a good man, not all guys are like me

Adopt me adopt me adopt me adopt me adopt me jumping with both hands in the air :wave:

for sureee....i extremely love kids and if i dont get married by a certain age then i'll definitely adopt a kid inshAllah...

as for stigma?....what kind of stigma are we talking about here?....

and why do we have to care for "stigma" that is totally based on the pathetic mentality of people?...

I support adoption, but I would ideally want to adopt with a husband who can be a father to that child. I also agree with your view, that why deprive yourself of motherhood if you want that more than marriage. I would suggest waiting until you're past early 30s.

What stigma? Adoption should not be equated to drinking, premarital sex, etc. If she'll be a single mother, it doesn't mean she gave birth to the kid out of wedlock. She'll have adoption papers to prove it.

we don’t want a 30 yr old kid :emmy:

Totally agree.. I've always wanted to adopt, would like to do it after I'm married but if it didn't happen I would prob still try and go ahead with it anyway. As long as the person is stable (financially and emotionally) I don't think there's a problem.. We know of a single desi woman of 36/37 who is looking to adopt right now..

Why shouldnt it be allowed?

I would have.....why not...if I were financially stable, why not. Then again I'd adopt now too.

As for stigma and ppl will talk and all that...let them talk.....ppl talk if a couple adopts....if they dont have kids, have kids too close together, too many kids etc etc

i thought maybe the govt doent allow tht:hmmm:

‘0’ is in front :smack:

Its 03 :snooty:

hallucinations :cb:

Raising a child alone as a single parent is a bad idea.

why?

*I'm sorry but that's just weird. *

Will just list two problems which the parent might have to face here. There are ofcourse alot more I could list. But only two on the parents side should be good for now I guess.

Income will be a problem. You have to provide for the child after all or do you expect the state to pay for you? Alot of stress might be the second problem for the single parent, If they do decide to work and take care for their child at the same time. ( I mean later when the kid starts to go to kindergarten/school etc.) I hope you do know how stress can affect our behaviour.

Don't even get me started on what Problems the child will have to go through...

Obviously the adoption agency will assess the financial situation of the single parent. I'm sure there is a minimum salary you must be making to even qualify as a single parent.

I get it two incomes are better than one....but my income alone Mashallah is quite decent...in fact it is equivalent to many families dual incomes...and I work for the gov't so I have job security.

I am not stupid....I would never even attempt this if I didn't think I could provide for a child. Also, you mention stress....stress comes with all relationships. It is no more or less with single parent familes or two parent families.