Adopting From Pakistan

Anyone tried doing this? What are the hurdles, roadblocks?

Just met a girl some months ago in Pakistan who was there for adoption purposes, and she said they were making her stay in karachi for 4 months for investigations before they handed a kid to her.

Re: Adopting From Pakistan

You mean a human child ?

Adoption is such a sweet sweet thing. It just melts my heart when I learn of people who do that. I pray to allah that more and more people do that.

Sorry for the off topic reply PCG

Well I'd love to, whether or not I get married. I just don't know who I need to talk to, etc, and how long the process takes. Not sure if I need to start working on it now.

PCG, I do know of some pakistani families that have adopted children from Karachi,, and what from what I heard, it is a very lengthy and expensive process. Your best bet would be to consult an immigration attourney that has experience in the matter, and has proven cases that ended positively.

Based on what I know from couple of other guppie friends of mine who have done that in other countries, 4 months seems to be in line with what it takes to internationally adopt a child

There was a poster on here who mentioned she had or was planning to adopt from Pakistan (Princess something I think?).. Should be in the parenting section if you want to do a search..

There was a really good documentary here in the UK about a celeb/presenter called Saira Khan who also adopted a baby from Pak.. She managed it even tho she had a non-Muslim husband which I didn't realise was possible.. might be on Youtube..

PCG dude you are going to be in with the little thing for whole your life...
I mean what difficult is 4 month trial ? heen ?? chalo saman bandho aur pakistan chalo...

well it's a work issue; i can't just pick up for 4 months and move to another country ; i'll lose my job.

anyone also have any info on the expense involved in the process?

And any info on adoptions locally of muslim children - like stupid 16 yr old muslim girls that get pregnant and families force them to give up the kid, etc.

4 months is much shorter than 9 months.

Pakistan Adoption

Check out this link…I still recommend you consult a local attorney for real time advice

Pakistan Adoption (Process for USA)

U know some time they make grils from abroad change pammers of thier babies for 4 months... then they say
"no we changed our mind"

and that makes their kid Muslim? :D

well, yes. why not? what's the kids fault?

btwwww. i too wanna adopt one dayyyyyyyyy

8-10,000 dollars is the estimate per that website??

Ok, that's like 10 moonlighting nights. Done. Bam. Gonna make this my goal over the next 5 years or so.

Here's the thing. Not to guilt trip anyone. I work hard for my money, and inshallah, I'll save up enough for this over the next few years.

But honestly - pakistani families often spend that much on a trip to Pakistan solely meant to establish that year's wardrobe for the daughters in the family for purposes of rishta hunting (very common around where I grew up). Can you imagine how many babies can be adopted with all that money?

Agreed!

I know of a few people who have gone to Pak for adoption and 4 months seems right on the mark.