NEW DELHI: Pakistan-born singer Adnan Sami, known as the fastest piano player in the world, wishes to become an Indian.
Home ministry officials said Sami, 28, who rose to the top of the Indian music charts with his recent hit Lift Kara De, made the request to Home Minister Lal Krishna Advani in Dubai this month, ministry officials said Tuesday.
“He asked for citizenship,” said an official. He said the singer’s application would be viewed on merits. “Many Pakistan-born persons have applied and secured Indian citizenship before.”
An accomplished concert pianist, the Mumbai-based Sami turned songwriter and composer with his latest album, which has taken the Indian popular music scene by storm. He has signed up with a record company in Mumbai and has a few films lined up.
Based in Toronto, Canada, he has won many international awards. He was given a special UN award for a song he wrote and performed in Africa.
His tryst with India began when he became the first to play Indian classical music on the electric Piano. He has recorded songs with Indian artists like Asha Bhonsle and Hariharan.
Sami has also featured in a documentary commissioned by the British government that listed him among 10 people from the Indian subcontinent who have influenced Asian culture in Britain over the last 50 years. http://www.timesofindia.com/today/11ente2.htm
heck, let him do it. He is a good artist and wants to be where he is appreciated. What is diff b/w him and some doctor moving to US and getting citizenship here?
Please continue to listen to shehzad roys and saleem javed’s of the world and lets keep rejecting our other talented people
pir saab, obviously you dont get wot the undertone to Adnan samis action is, he isnt going to India becos the music scene is more condusive, heck, why didnt he come to the US, where talent, no matter creed, gets its day, he soimply went to india (if the reports are true) to spike pakis..thats basically all there is to it…well good luck to him, becos i can guarantee in a couple of years hell be back…they all are..of his calibre..read:salma agha(ewww), mohsin khan (ewwwX2)..zeba bakhtiar (ewwwX3)
I agree, but let him go. The fact is that we did not really appreciate him as much as we should have, artists have large egos and I personally cant be sure if he wants to go just cuz her may get more appreciation there, or just make more money.
I dont care either way, if he makes good music, I will get it, if he does not whether he lives in india, burundi or bahamas, i aint buyin it.
hmmmmmm! Durango reminds ne of another fellow Guppie! MOHABBAT putting up these posts that are off no use yet always siding India.
I say let the man be an Indian Citizen. We could feed ten more mouths in Pakistan considering the amount of food Masha Allah Adnan consumes to be so Healthy!
On a serious note, I think why Adnan is doing such a thing is because he is pissed off at the Pakistan government as for the first time Pakistani government served justice and got his child and gave it to the Mother Zeba.
So its not the matter of being an Indian Nationality is like getting a green card. Its just because he is bitter. Fine go to India. We have Nadeem Jafferi who can take Adnan's place and we wont even know the difference!
Lets pray that he gets his Indian nationality before he chokes on his own fat! .. well according to well placed sources Adnan Sami Khan (now Ajit Sadhu Katker) has following the Jenni-Crap massive fat loss diet 13 step plan .. whereby in the 6th step he gets to move to move to a vegetarian country …. One of the topics that will be dominating in the up coming Pak-Indo summit will be the food ration levels in India.. Veggie-Pie (to quote Adnan Sami ..”yummy’) is very concerned … a special cage is being built in Mumbay(formerly Bombay) National Zoo .. where he will be accommodated next to elephants and hippos … good luck Ajit and behave while you are there .. (he has a crush Lota oops I mean
Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go
Actually his music has been more appreciated in India - so more so than it ever will in pak (( I mean hardly any people knew who he was and now coz of LIFT KARADAY bacha bacha knows…)) .. maybe thats why he wants to go but I dont understand why he wants citizenship to do that???
well, if the fat guy wants to be an indian, heck let him be an indian. wateva reasons he is doing it for, wether he wants his own back on pakistani gov or cos he wants to be where he is more appreciated, i'll just say good luck to him n just wait till he cums crawling back again.
maybe Pakistanies need to learn how to appreciate there talent more, to avoid more traitors.
wesay acha hai, ab pakistan kay aur logon ko feed kiya jaiga, then his one fat self, may be un mein say koi aur esa talented nikal aye.
He is very fat, there's no doubt about that. Can't say I ever noticed this guy much before. If Sajjad Ali or Hadiqa Kiyani were to seek Indian citizenship - now that would be a blow.
Anyway, if you're reading this, good luck in India fatso.