Adding Random People on Facebook

Ok, so this has become an issue in our generation of internet networking websites…

If some random desi person of the opposite sex adds you as a “friend” and you dont know them…they’re not like some person in town who is in school with your or in some organization that maybe just wanted to introduce themselves…they’re not like anyone you would know, really. What are your thoughts on such a person?

And is it permissable to add a random friend of a friend, who you’ve never met? Or are they going to think you’re interested for shaadi/romance purposes?

What is acceptable social behavior in these situations?

I only add people who are in my family and who I talk to on a daily/regular basis, otherwise I don't accept any random add requests.

Re: Adding Random People on Facebook

i don't like random people trying to add me, and i never add them. i also have very high privacy settings to avoid weirdos

PCG blame it on your profile picture . He could not resist sending your a friendship request . I would say accept it and see how it goes :p

PCG ne humain to kabhi add nhai kiya apne account main ..

iss ko kehtay hain, apnon ko daanto, ghairon ko baanto

I would accept (or send) a friend request if we had several friends in common.

One of the people on my list has over 2000 people on her friend list, woh bhi all stupid fobby guys, and they all add me :smack:

shakes head

I ask this because lately there is a mother and her son, who have both tried adding me. The mom is some old lady living in another city. First she tried to add me with one name. Then I get another request from a woman - same first name, different last name - same picture on the screen. Her son is adding me as well, and what I usually do when unknown people add me is I ask them if I know them from somewhere (cuz sometimes you meet people and you forget). So, he's like, oh I was interested in this org you're starting. Ok, theek hai, I added him. But then he starts adding himself to a facebook group of my new employment site...

And I'm like...are you going to be working there too?

No.

Then why did you add yourself to that group?

Oh...I know some people who are going to work over there...

(Fat chance.)

Ok, like who? Anyone who I might be working with later?

He still hasn't responded. Bit of a weirdo so I unadded him. And I refuse to add his mom.

Another case scenario - friend of mine was chewed out for friend-requesting a dude who knew a family member of hers. She was basically interested, thought he was cute, and figured it's a good "networking opportunitty". He contacted her family and asked why she's adding random strangers, for which her family was so annoyed with her and told her "quit looking desperate". She came to me asking whether I thought she looked desperate...and I was like...welll, I guess if you're NOT desi, people don't necessarily assume you're rishtaa hunting...but these are Pakistani men we're talking about.

So, for sure, I figure that if you add yourself onto someone's profile and he/she is desi, they're going to think you're just being a classless perv.

But I don't know if non-desis have the same policies when it comes to randomly being added by people on facebook. I don't know. My friend INSISTED, that this was purely networking only, and I just didn't have the heart to tell her...nope, you look desperate.

i only add people whom i know n sometimes i ask them if i know them.............even if they r from same school or college or anything if i dont know them i dont add them..........

I get tons of random friend requests on a daily basis. If I don't know them, they get blocked immediately. It's as simple as that. I don't care how many friends we have in common, why add someone you've never met or talked to.

People that add randoms and accept randoms actually having major insecurity issues. They want to feel popular in the "virtual world" and show off all "virtual friends" they have on their list. rolls eyes

you are in someone's good books. order your wedding dress already. mom will show up at your door with methiee k tokrey any time

I do not add anybody to my face book, I am the only one who writes on my wall and then replies to it. I like to talk to only intelligent people. :snooty:

I think that person is weird and desparate. and I reject it.

Only have real life friends on my Facebook which i use once every few years.

I agree - seems like stalkerish behavior

I get a lot of random requests everyday and I do not add any of them, even if it shows we have mutual friends. I actually don't even msg them to ask who they are and how they know me.

If you don't know someone, dont add them.

LMAO… i dont blame u with the amount of weirdos on facebuk.

Until i started putting family pictures on my facebook. I deleted every single person i only have about 60 friends on there now. My profile is restricted and privacy is very high. No one can add me. Only i can add them. I think i've even hidden my picture not sure about that one. But i presume it is. And im glad i hid it. I would get retarded messages. And unlike some people instead of moaning about it, I would hide my profile, It saves alot of grief!

Oh and to answer your question, Yes add whoever you want but dont moan about it when this freak starts commenting on pics/messaging you etc.
Its simple block/delete/ Hide profile.

if someone add me and i don't know them... i send them private message... .. k jee bahi .. kon hain aap? ... and so on..

coz i take facebook as my replication of my real life.. my whole family.. from 10 years old to 60 years old present their.. .... so.. yeh

lol would you be speaking of people who add you and then leave a weird message like this...

"HI this z me zohaib ....m really thirsty of a sweet friend like u,,,waiting for ur reply"

hahah I reject random people all the time. Unless I've talked with or met the person, they won't be on my facebook.

But my friend's cousin got married to a guy who randomly added her on Facebook lol so you never know!

What really annoys me is that facebook changed their privacy settings recently so now profile pictures are visible on profile search results. Before, my name just came up with that question mark as the picture.

So now I get even more weirdo's sending me messages and friend requests. I just report all the obscene messages and block the people who try to add me again and again. I don't bother accepting people I don't know.