ACNE =(

i took adoxa...my doc prescribed me...oh another thing i forgot he also told me to use clinagel...woh pimples per laganey k liye day and night...where do u live?

Oh no, you have to keep using Accutane until you see a difference. People take accutane for about 1-2 years because your skin gets worse before it gets better

sorry :(

And girls, PLEASE make sure your pillow sheets are changed often, use clean towels, make sure you're not allergic to any fabric softeners/cleaners/detergents. Drink a lot of water, avoid coffe, soda, etc. Those things make a difference, believe it or not.

And ya, I would recommend not scrubbing like alvena said, it's gonna aggravate your skin even more.

You need something to dry your pimples out and it's gonna suck at first cause you'll have flaky skin but after 1-2 months you should have only scars...also- doxy is strong so you'll have to stay outta the sun and it changes your pigmentation too, or maybe that's just if you're outside.

Re: ACNE =(

meru, I live in Karachi.
I used Accutane for 4 months and my skin's gotten so much worse than it's ever been! I feel weird going out, knowing ppl will comment on my skin (and they always do). I just ended my course of Accutane. I'm getting married early next yr and I need the side effects of the drugs to wear off before then. Can't take it anymore. I'm thinking of asking my doc for a course of antibiotics again, at least then my skin will be clear inshaAllah for my wedding!

yaar accutane to bht severe acne cases mei prescribed ki jati hai...go to some reputable docter and ask him about adoxa too...leken eveybuddy has different types maybe tumhey na suit kere...but go see the doc..
when i used my medicince mjhey istrha koi naye hua tha k fiirst they came out (the pimples) and then they started clearing...i just took the medication like he prescribed me and gradually all the pimples were gone and ab atey be nayee only small spots sumtines hre and there tht r not even noticable...meri main problem whiteheads ki thi..reddish sey pimples...but now im all good

mashaAllah:) do you live in Karachi? Can you give me the name of a good dermatologist? The one I go to is quite reputable too.. I guess every patient is different. Some get cured easily, others not.

yaar i live in lahore..yei to problem hai thts y i asked k where do u live...ager lahore mei hoti to appointmnt be leker deti...lolzz...i go to DR Tahir saeed Haroon...meri next appointmnt is after ramzan..dont stress out koi aur doc try keru...phle research kerna achi trha logo sey puchna abt doc...phr jana...mere doc ney mjhey pepsies cokes sey be perhaiz kerney ko kaha tha..aur ye koi bara masla nayee treat hojaye ga dont worry u just need the right thing :)

Please don't begin any medications unless you've seen a derm or have shown u're skin/condition to someone that knows what they're talking abt. We all have diff skin compositions and one strength that works on one..coul cause scarring on another.

Accutane is often the last resort to solve acne.. for now, do NOT wash u're face too often of scrub it more than 2 times a week.. products with witch hazel, salicylic acid and benzoyl peroxide are u're friends.

Keep u're hands OFF u're face

Use an anti-bacterial facewash or one with salicylic acid.. and a topical antibiotic ointment.

SO retin-A is a priscription drug or over the counter kinda thing? My mom never had a single pimple her whole life. My sisters though did have acne in their teens i guess. But me, my skin was soooo clean and clear, until now =( i only scrub at night when im in shower.
So yea ive noticed its the blackheads that are kind of forming into acne. But if i get a facial, i cant get a steam cause with that i breakout even more :( i have an oily skin. So i guess i shudnt use dettol. =/

help me ladies! its sooo embarrasing walking in the hallways in skool with the acne! even the foundation doesnt cover it :(
i wish to live no more :(

Yeah it gets worse and than better. You should have given it more time IMO. You can't just leave courses like that in the middle, it make your immune system go whack. But yah, you should have waited at least another 2-3 months

Prescription.. it's normal some people get acne in their mid-30's..

Just a quick note about roaccutane: I have a cousin who has had acne for years. Nothing ever worked on her until she consulted a dermatologist who started her on roacc. I can honestly say that the first couple of months for her were the absolute worst. Her entire face was filled with acne; some if it was even cystic and very painful. She was extremely disheartened but we all urged her to continue with the drug and now MA her skin has cleared up beautifully. She is still taking the course but her acne has lessened considerably. She still gets a few pimples here and there but NOTHING compared to what it is.

So girls, don't give up on roacc..I know a few people who have taken it and it is an amazing drug with wonderful results. The initial flare up period is the worst but it has to get worse before it gets better..that's just all the acne coming out at once. If it really bothers you, you can ask your derm. to prescribe antibiotics with the roacc so that the flare up period isn't as bad. Roacc. also stays in your blood for a few years and it helps clear up acne scars too. Also while taking roacc make sure you follow your dr's instructions about having a good diet, etc.

hey whats this VLCC gel???name some store in pindi islamabad where you can get it from..... n u sure they dont leave scars then?? i already got 4 pink circles on my cheek :( n they look ugly

I can't continue with the Roaccutane treatment. I'm getting married at the start of next yr and I need the side effects to wear off. I'll just ask my derm to prescribe an antibiotic. And let's see, maybe leaving the roaccutane will make my acne slightly better when it won't be in my system any longer.

^ Be sure to mention everything to u're derm.. ask them for an alternative he/she may prescribe a short-course of antibiotics.. and a combination of ointments to use. Inshallah it will get better.

Went to my derm today and he was surprised as to why the roacc and diane 35 weren't working at all. He's stopped the roacc and prescribed 1 more cycle of diane. Plus a course of Minoderm (minocycline). And Arinac forte (no idea why he prescribed this). PLUS 2 ointments to use. One has tea tree oil in it and smells nice :)
Thanks for the support and advice! Will update if skin starts to improve.

try multani mitti, i treid it, its very good.

i also have this problem of acne for the last some yrs. and believe me i had DOXYDAR for almost 1 yr. twice daily and i had lush-push skin...i was very happy with my skin..the lady dr. also recommended me some lotion to put on the skin twice daily...i was kinda careless about putting things on my face and i am still like that..anyway..i had that medicine for almost 1 yr and then when i stopped it..my acne came back..since then i am not having any medicine for this problem..and its like let it be the way it is...but i do put some topical creams or solution and lotion whatever...and i found out Tea Tree oil is not my thing...also Clean and clear spot reducing 4 hr gel doesn't do any good to ur skin...yeah clean and clear facewash is very good..it actually dries the pimples...BUT its recommended to be used not more than once daily..now how come u wash ur face just once daily..i wash my face like 2-3 times in one day..but now i have switched to CETAPHIL and its very good non-irritating...Himalaya Herbal Neem Facewash and T-Cone fazool facewash yeh dono wastage of money he hain..they did't do any good to my pimples:-/

i had roacc. before my marriage but woi left the treatment bcz my skin got so much bad ..my mother said yeh to pehlay say b kharab hogaye hai to phir chor di aur baad mai doxydar ki story hui...but i have seen jo b med. lo wo jub tuk khatay raho tub tuk skin clear rehti hai..chor do to phir woi old story:-/

another dr told me to go for DIANE 35 but again wo b risky hai bcz its basically a birth control pill and for married women daikh kr he lainee chiyea..pata nai mainay kitni kitni med. khaa li hain iss chukker mai..and ub to mainay chor dia hai...

aur paani peenay say KOI FURK NAI PERTA..believe me mai daily 3 ltr. paani peeti hon...but chocolates aur dates make ur acne bad...so try to avoid these...but drs. yeh baat nai maantay k inn say kuch hota hai...

Fade out cream ka b suna tha k skin clear kr daitee hai...i dont think but kia kisi nay acne ko clear krnay k liay use ki hai?

aur herbal treatment to bilkul he baykaar hotay hain...atleast mujhe suit nai krtay...neem ka kurwa paani peenay say b furk per ata hai...but jub mainay aisa kia tha to meray arms pur red nishaan say agaye thay..chor dia peena to khatum..

oye meri multani try multani mitti:whistling:

I can so much feel ur frustration and pain.. 2 months ago i got severe cystic acne due to stresss... my face was a disaster.. that made me even more stressed and induced even more acne..

I didnt want to take any antibiotics.. and particularly not accutane or birth control pills.. so moved onto natural and herbal stuff.. Ok the the first thing i did was to get my hormones checked.. its just a simple blood test by which you can check ur testosterone and progesterone levels.. many times the adult acne is hormonal and usually due to high male hormones. My test alhamdullialah came out fine. This way i could rule out the possibility of having hormonal acne. and can concentrate on my diet and the stuff i wud be using to control acne. I'm outlining a few things that i am using, i use many so dont remember all. please DO try these out I'm currently using them and seeing good results.

DIET:
Diet has a lot to do with acne.. You have to figure out urself what breaks you out.. stop any kind of dairy for a while and see if it helps. Eat greeen vegetables, brocolli, cabbage etc.. drink plenty of water to keep ur skin hydrated.

Vitamins and minerals (supplements):
*Vitamin B3 No Flush Niacin - (Inositol Hexanicotinate) 500 mg tablet no more than that, helps significantly with acne .. take it with a capsule of vitamin B Complex
* 50mg zinc once a day after a meal is amazing for acne
* Take fish oil

Herbal stuff for acne:
* Essential oils: My absolute favourite.. oils like oregano, neem and manuka are amazing for cysts and zits. Do not apply on whole face as they might clog pores buttt definitly best for spot treating. With neem the cyst just shrinks back.. isnt that amazing.

• Sea salt: mix sea salt in water and apply on zits..

For red marks:
* Olive oil: Dab extra virgin olive oil on red/ brown marks.. helps in pigmentation. DO not rub into the whole face, will clog pores.. (never trust any OIL)

• Lemon juice: i used lemon juice, but it dried my face and broke me out real BAD..

• Apple cider vinegar (ACV): I just cant emphasize enough how good it is. Either drinking two teaspoons in a glass of juice or applying it on face. Both works wonders to ur skin. I apply ACV, by diluting it in water 1 to 1 ratio, and leave overnight, helps in redusing red marks and pigmentation. Drinking it is good for digestion and for skin too.

Other than that:

exercise twice a weeek..
sleep atleast 8 hours..
dring water..
avoid dairy ..

cut down sugar..

drink green tea, camomile tea..
ice ur face to relieve inflamation (very helpful)
use honey mask to calm ur face
try to find natural and holistic ways to cure ur acne