acha khana kaysay banaoun :(

Re: acha khana kaysay banaoun :(

Do not use the masala from the packets or bottle she uses for her cooking , she has mislabeled them. For reference say that episode of Everybody Loves Raymond where Debra cooks something following a recipe of Ray's mother but it still does not turn out good because Marie had mislabeled the spice bottles on purpose to sabotage Debra.

A guy went to a restaurant and ordered breakfast like this:

One burnt toast , one half cooked egg , one extremely bitter chai.
Waiter asked what is wrong with you.
they guy said I am feeling home sick , "mujhay amma yaad aa rahi hay"

hunni_buney ,

Have you asked your husband what is missing in your khana?

I faced the same thing you are facing, my inlaws like their food red, with oil on top, lots of masalas. It doesn't matter if it is sabzi or daal or ghosht it has to be masaleydaar.

In my ammi's home we had sabzi that was not cooked till it turned to mush, it was very very hard for me in the beginning too and so much so that even my hubby didn't care much for my food. What I did was I tried different recipes, like instead of making biryani like they made I made kachhay ghosht kee biryani, or roast chicken so they weren't able to compare it to their khana and that helped a lot. They either liked the dish or they didn't but at least they were not comparing. My khana has become a lot more masaley daar than my mom's khana but I still try to keep the oil, and spices within control.

It takes a long time for your hubby/inlaws to get used to your way of cooking. Just hang in there and do try bajiascooking on youtube. I watch her videos when I want to cook something traditional and hubby usually loves food cooked her way. It appeals to his taste buds.

I think u should cook with your mil. Help her with cutting the stuff but watch how she does it. If u do it a few times with her, you will get the jist of how much masalas n dahi wagera she puts in as well as bhoonifying the masala. Then have her supervise u cooking so she can tell u what u r doing right n what u can fix. I learn recipes easier by watching then just attempting one from the book. And maybe ur fil can also be a little forgiving perhaps :)

all r gud and hv sensible answer. i like all. some wr funny but gud.
Wt i hv got that ur MIL is nt guiding u rightly. feeling smell of sazish. caz all time she checks u while cooking. phr kabhi acha aur kabhi wrong. means yah tho bhoona prob ya phr they r nt doing with u. u hv to patience and try to knw wt they want exactly rightly.
I am saying this, caz my cousin can make khanna well and great. but she started living with jethani then daily kit bit. like mirchain zaida ya oil zaida bla blah. reason is when she comes out of kitchen after ready the meal, her jethani went and add either oil, or mirchain blah blah.
so just check.

I am also very worried abut my cooking. and my MIL says when u come here, thou kitchen tum nay sambhalna hai.
My prob is that my namak , mirchian ka pata nahi chalta kitna dalon. It always zaida or kam. any advice??????/

^Amaya, I have the same problem, and what I usually do is cook with less namak and mirch and when the salan is almost done I taste and adjust it towards the end. With hubby I don't even do that I just serve less mirch and namak wala khana, he likes his food extra salty so he just adds more salt at meal time.

thank you so much for all the kind answers :)

thank you for the chicken and fish recipe and i am surely refer to bajiascooking on youtube.

It's just strange i dont know, sometimes everyone thinks the khana is fine but FIL doesnt like that.... so as a result my MIL and jeethani do not let me cook on dawats, and all the time i am doing the dishes, cutting, frying, grinding etc etc and at the end of dawat the dear guests always ask who cooked what? and i get so sad when my MIL n jeethani tell them they did all the work... they dont even bother saying i helped them all the way through :"(

so i just calm myself down, and try to realize its gonna be like this forever sigh

BUT i will not lose hope lol :) thank you the suggestions, its just sometimes i get so sad and upset.... but well ab kuch nahi ho sakta :)

he tips given by chickenbiryani for frying onions was great :)

JazakAllah everyoneeeeeeee

Happy Cooking to all :)

Luvvvv!!

And i am glad to read there are lots of bahu's out there like me :D