Accepting homosexuals

Re: Accepting homosexuals

Really, you ought to get out more. Or at least read up on the subject. The modern world is evolving and so are attitudes toward homosexuality - religious and social. Homosexuality is being recognized around the globe as a legitimate lifestyle, including gays as church leaders, recognition of same sex unions, adoption rights, protection under law, etc. Besides, the Abrahamic religions and the fundamentalists that follow them do not have a monopoly on the definition of "morality". I happen to think the hatred spewed in the name of fundamentalism more immoral than someone living in a mongamous, same-sex relationship.

Homosexuality is not a recent phenomena, you can find stories of old nation(s) destroyed because they indulged in homo-activities. What you term as "forward thinking group" are the ones who are ready to give up their faith for their personal whims/desires, they are not really followers of religion but followers of their own desire who chose to call themselves followers of a religion, some are born into a follower family.
People used to quote scripture to validate slavery and the suppression of women too, until very recently. (Actually some still do). Of course homosexuality has been around forever. And until very recently, because of the way it was viewed, a homosexual had to have sex in alleyways and practice other promiscuous and immoral activities because it was not accepted as an alternative lifestyle.

But again it is *your *definition of religion that says others are giving up their faith for personal whims. You are speaking from the standpoint of a religion that hasn't undergone any type of modernization or reformation for over a thousand years. Why you may think that makes your religious beliefs valid, God-ordained and the only true religion, you are in the minority. Others see it as out-dated and irrelevant. So it is a matter of perspective. It is probably a foreign concept to you, but the majority of the world doesn't have to have one book with one thought, one interpretation, and no independent thought to make their religion valid.

pichle page par padhiye na; issi thread main hai :-P

yaar is thread main tau lambi lambi taqreerain chal rahai hain,i`m lost, agar takleef na hoo tau dobara pooch lain?

nahi yaar takleef kaisi, ye bhi koi kaam hai, hain!?

ye lain:

i've got a question regarding this and actually some1 asked me this question aswell which im confused and dnt know about...

Qaum e Lut was destroyed because they were transgressors!! they did what was/is forbidden!!! like drinking, fornication etc. are forbidden but people commit these sins; they';re addicted to them etc and they choose to do/commit them!!

but nowadays we see that not all homos choose to be that way; they are made that way; its beyond just being physical for them; its a relationship for them just as between a man and a woman!! i.e. they do not choose to be homos.. when they know how the society sees them etc etc why would they choose to be that way!!

how does one interpret the rulings of Islam regarding the matter in this context?

No need to go out just to find out that because some govt officials are in closet and some are out of closet or if there is growing population is forcing people to accept them as "moral"... there are somethings good about democracy and somethings bad... this particular aspect shows the bad part that if you are able to gather around more people like you than you can get legalized anything you want. Why homos are getting protection and getting "accepted" is because it is being shoved down people's throat, because of their growing numbers etc. The "monopoly" will remain as long as they are practicing and in "majority", just like "democracy" (majority rules).

But again it is *your *definition of religion that says others are giving up their faith for personal whims. You are speaking from the standpoint of a religion that hasn't undergone any type of modernization or reformation for over a thousand years. Why you may think that makes your religious beliefs valid, God-ordained and the only true religion, you are in the minority. Others see it as out-dated and irrelevant. So it is a matter of perspective. It is probably a foreign concept to you, but the majority of the world doesn't have to have one book with one thought, one interpretation, and no independent thought to make their religion valid.
Even "Hinduism" whose followers say that this is always-evolving religion so far have not accepted homosexuality as "moral"/"alternative lifestyle".... and no that is not Abrahamic religion, your example of gay Church bishops/ministers is still not a good one as still they are not fully accepted they are still facing strong opposition from people or other churches.

Growing population :hehe: Did womens’ rights come about because of their growing population? Gays will always represent a certain % of the population. Now the numbers of *practicing *homosexuals that decide to live outside of the closet may increase, but that’s only because it is becoming more accepted and they can live their lives as God made them.

Many people still think it is immoral to mix races or religions in marriage. Many countries still give rights to only those who follow a certain religion. So the whole world and all religions are still developing. Some quicker than others.

Women used to shove their views about about equality down peoples’ throats and so have minorities to get the rights to vote, etc. No one is talking about legalizing anything you want. They are talking about equal rights, just as the modern world has granted women and minorities.

And gay Church leaders ARE a good example because a few years ago it would have been unheard of. The thesis is that attitudes are evolving, not evolved.

Would it have been possible to achieve current “status” if there were like 10 gays in the country? I am sure not!

Nope, THEY chose to be.

Well, there are people people who think wearing clothing is sin too, but who is counting them?

There are certain things that can evolve in a religion and there are certain things that are not supposed to be evolving. God-sent Religions are supposed to stay that way, human being is allowed to modify which is not “prohibited” or “commanded” but sadly some people think that religion are your tools and toys.

Of course not, but there are more gays than that currently cutting hair in the salon down the street. They represent a sizable portion of the population and their numbers are not growing outside of normal population growth rates.

Nope, THEY chose to be.
Nope they didn't.

Well, there are people people who think wearing clothing is sin too, but who is counting them?
I suppose if you don't realize that people are born with pre-disposed sexual orientation you could make that silly comparison.
There are certain things that can evolve in a religion and there are certain things that are not supposed to be evolving. God-sent Religions are supposed to stay that way, human being is allowed to modify which is not "prohibited" or "commanded" but sadly some people think that religion are your tools and toys.
And sadly to others, some people take ancient texts revealed to barbarians thousands of years ago as literal instructions that can be applied to all future generations of man. People have all different kinds of interpretations of religion. All religions are God-sent. Everyone's spirituality is God-sent. To some that means following literal translations, for others it doesn't. And since most of the world it doesn't, attitudes are changing toward gays and other groups that have been on the losing end of the stick with organized religion up to this point.