Absurdity Continues

Warning: The Following Rant may cause some indigestion of the facts. Proceed with caution

Okay. I am all for Musharraf’s philosophy on extremists. When he went military on Lal masjid goons, I sided with him. I said he was correct. I still stand by that.

Here’s what I don’t agree with, and I am so MAD that this is happening, all in the name of emergency.

If you’re going to get on TV and tell me that you’re suspending constitutional law and firing a bunch of judges so that you can fight the terrorists more easily, then FINE. But then do what you’re going to say. I wanted to wake up this morning, and find top profile terrorists being caught and arrested, or running for the mountains to share a dhoti with Osama Bin Laden and the rest of the NutJob Team. I did NOT want to wake up this morning and find that peaceful protestors are in jail and under house arrest. I did not want to see journalists and lawyers and human right activists getting jailed. Lawyers, I could have tolerated to some degree - sometimes they need a good kick in the arse anyway. But journalists? HUMAN RIGHTS ACTIVISTS???

Asma Jehangir is under house arrest. Apart from criticizing the government in their moves regarding Lal Masjid (mainly on how they waited it out to use it in their favor because they were in political heat), she hasn’t really done that much damage to Mush. So why is she under house arrest?

Why are terrorists not under house arrest? Why aren’t MMA officials who have been instrumental in spreading Islamic fitna in the NWFP under house arrest? Its because of them that little girls are being banned from school, that polio vaccines have been deemed a conspiracy to population control, and musicians in a musically rich pukhtoon culture have been repressed. Those fanatics should be under house arrest, not civilians who simply report the news and who advocate for human rights.

VERY DISAPPOINTING, Mr. Musharraf, VERY DISAPPOINTING.

I had better open up the newspaper tomorrow, and instead of seeing pictures of jaahil police beating the crap out of peaceful protestors, see police beating the crap out of terrorists who want everyone to go back to living in 600 A.D.

Asma is under house arrest. That’s where I draw the line, and Musharraf crossed it.

Re: Absurdity Continues

I'm waiting for the day when Asma Aunty criticizes Don Altaf!

FOR ONCE.....and I say again...FOR ONCE...I agree with PCG 100%.

Even I had thought that the day after emergency was imposed, Musharaff would go berserk and declare an all out war on terrorism...raids would be conducted, nutjobs rounded up etc etc

But so far I haven't read about anything new on that front.....its more of the same....

Maybe I was just naive in believing Mushy's justification for the emergency......its early days I know...but it is already beginning to seem that the declaration was motivated by only his poilitical ambitions...nothing more.

power hungry madman is on the loose. somebody's gotta put him down and that time is comming very soon.

It's been such an embarassing time so far, oh man. some of my collegues and supervisors were asking me what is goin on in Pakistan? obviously video clips of military check posts in Islamabad, police manhandling civilans on BBC America, images in NY Times, Post and News other media outlets are making people think what kind of uncivliazed and lawless this country is? and top things off they have nuclear weapons. It's like a gun in a kid's hand.

HA HA HA…i hope they never let her out of the house…EVER!!! :k: :AID:

Or the paramilitary attacks on Karachi...... She is rather mum on those topics.
maybe her pen ran out of ink when that was going on...or when Jamaat e islami people were being harassed, beaten and kileld by MQM terrorists, she still stayed quiet. Maybe she did not consider those people human enough to fight for their human rights. Maybe ebcause they were religious and she has always been against anything remotely religious.

also she takes cases on the bases of WHO CAN PAY THE HIGHEST OR WHO CAN BE A WALKING ADVERTISEMENT FOR US. other than that to heck with humans and their rights. she is a champion for the corrupt who do all the human rights abuses and keep her purse warm. :halo: :stuck_out_tongue:

waise bhi deads have no rights. so once government kill innocent ppl they give up their rights and so asma n co can’t do anything for them.

only fact i can think of is that you support the indiscriminate killings of the innocents by the government. you support heavy hand inhumane treatment of the lawyers bcos you have ENOUGH TOLERANCE in yourself to tolerate their inhumane treatment BUT you CANNOT TOLERATE asma jehangir being house arrested. well too bad..she is just like any other crook in a position of authority. and if others have to suffer under madman mushy then wht makes her special to get special treatment? for once i'm happy that a deserving person is under house arrest. she's done more to fill up her bank accounts than to help those who need help.

2 Likes

ask her about human rights of children who were working in her factories a few years ago, and then when that was made public she denied it while quickly shuffling the workers. media dropped the issue but ask anyone whose factory was in teh vicinity of her factory and ask them did they or did they not see child workers there. And then she talks about evils of child labor. hypocrisy at its finest.

you are 100% right about which cases she takes, its for money or for publicity. shameful. And everytime she opens her mouth about religion she spews incorrect information that the gullible western media laps up. While she talks on honor killing and rape cases liek mukhtaran mais, if its not making foriegn press, she is not touching that case. But that is typical for pakistan, even for human rights activits we get 2 numberis.

excellent point.
she is nothign more than the other con artists in Pakistan who form NGos and foundations to get aid money, live off it, do nothing and blame the system for lack of results. She is just more successful at doing it. book deals, awards, all expense paid foriegn trips. and what does she have to show for it? what does she do that a geo or aaj reporter does not do.

Late salalhuddin of Takbir did more to showcase human rights violations and injustices in Pakistan and paid the price for it after getting assassinated by MQM terrorists, just like hakemm said of humdurd did.

She is among those thousands of bored burger aunties who need to do something so become show-saw-l worker. this crackpot just hit the jackpot.

the absurdity is that her con is not caught by human rights groups yet. and they give her awards for compiling press clippings and giving basic statements that a caveman could give "military bad, democracy good, religious doctrines bad, madar-pidar azaad good" etc

**Chairperson HRCP Ms. Asma Jahangir is in-house arrest for 90 days since the day Mushraf declared emergency situation in Pakistan.

http://www.hrcp-web.org/P_releases.cfm

**only 90 days…:ASA…aur rola aise paya hua hai jaise asma ko space main baand kar diya hai…:rolleyes:

Musharraf has even traded arrested terrorists for captured soldiers today (I thought he accused the CJ of the same) What do you have to say to all this. http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/05/top4.htm

Is this not double standards? I have been saying this all along that all his narra against extremism is one big drama. He (and any dictator for that matter) will only ever take cosmetic or token measures and I doubt his sincerity in eliminating the extremist threat. He needs Taleban and their like to keep his kursi in power.

I agree. Terrorists need to be shown the full force of military power. Anything less will only embolden them, while their cheerleaders (as evident from this very thread) will continue to propagate the lies that dead terrorists are actually innocent children.

there is a difference between trading some terrorists versus just letting them go.

These terrorists are now known, information they know is beaten out of them, to save teh lives of military men, I am sure if it was your brother who was captured you would have been fine with the trade.

and I dont understand people’e deal with asma jahengeer, let her be.

The topi drama and excuses of "emergency" will be clear pretty soon.

I am ambivalent about exchanging people engaged in terrorism activities for soldiers. You need soldiers, you can't just let them die. What message would this send to soldiers fighting when they hear Mush didn't take up the trade?

Rebel X makes a good point.

However, once you've got them, and there is no need to trade them, they should be given proper punishment. People involved in the Lal Masjid nonsense were just let go. They should have been imprisoned. They came over from all over from their villages, threw a tantrum in the capitol and held a 2 week drama that had businesses and civilians in Islamabad suffering the consequences. Someone has to pay for that, and if you start letting people go, you're telling civilians that "your suspended time and business and daily life activities are not important to us"

If I was a civilian living in Islamabad during that episode I would have been so ANGRY at the Lal Masjid goons for taking up my time with that charade. People were shot at by these chor chakays taking a masjid hostage, not to mention the immense damage that the image of Islam suffered nationally and internationally.

But look, like I said in my initial post, I want to open up papers and see terrorists getting nabbed. Enough is enough. If they're spending all this time and energy in capturing a couple hundred people - those people had better not be civilian reporters, lawyers, and activists - they were doing their job. We can agree or not agree with them, but they were doing their job, and they weren't engaging in illegal activity. If Asma Jehangir has engaged in illegal activity by working kids in her factory (is that even against Pakistani law???), then she should be jailed for that reason. She's NEVER been jailed for that reason - she's always gotten in trouble with the government because she's criticized the government. That's not an acceptable reason to get in trouble!

People have a natural right to protest. As long as they're doing it peacefully, let them.

Meanwhile, you have Taliban and civilians in NWFP joining in who are protesting in an entirely HARMFUL way, and who the hell is throwing them in jail? No jee, administrators pray namaz next to those goons. They have no shame if they're not going after them!

Musharraf had better have a bunch of these moronic idiots in jail and the top brasses being shipped off to gitmo, instead of sending innocent scapegoats like they've been doing thus far. Otherwise, this whole emergency business has no legitimacy. He might as well fire everyone and just admit on TV that "Yeah, I want to lead you guys for a couple more years, and US has my back even if they're not publicly admitting it, and that's that".

If you can first prove that the people CJ let go were terrorists then you have a point. Just because Mush claims that they were terrorists does not mean much...he would say that would n't he to malign the CJ.

You are still looking for reasons! Even a layman in Pakistan knows why Mush imposed the martial law....merely to get rid of the CJ and avoid a Supreme Court decision ruling him ineligible for another presidential term (verdict was 3-8 against him as per some accounts)

CJ let the asswipes from lal masjid go free.
but oh yeah they were shareef bacchay
and angels came and killed the commandos.
and i dont need mucharraf to tell me that the bhagora burqa posh ghazi, his wife and other assorted morons who surrendered at the very end were anything but terrorists.

now go ahead and call them shareef seedhay sadhay Allah walay log or run on some other tangent.

If anyone still thinks that Mushrraf is doing all this b/c he loves Pakistan more than his kursi...may God help you.