Abrar Ul Haq warned

Abrar again undertakes not to sing Nach Punjaban song http://www.syberwurx.com/nation/daily/today/national/lhr3.htm
LAHORE- In pursuance of the Court call, folk-pop singer Abrarul Haq appeared before the Lahore High Court on Tuesday to undertake through his counsel not to sing Nach Punjaban Nach any more or allow its broadcast or picturisation.
Deciding a supplementary issue, the Court also directed the Federal Government to ensure strict implementation of the parts of the Shariat Act of 1991 that pertain to adopting steps for curbing obscenity and vulgarity in the society.
The court required the government to submit a report within three months as to what measures have been taken to enforce the Act provisions for the said purpose.
The issue about the said song, included in a latest 2002 hit album of Abrar was placed before the Court through a petition filed by Fauzia Adeeb Javedani represented by advocate M.D. Tahir.
Mr Justice Ijaz Ahmad Choudhary while hearing the petition last time had sought appearance of Abrar, Jamshed Zafar producer of the film Kaun Banega Karor Pati, that was alleged to have included the song, representatives of the PTV, the PBC etc. The order was obeyed.
In order to seek a complete ban on the song and a ‘strict’ punishment under the law to the singer, Mr Tahir tried to contend that the song is an open disgrace to the Punjabi women who still are known for their piety and nobility.
He was also aggrieved of the singer who according to him had never sung to project and that the gallantry of the Muslim heroes like Tipu Sultan and that the principal themes of his songs always touched upon the line where the young generation is prone to learn nothing but dancing and chauvinistic sentiments instead of imbibing the spirit of jihad or sacrifices.
The counsel cited various articles of the constitution, sections of the Pakistan Penal Code, of Anti-terrorism Act and Shariat Act of 1991. He said the singer despite he undertaking given earlier to the court, sung the song at a Peshawar function where this song also occasioned a brawl between two groups. The counsel also showed to the court a news clipping regarding picturisation of the same song in the said film. The counsel not only pleaded for a complete ban on the song but also award of severe punishment under the high treason law to the singer.
Azam Nazir Tarar advocate for Abrarul Haq countered the petition and said the song did not bear any ill-will towards anyone or that his client had never intended to harm the national interest. He said as undertaken earlier his client did not sing that song any more nor has the same been sold out for picturisation. Tarar said while addressing a Press conference Abrar had himself asserted that he had recast the song with a new theme which is alienated from the previous one. He said his client had committed no offence under the law by singing this song for which he could be punished. He prayed to the court to dismiss the petition.
Representing the PTV and PBC, Deputy Attorney General Muhammad Nawaz Bhatti said at the government level, the broadcast of the said song is banned following undertaking given to the court.
He said if on the touchstone of Shariat Act, the court has taken the impression that song is spreading vulgarity in the society, it may take it as a separate issue and pass directions. However he said the Radio and PTV are taking maximum care not to promote or encourage vulgarity or obscenity in the society and they both are strictly observing the code of ethics in this regard.
Appearing the Punjab Government, advocate Muhammad Shan Gull appeared and said the song in question did not cause any violation of the law. He lauded the humanitarian services of Abrarul Haq and said this noble soul was laying aside a major chunk of income from shows, for the construction of a big hospital in Narowal where the poor will be given free treatment. According to him, the young generation is big fan of Abrar and the people of every class want to see him singing.
Shan said no charge was made out against the singer or others so the petition may be dismissed. The court after hearing the parties and in view of the undertaking by the respondents disposed of the petition with a direction to the Federal Government. -By Sajid Zia

Sad to think that had he raped a Punjaban instead he would have probably gotten away with it but not the song.

Abrar, if you read this, I bid $5000 to buy your record and I will picturize it with Punjabans being raped, beaten, cheated, made saukans and treated like dogs by their men with your song playing in the back ground....

nach Punjabnay nach, zalimaN de ishareyaN te nach.

Is it available at Muzique .Com ???or any other site .

I dont think Pakistan govt can prevent it being released to the world & make itself in from outside like everything smuggled into Pakistan .

I think even Pak govt ,know that but still for principles sake they have to do it LIKE in India Patwardhans movie WAR & PEACE is banned which is against nuclear bomb,(a policy of Indian govt.) and they want to show their opposition to it .

Wohi Hota Hai Jo Munzoore Khuda Hota Hai … :nahna:

Woho, This thing is talking about Sharia, jihad, tipu sultan and national interests in one go, what has national interested got to do do with Abarar’s song? Paise kama raha hai, hopefully tax dega, nation ka faidah. This case should be dismissed, hadd hai only for the word punjaban which is replaced my majajan anyway.

CM, you can give those $5000 to me and download this song from Kaza or brainNet for free

[This message has been edited by sabah (edited July 31, 2002).]

What exactly is said in the song that caused so much outrage. Pakistan has become a society that is a lot more Westernised not for the better. National interests are Westernisation and allowing American companies in a'la Mcdonalds, Pizza Hut etc and the TV is full of Western programs.
I just find it strange that theie is outrage over a song which although is contradictory of a society we would like to see is in reality what society probably is if he is talking about the lack of piety and nobility which is abundant in the liberal circles then i think banning his song is contradictory to other actions which go towards Westernisation.

Sabah, in that case can you star in my video for free also?:)

Kee jawab ditta aay Chann ji :) Meiko kuch hor likhaN dee himmat ee nai payee.

Whoops!! sorry wrong forum..I was typin two posts at the same time lol...
sorry guys..anyways about Abrar..I think the song shouldn't be banned i9t wasn't his fault anyways, it was the stupid governor of NWFP, what kind of silly thing is it to play that song on the 100th centenary of NWFP's formation???..Some Leaders need their head examined, while it's a fine song..it had nothing to do with the ceremony and I guess some hot heads lost their cool and a fight started.

Zakk, can you elaborate on the episode in detail? Who played the song, when and why the fight broke?

that's true - the govt sees women raped, beaten, and harassed every day - and yet that doesn't contest national interest?

And that's in perfect accordance with the sharia right?

RIGHT...

ROTFLAMO!!!

This is TOO funny. I cannot believed they played this Punjabi chauvinist song on the occasion of Pashtoonistan’s centennial celebration!! No wonder a fight broke out. What the frick would Pashtoons care about such a retarded Panjabi song anyway? Pretty insulting if you ask me. I would have loved to be their and seen the faces of the people hearing this pathetic song on such an occasion.

Boy are things messed up in Pakistan! Anyway, next song from Abrar should be “Naach Jihadi Naach”, keeping with the overall spirit of Pakistan.

[This message has been edited by Maula Baksh (edited July 31, 2002).]

aaho nach jihadi nach baRha hit rahega...

nach jihadi nach
par bumbaN kolloN bach.

Bush waaja wajaaway,
Chenny dhol te dagga laawe,
Powell miTha miTha gaawe,
bolay jhooTh te lagda sach....
nach jihadi nach....

uttoN Mushy apna bhai,
Ram Ram hai ooproN layee,
wichoN jaawe chhuri chalayee,
andero ander rahi ay mach...
nach jihadi nach......

this is rediculous....waste of tax payers money... why don't these "champions of morality" go do something about all those women that are being victimized....

It's sad really, the event was for the 100th anniversery of the creation of NWFP. The Governor of NWFP is not a Pashtun, but that doesn't mean he should be insensitive to locals. This big event was organised, but Abrar was invited as the main singer. Again I say, theres nothing wrong with him as a singer, but snubbing local singers was a stupid thing to do, I wasn't there at the time, but apparently a scuffle broke out when he started singing.

Sad really...if the organisers had a bit of brains and some sensitivity it should never have happened.

Abrar is a Pakistani singer and as such there is no reason why he shouldn't sing at the NWFP. He's appeared at Melas in the UK and I've seen no shortage of Afghans, Kosovans and Kashmiris only too happy to let themselves go at the time.

Shezad Roy and Hadiqa Kiyani are from Karachi, I don't see Punjabis protesting against their singing in Punjab. Abrar really had to appear in Lahore high court? Is the high court cut off from the rest of society in Lahore or are they living in a different city to the one I saw a few years back?

Zakk, I see...since it was NWFP function they should have given preference to local artists. Abrar singing that song in that particularly function certainly sounds in bad taste..I can see some locals getting angry at that...at the same time singing nach punjaban nach in a predominantly non-punjabi audience might have offended some punjabis present there too. Even then why ban the song for everyone else who wants to listen to it. It is not like no one has said "nach ni Punjabnay" before...many of our folklore has such songs about Punjabans dancing so what is the big deal here in this song?

Originally posted by Zakk:
*The Governor of NWFP is not a Pashtun, but that doesn't mean he should be insensitive to locals. *
He's not? I didn't know that. Is he Punjabi or someother type?

some other type of what? Human? Animal? vegetable? Amoeba?

Originally posted by Mr Xtreme:
some other type of what? Human? Animal? vegetable? Amoeba?
Maybe he's a Punjabi Buffalo?

Anyway, he could be Hazara, Chitrali, Kohistani, Kashmiri etc.