I started wearing abaya about three weeks ago and it’s been okay so far cuz it’s not very hot yet but I spent a few weeks in the Middle East when I started wearing it and it was hell. Plus my abayas are black. How to stay cool when summers come? Plus I walk to school and it’s a couple of kilometers away so its even harder to not sweat.
My how life has changed...
Oh yeah, I know winter's far away but this is Canada so... I'm trying to figure out what I'll do when wijnter comes. The abaya is long so it's gonna be trailing in the mud and slush and i guess jacket goes on top? Does anybody here wear abaya? what do you guys do?
Matsui :p
life is boring when people dont change :p
I am just curious, what prompted you to start wearing an abaya? I must add, I find it admirable.
I love how it looks. I was in Oman a little while ago and all women there wear it. It's admirable, they work and everything and aren't hampered in any way. Plus it looks elegant. My decision didnt have anything to do with religion really cuz I already dress modestly but I like abaya and it's given me tremendous respect from people. it's made me more confident and increased my self respect. And best of all, increased my loved ones' respect and trust in me. :)
wow mashallah Sarah, that's an inspiration :)
Sarah, my mother and aunts wear abayas. During summer they just wear the normal abaya. During winter months, they just wear long, winter coats to replace the abaya.
I dont think you should be wearing black in summer.s
Hey you can get really light summer type abayahs too.They arent so sheer that they're see through- but they're good for summer.
hayaa :halo:
whats an abaya? ![]()
You are wearing it just because it looks good ![]()
Ought to think again lass … ![]()
NOS , read her post carefully before making any judgements.
In islam one is told to dress modestly and cover the appropriate parts of the bodhy. Islamd does not ask you to wear an abaya. She mentions that she dresses modestly already but likes to wear an abaya too because it is more respectable and makes her feel better. Nothing wrong with that.
Dont be quick to judge others, only Allah knows whats in someones heart.
Kaka, this is an abaya: http://www5b.biglobe.ne.jp/~aisha48/fashion/abaya/16.jpg
Nos, I wear abaya cus of the respect I get from it, which I said pretty much three times in my reply: respect, respect, respect. How abaya looks is what gives it respect, it’s not a fashion statement. If I wanted to make a fashion statement I’d NOT wear an abaya.
As for religion, I wear hijab for religion, I cover everything expect for my hands and my face and feet for religion. Abaya is for respect.
And yeah, kindly refrain from judging my niyat
Thanks in advance.
try different colours, abaya doesnt have to be black, black absorbs heat. try beige or other colours. might help. wear cotton umm..thats all i can think of right now.
*Originally posted by suroor_ca02: *
try different colours, abaya doesnt have to be black, black absorbs heat. try beige or other colours. might help. wear cotton umm..thats all i can think of right now.
naa...abaya looks good only in Black. They dont come in other colors, prob in Pak...those shuttle cock type burkaas
^ nope :-) they come in different colours. my cousins wear abaya in pakistan, so i know about it.
and i know what abaya is dodo, i wore it in saudi whenever i went for umrah :-)
hay thats wonderful
looks really elegent.
good on ya! :k:
and they must have lighter materials for summers i,m sure.
Oour aap un kay wakeel hain
… I expected clarification from her ![]()
SL: Well, to clear things up a bit let me say that people here (the place where I live) do ware it cause it “looks” good and its considered fashionable
(only some dum heads think this way). Neechay skirt pehna hota hai oour ouper Abaya pehnee hotiee hai, the sheela/hijab is left around the neck
… that’s the only reason I said the above.
I’m glad you are thinking positively :biggthumb