Whats an Abaya? ![]()
Maybe it s a stupid question but I really dont know ![]()
*Originally posted by Maniac: *
Islamd does not ask you to wear an abaya.
The Noble Qur'an declares:
"Oh Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies (i.e. screen themselves completely except the eyes or one eye to see the way). That will be better, that they should be known (as free respectable women so as not to be annoyed." (Ahzaab 59)
I do not intend to start a brawl here :) .... but kindly refrain from such bold statements ;)
May Allah s.w.t guide us all, Ameen!
Sarah…I have been thinking of wearing an abaya off and on for a while. But I feel I am not ready to wear it full time yet. A friend suggested that I start wearing it sometimes until I feel comfortable with it. I think I am going to try that InshaAllah. ![]()
I was looking at some abayas last night. Some sites have real nice ones. And as suroor said above, you can even find colored ones. I hadnt seen this in Oman( i grew up there! ) but I have seen the colored ones online. Following are a few sites I liked:
Al Muhajabat
Jelbabs and Abayas
Al Hediya
I was also thinking, you could wear jelbabs during winter time. They look pretty elegant too.
Kakay and Pra: Abayas are the black, flowing coats worn usually by the women in middle east. Jelbabs look more like dresses or coats depending on their style.
Abaya summers?
I would definately choose Aba jee.
Amaya winters?
this site has quite a few links to abayas and other islamic clothes.
Sarah, i wore it when i went to do umrah, if your wear a small sleeveless T shirt underneath/camisole with thin material trousers you'll stay cool. and trust me it feels more comfortable than normal clothes bcos its so flowy
*Originally posted by nos: *
The Noble Qur'an declares:
"Oh Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies (i.e. screen themselves completely except the eyes or one eye to see the way). That will be better, that they should be known (as free respectable women so as not to be annoyed." (Ahzaab 59)
I do not intend to start a brawl here :) .... but kindly refrain from such bold statements ;)
May Allah s.w.t guide us all, Ameen!
Im not wishing to start a brawl here either, but a woman who wears loose clothes that cover her body is covering herself just as much as one who wears an abaya. Abaya is just a one piece garment that does a very good job of covering up, but so do other clothes.
fungi ur not funny ![]()
Sarah I dont know if someone already posted pics but these abaya/jilbabs r thinner and I guess the second one would be better in the winter cuz its not all flowy…I live in michigan n we have alot of places where you can get em, I dont know if you get em where you live and in june we will be having a arab festival n they have alot of different styles of abayas..if you want I can get one n mail it to you
[thumb=H]abaya218175_6406261.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]turkishjelbab118175_6109525.JPG[/thumb]
Sarah Aslkm!
(I know I know I've been a bit of a hermit lately)
If you want some abayas/jilbabs in colours other than black, check out these stores, Garden of Islam, Barakah and Karamoda. If you need directions, just email me. And of course there's always all those online stores, but it works out better if you buy them here or can get someone to send them to you from abroad.
Summer, jilbabs/abayas are fine with just something light on underneath, in winter, you just pair them up with warmer clothes, and of course wear your winter jacket/coat overtop when you're outside, I wouldn't suggest wearing a long wintercoat indoors, you'll suffocate:-) And you can always wear sweaters underneath or overtop.
And if you're worried about the length just hem them a bit, if you don't know how or dont have a machine, you could talk me into doing it for you ;)
*Originally posted by Maniac: *
Im not wishing to start a brawl here either ...
Nice to meet your acquaintance :) ....
*Originally posted by Sarah Splendor: *
Oh yeah, I know winter's far away but this is Canada so... I'm trying to figure out what I'll do when wijnter comes. The abaya is long so it's gonna be trailing in the mud and slush and i guess jacket goes on top? Does anybody here wear abaya? what do you guys do?
I wear it sometimes, mine's long so iv'e pinned it, so it doesnt sweep :p
im sure you can get different sizes,materials, colours off the net.
btw congrats on the bold step :)
Im her fiance. Anything else ?
yah abaya kia hota hay.. please explain ![]()
Maybe you need to consult eye specialist. Description and pictures of Abaya are present in this thread.
yeah
Hay couldnt you simply say hijab???
you made me so confuse that what is this thing that is so good and every one is happy for it. and red code jee just to let you know yes my eye sight is very very very very very weak… so i couldnt see the pic of it.![]()
Maniac and Sarah,,, mashallah, a very nice couple :)
May Allah keep u two happy together always.