Abandoned as a child bride, India’s first lady still hopes her husband will call

Re: Abandoned as a child bride, India’s first lady still hopes her husband will call

Wait a sec ... Why would he send guards to her house if he didn't care about her? My guess is that she didn't want to get involved and he insisted some level of security was needed. If he is willing to spend money in protecting his wife, then a little more to increase her living standards would not go amiss ... hence I believe it was her choice to stay out of the limelight ...

Re: Abandoned as a child bride, India’s first lady still hopes her husband will call

Maybe because of this. Mr Modhi don't want larai 24/7 in the house.

He is not a king and he has no guards my friend.Its a state protocol to give wife security and modi cannot overrule that. And he is not spending any money from his pocket.

I guess you missed the entire chapter which teaches about the governence system in a democratic state.

^ sau pratishat agreed with above post.

Ok. Based on post below, decrease sau to pachas

Thats a cheap shot.

Psyah grew up in UK first of all, so im certain he is well versed on governance in a Democratic state. If anything, since its the Indians who based their system on the English parliamentary system, he might know more then you having been brought up under the system that birthed India's democracy.
Second, the way corruption works in India, i should think an Indian would be better informed on how Democracies can manipulate or be manipulated, not how a Democracy actually "works."

And I think we can be forgiven for making the assumption that in a country famous for govt corruption, the actual powers wielded by the top man in your govt may at times exceed the limits placed on him on paper...

And with the cult of personality that has been growing around Modi, I wouldnt be surprised if some of his underlings go that extra mile to keep their boss happy. Acolytes tend to follow the one that leads them.

^ as usual confusing me with logic.

So now "17" is considered child bride

Not sure if sarcastic post but i guess i can agree that western view about south asia is that it is very corrupt and runs like monarchy but Pysah bhai being member of Gs for the longest time should know better.

Anyways, just for common knowledge, against all preconceptions about India and its corrupt politics it is a miracle that we dont have a corrupt prime minister. Modi may have 100 allegations against him but corruption is not one of them. I must say that our past two prime ministers i.e. MM and Atal were also pretty much corruption free. Rest of the people are different story.

No, “Mrs.Modi” is not that old :smiley:

India is far far better than many of it's neighbours.

Well it seems implicit in your previous statement that being a Pakistani, Psyah wouldn't know what a "genuine" democracy is or how one functions. If that is indeed what you were getting at then I think a berating is well deserved.

Im simply pointing out that yours isnt exactly the shining example of democracy either. And its not a western view, its a South Asian view. You really assume far to much of the sincerity of your politicians. Seems a bit naive for you to assume that they ALWAYS follow protocol. Politicians manipulate the rules in democracies that are far more mature then India's, yet here you are telling us that India's politicians always follow the rules.

Perhaps your last two PMs werent corrupt either, perhaps they werent directly involved, but they certainly knew what to ignore in their own party. Or was Manmohan Singh in the dark about all the corruption that was allegedly going on under his nose?

I doubt you can be CERTAIN that Modi is cleared of all corruption. Corruption isnt always obvious. A lot of times, its the lower order that take the blame. And often, what is or isnt corruption can be open to interpretation. And "pretty much" not corrupt betrays some uncertainty, as it still leaves room for a little bit.

India has low standards if thats what you take pride in...

Nah, that wasnt on my mind, if i wanted to mean then then i would have written "dictator" or "army chief" instead of King ;)

About your rest of the post, i wasnt chest thumping about our honest prime ministers. Its something very well accepted in India even by opposition parties. MM is however accused of keeping an closed eye against corruption of his coworkers but he himself is an honest man.

REgarding Modi, no one has ever accused him of corruption, not even kejriwal. Na joru na jaata, allah miyan se naata. He got no family, who will he collect money for? Same case with Atal ji.

Peace kaka_in_usa

I think you totally missed my point ... Read it again ... I'm actually saying that it does not make sense that Modi is sending these guards while his wife lives such a lifestyle unless she specifically chose it. In other words I don't think he is treating her unfairly.

When I said spending money I meant state money not his own ... and I didn't know that there is a such a thing as security mandated to wive's of leaders in democracies ... can you please share the specific piece of legislation that states this?

Fair enough.

But corruption can take on many different shades. Its hard to believe that anyone can be totally clean in system that's endemically corrupt. There is what is official and procedural, by the book etc. And then there is the wink-wink, hint-hint, this needs to get done so you scratch my back I scratch yours, lets be pragmatic way of doing things. I think its more accurate to say that working within a system where you know there is corruption means knowing how to play not only by the constitution, but also an unstated playbook which governs how certain things are done in reality.

And its not just India, Washington for example is famous for its realpolitic (if im using the term correctly.)

Interesting read w.r.t. women in SA.

India Ranks Lower Than Pakistan on Gender Equality - India Real Time - WSJ

Deciding who gets Z category security falls within the purview of Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). Threat perception to the recipient is an important factor. Modi is on the top of many terrorist hit lists, so security cover for his wife is normal protocol.

Dude … I’m not even questioning whether it is normal protocol or not … sheesh … :smack: you are responding to a flippant comment.

I’m saying because she stills lives in the sticks it must be her decision - not his … she would get better security living in comfort in the city, and if that was MHA’s decision to make they would force her to go live in that high security, but it is not like that … It is a no brainer to blame Modi for her living by travelling on rikshaws … I don’t trust him as far as foreign policy is concerned … but the wife thing is a non-issue. That is what I’m saying …

He does have declared asset of 1.6 crore rupees and one can ask where did he get that money from. but i take that any day as compared to lakhs of crores of corruption per politicians that happen in congress.

But again, he got no family so its hard to believe he would do any corruption. Under congress rule rahul's brother in law made 2-3 lakh crores in just last few years. That is like total GDP of many nations, Raja choudhary was involved in 20 lakh crores in telecom sector. As compared to these guys our PM are practically god sends.

I get your point but what i am saying is he has no power to send any guards anywhere. Guards work for govt no modi and they follow their own protocol whether he likes it or not.

SPG (Special Protection Group) was formed by an parliamentary act in 1988, here is the official Gazette you are looking for.

THE GAZETTE OF INDIA