wahh zabardast,sub hi kuch bohat mazay ka lag raha hai ,kis kis cheez ki tareef keroon :-)..
Re: Aaj kya pakaaya/khaaya
crappy pic but lunch was awesome today! chicken shawarma, fatoush, rice, garlic sauce, some peppers…
^ looks really yummy !
Wow…wonderfully looking meals…must be
CA everything looks soo yummy!! can u plz post recipe of sindhi biryani!!
CA everything looks so yummy.. I cook once in few months but after looking at these picures i want to try every single one of them.. post the recipes please
CA, oh my GoD! Delish!
MANNNNNNNN MUJHE JOSH CHARH RAHA HAI AB...KAL COOK KERONGI MAIN BHIIIIIII YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
You ladies rock!!!!
Wow, soo many comments I'm flattered! Thanks everyone..you're more than welcome to come to my place for dinner next eid! :)
Okay, here are the recipes for all the items:
Sindhi Biryani (from khanapakana.com I altered it a little)
Mutton 1 kg
Basmati rice 1 kg
Yogurt 1 cup
Red chili powder 1 tbsp
Coriander powder 2 tbsp
Garlic and ginger paste 1 tbsp
Mixed spices 1 tbsp
Salt to taste
Dried apricots 1/4 kg (soak in hot water) I used 3/4 cup dried plums/aloo bukhare instead
Mint leaves 1 bunch (chop)
Green chilies 6
Juice of lemons 3-4 tbs
Onions 3 (medium size, chopped)
Tomatoes 4
Yellow food color 1/4 tsp soaked in 1/2 cup milk
Cooking oil 1 1/2 cups
For rice
Bay leaf 1, a few whole black peppers, 2-3 pcs javetri, 1 cinnamon stick, 1 tsp shah zeera
In a pan heat oil and brown onions; when they turn golden brown add meat, all the spices and yogurt. Cook till water evaporates and the meat it is tender(I used pressure cooker instead, it took around 25 mins). In a separate pan heat a little oil and cook chopped tomatoes, add some green chillies, mint leaves and red chili powder and haldi and cook til tomatoes are soft.
Now in a big pan add 12 cups of water with salt, 3 green chilies, whole spices listed above and mint leaves. When water boils, add rice, parboil and strain. Take an aluminum dish and layer all the meat and then top with tomato gravy, then layer all the rice at thr end. Now add orange/yellow food color and squeeze some lemon juice on top. Cover the aluminum dish and put it in oven for 20-25 mins at 500F.
I'll get back about chicken handi. It's in my personal recipe notebook.
Tandoori Chicken (boneless)
1/2 kg boneless chicken breast cut into 1 inch pcs
1 tbs tandoori spice
1/2 tsp red chili powder
1/2 green chillies crushed
1 tsp ginger/garlic paste
salt
1 cup yogurt
1/2 garam masala
lemon juice
Method:
Mix all ingredients and marinate for at least 35-40 mins. I prefer to grill them in a pan or 'tawa'. Oven tends to dry out all the juices and flavors IMO.
Mini Cheesecakes (yields 18 small cupcake size cheesecakes)
For base
12 oz Graham Cracker crumbs
butter
Cake batter:
2(8 oz) Cream cheese
1 cup Sour Cream
1/2 a Lemon freshly squeezed juice
1 cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla extract
For topping: Cherry/mixed berry pie filling, or whatever you like
Also need paper liners for cupcakes.
Method:
1. Make sure all the ingredients are at room temperature(cheese, eggs, sour cream). Turn on oven at 350F.
2. Mix graham cracker crumbs with melted butter in a chopper. Place half a spoon of mixture in each paper cup.
3. Beat cream cheese until liquidy, mix sour cream and beat again. Do the same with sugar and eggs one by one. Mix vanilla extract at the end.
4. Fill each cup with the cheese batter. Bake in the oven for around 12 mins. Turn off oven and leave the door open, please dont take out the cakes immediately, they'll crack in the middle. Take them out when cooled a little and then top them with pie filling or your favorite toppings. Refrigerate for at least 8 hours.
Chocolate covered strawberries:
Well there's a trick to get it right which is you boil some water in a saucepan and then put a bowl on top, you have to make sure the water in the saucepan does NOT touch the bowl. Put chopped chocolates and keep stirring. Dont leave it by itself or chocolate will get hot and dry instead of melting. Dip strawberries in melted choc and then in coconut or anything else you like and then place on parchment paper. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours or until cooled.
CA :o
were you that great of a cook when I was in Chicago??? I should have made you throw me a party!! everything looks great!
OMG, how selfish!!! :(
How do you make garlic suace? Once I tried al baik recipe from here but nobody ate it!
^^ I don't think he made it...lol
Everything looks great guys. My bro is visiting me so mostly we eat out, today I made some spicy creamy shrimp chicken pasta. It was awesome, he loved it. Sorry, don't have any pics :(...
How do you make garlic suace? Once I tried al baik recipe from here but nobody ate it!
Mostar, the real way to make Lebanese style garlic sauce can b quite difficult. I think they mash loads of garlic with lemon juice in a blender with salt, then SLOWLY pour in some oil while the blender is still going. The stuff should then form a mayonnaise type consistency. A chef in a lebanese place told me that he puts egg in it at the beginning to get the right consistency, i think he also said some ppl add mashed potato too.
Anyhow, i have tried the above without much success, so now i jsut cheat and mix lemon juice, mashed garlic and salt to mayonnaise, and mix in some sunflower or olive oil in it too. Its really very delicious.
Are you saying i cant make it? ![]()
Mo bhai I get it from a middle eastern restaurant, so no clue… i’d ask the arbi baji over there but i’d rather for her digits instead.
today was thai day… pad thai w/ chicken and on the side egg rolls, shrimps, kai satay chicken, fried tofu, wings, crab cheese
Mmm sounds like something my husband will adore ![]()
Recipe please? ![]()
Yes Lusi would love the recipe for your spicy creamy pasta
Oh wow.....you people have extraordinary cooking skills masha'Allah.
maybe I can participate in this thread one day.....which is not anywhere in the near future.
may Allah bless you all with more barakah in your rizk. Ameen
I have been missing in action. No pics but this past week i made chicken souvlaki sandwiches for dinner one day and they were pretty good. A bit different idea.
Today hub's had some friends over and i have made
chicken salan/korma type
aloo palak
daal
dahi baray
tarkay walay rice and
shahi tukray for dessert.
The guests like more veggie options so i only made one meat dish.