Re: Aaj kya pakaaya/khaaya
I wanted to have the ‘honour’ of the 1200th reply in this thread! ![]()
I love you guys, because of all of your lovely dishes I never have the 'aaj kya pakaouN'? question anymore! I just open this thread for inspiration!
:-)
Lusi i tried halwa with yoru recipe and it turned out yummy. Perfect thing to serve with puris. I added 1.5 c sugar and it was still a bit too sweet so next time i think i will go a bit lesser. Thanks for sharing.
which halwa u ve tried tell me plzzzz.
Ira, when I was making it, initially I had 1.5 cups but when I tasted it while cooking, I felt meetha wasn’t enough so I added little more sugar… lol… though when it was done my mom tasted it, she also said I was sweet “sweet”…lol…
Torquisepari, she is talking about the one I posted on the last page or something…
Ok, yesterday I made spring/vegetable rolls…
I love you guys, because of all of your lovely dishes I never have the 'aaj kya pakaouN'? question anymore! I just open this thread for inspiration!
:-)
haha... you are so cute...lol
yummy!! lusi the spring rolls look soo good!! can u plz post the recipe for the filling..
thanx
Mano i know you asked Lusi, but i recently made spring rolls stuffed with boiled and mashed aloo with just salt and red chilli. They were so yummy. The idea came to me after we had them in Pakistan and i was in spicy heaven. Just make sure you use good quality potatoes. Also, to emphasize i used spring roll sheets not egg roll ones, not sure how those would turn out.
i made yakhni pulao today...sorry no pics...was too hungry to take some...:D
Mano i know you asked Lusi, but i recently made spring rolls stuffed with boiled and mashed aloo with just salt and red chilli. They were so yummy. The idea came to me after we had them in Pakistan and i was in spicy heaven. Just make sure you use good quality potatoes. Also, to emphasize i used spring roll sheets not egg roll ones, not sure how those would turn out.
Ira, do you have to soak or steam spring roll sheets first or what. I have seen them at oriental grocery stores, they keep them outside and they are hard like pasta... so i never tried them as I wasn't quite sure how to use them...
Mano, my filling was very simple, I stir frired some very finely sliced carrots and corn. Season them with soy sauce, salt and pepper. Then add it to finely chopped cabbage and finely sliced celery. Add salt and pepper to taste and little chat masala for flavoring. Thats it...
i made yakhni pulao today...sorry no pics...was too hungry to take some...:D
lol... now I want to eat pulao with raita and salad...
Ira, do you have to soak or steam spring roll sheets first or what. I have seen them at oriental grocery stores, they keep them outside and they are hard like pasta... so i never tried them as I wasn't quite sure how to use them...
Lusi i get the sheets in the frozen section of oriental stores. I have seen teh dry ones too and always wondered what they taste like but the ones i am talking about are teh kind you get your rolls wrapped in when you go to a resturant. My Ammi also uses these to make keema samosas.
aj hum ne banaya hai....gosht....and saag...and pizza:D:D
thanx Ira and Lusi!! im going to try both of ur recipes for the fillings!!
Mano, my filling was very simple, I stir frired some very finely sliced carrots and corn. Season them with soy sauce, salt and pepper. Then add it to finely chopped cabbage and finely sliced celery. Add salt and pepper to taste and little chat masala for flavoring. Thats it...
Ira and Lusi thank you!! i will try both of ur recipes for the filling!!!!
mazay ka jee ,,bohat mazay ka..
iam making karhaee ghousht tonight,,
Plusha, that looks really good! Can you please post the recipe for Andon ka khagina? I’ve never tasted in my life and heard about first time from my hubby and he’s been asking me to make it and I just haven’t found the recipe anywhere. ![]()
Anday ka khagina sounds great, especially for sehri. Please do post the recipe, thanks!