Aaj kya pakaaya/khaaya

Re: Aaj kya pakaaya/khaaya

Wow so many additions!!
Well done guys, you make me proud :smiley: Mash’Allah!

Shumaisa; thanks for the recipe and wow for your chicken in foil! I think I saw a recipe of foil chicken on chef Zakir’s show.

MarriedNY; my miyaaN jee would love that steak of yours :smiley:

Ira; now that’s what I call a home made meal! I might try making paneer at home aswell! Sounds easy enough. Oh and that yoghurt tart looks yum!

Shab-e-hijar; that shaljam gosht looks soo inviting! My hubby doesn’t like shorway waalay saalan but I LOVE them :-/

Guys, I’ve been a bit lazy with taking pictures :-/ Yesterday I made chicken jalfrezi but didn’t take a picture. Aaj pata nahin kya pakaana hai, I guess I’m going through a ‘cooking dip’ these days :bummer:

ShiNoO can you post your recipe for Chicken Jalfrezi? Thanks!

Ira thanks for posting a recipe of palak paneer, Ive been looking!

When you buy paneer from the desi stores, if you dont use the whole chunk at once can you refreeze it after defrosting?

^ I used the following recipe (from cooking with bj website)
(extra: I added fresh green chilli's and a little bit of vinegar btw)

Chicken Jalfrezi

Ingredients:
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
750 grams skinless chicken thigh fillets,
1\4 teaspoon ground turmeric
1 - onion finely chopped
1 teaspoon red chili powder
1 teaspoon salt
500 grams tomato finely chopped
1\4 tablespoons oil
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
2 tablespoon ginger, grated
2 tablespoons coriander, fresh, chopped

How to Cook:
1. Heat about 2 tablespoons oil in a deep frying pan and fry the onion and garlic for 2 minutes over high heat.
2. Add the chicken, turmeric, chili powder and salt. Fry gently for 5-10 minutes, or until golden brown, scraping the base of the pan frequently and turning the chicken.
3. Add the tomato, cover and cook over medium heat for 20 minutes. Uncover and simmer for 10 minutes to let all the excess liquid evaporates and the sauce thicken.
4. Add cumin, ground coriander, ginger and fresh coriander and simmer for 5-7 minutes.
5. Sever the chicken pieces with the sauce spooned on top.
6. This dish could be served with boiled rice, chapati or naan.

This recipe serves 6 people.
Preparation Time: 15 minutes.
Cooking Time: 40 minutes.

How do you make them?

Salam guppans,

MashAllah awesome chefs we have here.... can anyone help me and pass on a nice recipe or two for koftay salan. I have the koftas in the freezer, I'm just looking for a zara hatt key recipe from the traditional salan.... any and all help would be highly appreciated ...thanks in advance ladies... :)

midnight, i dont know if you can defrost and refreeze the paneer, i have never used the desi store wala paneer but i know generally freezing after defrosting is said to be avoided. That doesnt mean i have never done it :D

sadi, i add a bit of biryani masala by shan in the kofta masala, it imparts a different flavor.

Or you could try making spaghetting and meatballs using the koftas?

ooh thanks,,,shinoo be my guest plz:)

What is that dish where you add bell peppers to chicken salan? Anyone know?

IRA....chicken shashlik has green bell peppers in it....right..??
my ammi makes this quite a lot where she adds carrots and green bell peppers to boneless chicken cubes....i have made it a few times too(my husband is not a big fan of bell peppers)....it tastes yummy,both with boiled rice and roti....:)

Last week my mum had to go away so I had to cook for the rest of the family. It was the first time I had cooked chicken or fish. I am ok cook I suppose…so whilst mum was away I made…

Chicken tikka/masala potatoes/broccoli/carrots&peppers/mushroom&red onion…with garlic bread..

I made the masala myself

I also made fish one day last week..

Fish(marinated in lemon,ginger and chilli flakes)/boiled potatoes with mint sauce/boiled veg/mushrooms and ciabatta bread

and…

mediterreanen tart/roast aubergines,potatoes,cherry tomatoes/herb bread

The pic quality is not good, I used my mobile phone…I wish I could make salaan and roti prperly…I guess that is the next culinary adventure!

Some really nice food in this thread…:slight_smile:

how about the recipe for shaljam gosht?? thanks!

chicken jalfrezi???

I like bell peppers.. it just makes everything taste so much better and different!!!

I just made vegetable stirfryrice with prawns. We had it with sweet n sour cucumber salad, a sweet n sour vegetable pickle, peanut satésauce, crunchy fried onions and prawncrackers.

:yummy:

^looks great!! Post the Recipe please, thank you :)

How do you guys remember to take pictures? :-\

lol, so true seabee. Its after I have eaten that I remember oh shoot i could have taken pictures :D

The other day I made the sauce/masala for koftay with salsa and milk/cream. It was pretty good.

All you do is heat some oil in a pan, add like 1/2 grinded onion to it and 1 tsp of garlic paste to it. Let it cook for few mins. Then add almost 1/2-1 cup of salsa (it depends how much koftay you are using, I used around 1 cup for 6 koftay) (you can use any type of chunky salsa, I used the medium one.) Add little corriander powder, salt to taste (taste the sauce before adding the salt as salsa is already salty) and little lemon juice like 1tbsp. Cook the sauce for few mins. then add milk/cream almost 1/2-3/4 cup (depends if you like more creamy or less creamy) (milk should be at room temperature) slowly while stirring. Then add your koftas and let them cook on low heat. When done sprinkle little chat masala and cilantro and leave it on dum for couple mins. Enjoy with roti or white rice or pasta.

gr8 chefs here..esp..lusi shinoo..shab-e-hijar…ira..sorry if i forget anyone’s name :stuck_out_tongue: :hugz:

ok i bought this one can of refried beans..i dont know why:-/

now i dont know what to do with it…have used it twice or thrice with sausages put in long loaf and kebabs put in tortilla bread..but whats more to do ? :-s can anyone help ?

what more can i do with it now?

Thankus! :D

Make tacos with your refried beans... :D