A tribute To Mr. Abdul Sattar Edhi

[thumb=A]edhi_title.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=A]edhi.JPG[/thumb]

A SYMBOL OF HUMANITY

Mr. Abdul Sattar Edhi established his first welfare centre and then the Edhi Trust with a mere Rs. 5000. What started as a one-man show operating from a single room in Karachi is now the Edhi Foundation, the largest welfare organisation in Pakistan. The foundation has over 300 centres across the country, in big cities, small towns and remote rural areas, providing medical aid, family planning and emergency assistance.They own air ambulances, providing quick access to far-flung areas.

**In Karachi alone, the Edhi Foundation runs 8 hospitals providing free medical care, eye hospitals, diabetic centres, surgical units, a 4- bed cancer hospital and mobile dispensaries. In addition to these the Foundation also manages two blood banks in Karachi.

20,000 abandoned babies have been saved.

40,000 qualified nurses have been trained

50,000 orphans are housed in Edhi Homes

1 million babies have been delivered in Edhi Maternity Centres**

Edhi is to Karachi what Mother Teresa was to the poor of Calcutta. Edhi and wife Bilquees have spent a lifetime working for people and their welfare work to date remains unparalleled in Pakistan. They are both very private people who shun publicity. They have had little formal education, and are totally committed to the cause of helping the poor and needy. The foundation has over 300 centres across the country, in big cities, small towns and remote rural areas, providing medical aid, family planning and emergency assistance.

Born in 1928 in Bantwa , Gujarat, India , Edhi’s family belonged to the industrious Memon community. From a young age his mother taught Edhi to be kind towards others and to help the poor. In 1947 the family migrated to Pakistan and settled in Karachi. That was a time of great emotional trauma and social and political upheaval. Edhi became involved in social work and began working with welfare organisations and soon started his own dispensary, providing medical aid to the poor. He bought his first ambulance, an old van which he called the “poor man’s van” and went around the city providing medical help and burying unclaimed bodies. His van became his advertisement and soon he came to be known for his work with the poor. As a consequence, donations started pouring in and his operations expanded, employing additional nurses and staff. It was here that Edhi met his wife Bilquees who was a trainee nurse at the dispensary. They were married in 1966. Bilquees became the ideal wife for Edhi, totally committed to welfare work.

Edhi established his first welfare centre and then the Edhi Trust with a mere Rs. 5000 $1000]. The Edhi Foundation grew as people began to recognize its humanitarian aims. In 1973 when an old apartment building collapsed in Karachi, Edhi’s ambulances and volunteers were the first to reach the scene and start rescue operations. From then, on, through the troubles in Karachi and all over the country, Edhi’s ambulances have been rescuing and taking the injured to hospitals and burying unclaimed bodies. They go to places where even government agencies hesitate to venture.

The Edhi Foundation is the first of its kind in South Asia that owns air ambulances, providing quick access to far-flung areas. Whether it is a train accident or a bomb blast, Edhi ambulances are the first to arrive. The foundation relies on the support of its 3, 500 workers and thousands of volunteers who form the backbone of the organisation.

** Despite the growth of the foundation, Edhi remains a very down to earth person. Dressed always in a grey homespun cotton, he has a hands on approach to his work, sweeping his own room and even cleaning the gutter if need be. Apart from the one room, which he uses for his living quarters, the rest of the building serves as his workplace in Mithadar, a locality of old Karachi that is full of narrow streets and congested alleyways. **Adjoining their living room is a small kitchen where Bilquees usually prepares the midday meal. Next to it is a washing area where bodies are bathed and prepared for burial.

When Edhi is not travelling to supervise his other centres, a typical day for him begins at five in the morning with Fajr prayers. His work starts thereafter answering any calls for help, organizing and meeting people in need while afternoons are spent at various centres and hospitals all over the city. In the evening he dines with hundreds of poor at his “langar” [free community meals common among Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs] at another Edhi centre in the city. His Fridays are invariably spent at homes for the destitute children where Edhi personally helps bathe the ones who are physically handicapped, before joining them for Friday prayers. Occasionally, when he is able to, he also takes them out for picnics.

** Karachi alone, the Edhi Foundation runs 8 hospitals providing free medical care, eye hospitals, diabetic centres, surgical units, a 4- bed cancer hospital and mobile dispensaries. ** In addition to these the Foundation also manages two blood banks in Karachi. As with other Edhi services, employed professionals and volunteers run these. The foundation has a Legal aid department, which provides free services and has secured the release of countless innocent prisoners. Commissioned doctors visit jails on a regular basis and also supply food and other essentials to the inmates. There are 15 " Apna Ghar" “Your Homes”] homes for the destitute children, runaways, and psychotics and the Edhi Foundation states that over the years 3 million children have been rehabilitated and reunited with their families thorough the Edhi network.

The foundation also has an education scheme, which apart from teaching reading and writing covers various vocational activities such as driving, pharmacy and para-medical training. The emphasis is on self-sufficiency. The Edhi Foundation has branches in several countries where they provide relief to refugees in the USA, UK, Canada, Japan, and Bangladesh. In 1991 the Foundation provided aid o victims of the Gulf war and earthquake victims in Iran and Egypt.

Edhi plans mass campaigns against narcotics, illiteracy, population control and basic hygiene. Edhi’s wife Bilquees works in the areas of maternity centre management. She runs 6 nursing training schools in Karachi, which provide basic training courses. These centres have so far trained over 40,000 qualified nurses. Some 20,000 abandoned babies have been saved and about a million babies have been delivered in the Edhi maternity homes. Bilquees also supervises the food that is supplied to the Edhi hospitals in Karachi. The total number of orphans in Edhi housing is 50,000 and Edhi’s two daughters and one son assist in the running of the orphanages and the automation of these institutions.

Edhi’s vision is to create an institution that will carry on his life’s work and survive for a long time to come. His dream is that of a Pakistan as a modern welfare state, which provides a safety net for the poor and needy while providing basic health and education with vocational skills. A welfare state Edhi feels is the only way to tackle Pakistan’s myriad social problems. He hopes that one day, Pakistan will be a model for other developing countries.

In 1985 Edhi received the Nishan-e-Imtiaz from the Government of Pakistan and in recognition of their services the Government of Philippines awarded Edhi & Bilquees the Magsayay award.

SOURCE: www.the-south-asian.com

*** Kudos to this great man, his family, and his organization, who have improved the lives of millions, not just within Pakistan but outside of it as well. ***

akpower,

Nicely done. :slight_smile:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/edhi.jpg

To learn more about Edhi Foundation: Click Here!

“It was my mother’s teaching,” he recalls as he drives an ambulance van to Korangi, a north Karachi suburb where he runs a home for 250 boys. “When I used to go to school, she would give me two paise and tell me to spend one and give the other to the poor.” His mother, he quickly adds, gave him no religious instruction. Edhi says he is a Muslim-but adds that human rights is his real religion. And that has brought him, trouble from Karachi’s conservative clerics. Several denounced him and forbade people to give Islamic charity to him. “The mullahs don’t like me,” he says cheerfully. "Because I criticize anyone who doesn’t honor human rights. Although the religions say protect human rights, in practical terms they don’t do it. They don’t teach people to serve humanity.

:smokin:

Apologies - I forgot to put the source. The reason I put it in the world section was so that non-pakis read it 2. Anywayz, its been moved now. I encourage anyone, who has any material on Edhi Sahab, to post it, especially his pictures.

Edhi has done a great job in Karachi and beyond. Too bad those Pakistanis who do good, go unrealized in the country. I am sure there are many other Edhis in Pakistan, our role is to support who do good.

assalmoalikum :jhanda:

i love mr abdul sattar edhi and in the future when i start working i wil donate regularly to his edhi foundation. anyways a thought comes to mind why isn’'t mr edhi given a nobel peace prize for services to human beings… he should be given one if carter the former us president can get one then so can abdul sattar edhi what hasn’t he done for people who are less privilaged.

Edhi for President..

The following is a list of awards that Edhi sahab has received for his services in social work:

International Awards

**1. "Ramon Magsaysay Award" for public service from Philippines, 1986.

1. "Paul Harris Fellow" from Rotary International Foundation 1993.

2. Peace Prize from USSR (former) "for services in the Armenian earth-quake disaster in 1988.**

National Awards

**1. "Nishan-e-Imtiaz" from Government of Pakistan 1989.

1. "Human Rights Award" by Pakistan Human Rights Society.

2. "Khidmat Award" by Pakistan Academy of Medical Sciences.

3. "Shield of Honour" by Pakistan Army (E & C).

4. "Silver Jubilee Shield" by College of Physicians and Surgeons, Pakistan.(1962-1987)

5. "Recognition of meritorious services to oppressed humanity during eighties" (1989) by Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, Government of Pakistan. 45 Years Of Selfless Service.

6. "The Social Worker of Sub-Continent - 1989" by Government of Sind
    Pakistan Civic Award 1992 - by Pakistan Civic Society.

And hundreds of other awards as well...!**

He makes us all so proud.

He is one of the greatest human beings I came know.
I never met him personally but you can tell what kind of person he is.
We all know he is straight going to heaven.

assalamoalikum :jhanda:

hold it there mate! heaven its allah’s decision not ours he decides who goes to hell or heaven we can’t judge that even though how good a peron is

SubhanAllah. i don’t know what to say. Reading it makes me feel proud to call myself a Pakistani, but deeply deeply ashamed at myself as well.

Thank you for the thread, AKPower. :k: :k: According to the Edhi website, the org. performs burial services for thousands of unclaimed dead bodies - alongwith everything else, kitna sawaab ka kaam hai:

Edhi foundation has the largest network for the burial of unclaimed and heirless dead bodies in Pakistan. Separate graveyards are established in cities like Karachi, Lahore, Rawalpindi and New York. Mr. Edhi, perhaps, holds the world record for giving the last prescribed bath (Ghusal) with his own hands to about 20,000 unclaimed dead bodies and for arranging their burial. Non-Muslims are provided services according to their own religious rites. Edhi graveyard services also provide facilities for burial and transport of dead bodies from Overseas.

i wanted to include this brief excerpt of his life from the Edhi website: “The seeds of compassion for the suffering humanity were sown in his soul by his mother’s infirmity. When Edhi was at the tender age of eleven, his mother became paralyzed and later got mentally ill. Young Edhi devoted himself looking after all her needs; cleaning, bathing, changing clothes and feeding. This proved to be a loosing battle against the disease, and her helplessness increased over the years. Her persistent woeful condition left a lasting impression on Edhi. The course of his life took a different turn from other persons of his age. His studies were also seriously affected and he could not complete his high school level. For him the world of suffering became his tutor and source of wisdom.”

We need more people like him who serve humanity selflessly.

edhi was considered to get nobel prize. he may get it if he is projected more by government.

Benazeer nominated J Salik from pak for peace award when she was in power instead of Edhi. was strange but understandable cause he was minister in her goverment.

No doubt . he is a great man.

This thread keeps moving around. I hope this forum would be its last stop!

amazing guy with big heart n great personality.. thank u ak :)

we need more people like him in this world.. there is too much suffereing in the world.

shayed yeh dunyia assay hee azeem logoN ke daam se abahi tak itni khubsorat hai :-)

I have had the honor and pleasure of eating a dinner with Eidhi Sahib a few years ago. It was an awesome experience. Most of the attendees were wearing suits or highly starched expensive shalwar qameezes. Eidhi Sahib was in his usual salaiti malaysia (grey cotton) kurta-pajaama (with a couple of patches) and hawai chappal (qainchi walay). He had a smile on his face throughout the evening. It gave me goosebumps just shaking his hand.

Subhan Allah. :k: very well written akpower bhai…and what a character to have here in Pakistan. :jhanda:

Edhi sir accepting Balzan award

[thumb=A]edhi3.JPG[/thumb]

** Edhi sahab accepting the honourable bazlan awards in rome, organized by the International Balzan Foundation. **

A few excerpts from his speech

"Thereafter, a few volunteers joined me in my mission and now, by the grace of God, the Abdul Sattar Edhi Foundation is recognized as the largest volunteer ambulance organization in the world, as recorded in the Guinness Book of World Records, 2000."

**"And yet, at every fifty kilometres in Pakistan, the Abdul Sattar Edhi Foundation stands guard in the form of highway centres that provide first aid to the injured, with transport to hospitals and burial arrangements for the dead. A fleet of over four hundred ambulances, air ambulances, field units, mobile units and rescue units comprise this countrywide network."

"Mr. President, the scope of the Abdul Sattar Edhi Foundation's activities are not confined to Pakistan alone. Wherever a natural calamity occurs, the Edhi Foundation uses its own resources to help those affected. A few examples include the famine in Somalia, Afghanistan, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and aid for the refugees of Bosnia, Palestine and Kashmir, as well as the flood victims of Bangladesh. Edhi International offices are serving people in America, Canada, London and the UAE."

"In the end, I would like to express my gratitude on behalf of the Abdul Sattar Edhi Foundation and the people of Pakistan to the International Balzan Foundation and its founders for granting me this award in recognition of humanitarian services.

I am always honoured when my services to the poor are recognized at an international level, for many countries of the world have conferred upon me their awards.

But my greatest reward is the smile that flashes on the faces of suffering human beings and the prize money of all these awards has always been utilized in spreading this smile. I myself, am the owner of nothing, except a small 10'x10' room that my mother left me in the alley I first began my work in, and the two pairs of clothing I wear."

Allah Hafiz.**

Masha-Allah

to me, he is one of THE most selfless humanbeings on earth, and I have a great deal of respect for him. May Allah mian continue to guide him and his foundation on the path of doing good works for children and the underpriveleged.