Re: A traditional-minded woman ?
and you love every second, lol :) not really, you're amusing in the life forum that's for sure
no way.. theres a huge difference.
oh really CM? I didn't know it was a MIL's religious duty to order her daughter-in-law around and tell her how to raise her children and then conduct a stove burning, if things didn't pan out her way. Likewise I didn't know it was a daughter-in-law's religious duty to backbite about her mother-in-law.
I learn so much from you, o Wise Arse.
Very true PCG. And also traditional and religious can vary from person to person; from society to society. But notice that almost everyone posted exactly the same things of what they think is traditional? We’ll concentrate on this “universal” definition.
And I do agree tradition is different from religion…but one would think that as a Pakistani (for the most part) the traditions would be based on the religion? Like PCG mentioned the MIL issues, honestly if traditions went hand in hand with Islam, I bet we would have less hassles. ((PCG I think you missed CM’s point)
CM —
Hmm. But I dont see why a religious person who stays at home is uneducated or stupid or repressed by her husband. I mean a person can “choose” to be traditional. Yet be equal, educated and intelligent.
Ok I should just give up. These stereotypes will probbaly remain long after we’re done and gone.
queer – Boring? Now you add something else! Arent we the most positive of people today.
hiccup – LOL. Thanks for the laugh. I often need it. ![]()
i think in Pakistan people believe culture/tradition is religion. They cant distinguish between the two... u realise that the two are very different when u travel from one muslim country to another and notice the difference in the way they do things..
MQ - I'll respond to one point you made.
There are some that think that if a woman stays at home she's stupid or repressed, what have you. Agreed, that's an ignorant way of thinking.
However, the "traditional" girl is the one who is brainwashed into thinking that she is not capable of doing much else aside from sitting at home. The one who thinks "aakhir mujhe shaadi hi karna hai - parhai ka kya faida? ghar se baahir jaanay ka kya faida?" and such thinking.
The traditional girl is the one who reverts to old ways - and frankly, if you look back about 2-3 generations, muslim women of the subcontinent wore burqas, talked from behind pardahs, stayed at home, etc. The traditional girl not only reverts to this out of choice, but because she thinks that is what she deserves. That is what is the "proper" thing to do. She's the one that looks at other girls developing themselves outside the home as "improper".
Yeh hai, traditional minded. The one who is afraid to think outside the box.
Hmm some really good points. So assuming these women are happy in that way. Is it still a bad thing? I didnt meant being forced to be traditional - but more so making that particular choice. Being able to live any way one wishes to, yet choosing that one particular life style.
very interesting PCG…
curious.. do u think women who revert to wearing the hijab or abaya or even nikaab are traditional? i know women who have done just that, but still they are fighting for the rights of muslim women.. organising fund raisers.. doing a lot of charity work..
what would u say they were? hmmm interesting ya know…
I already diffrentiated between being brainwashed into reverting to old ways vs. choosing into reverting to old ways.
hmmm i just re-read ur previous post.. a bit confusing but i see what ur getting at... dont think i agree though cus ur sorta saying being traditional is a bad thing... yeah?
traditional in a Pakistani sense - yes, I'm against it.
Religious - no.
i hate that whole tradtional paki thing. when someone says thats what they want in a girl, its digusting, iron your own freakin shirt loser!!
:d
(btw, don't capital letters work anymore?)
whats so traditional about ironing a shirt for ur man..??
nothing. but expecting it from a wife as her "duty" is traditional
MQ, one question, what exactly comes to your mind when you say traditional?
Why are you expecting other people's definitions to match yours? It's not like the word was coined after you and now people are forgetting the "ture meaning" and misusing it..
i work, when I feel like that is. I am educated and very broadminded, yet I am at the sametime quite traditional too. I understand that this is annoying for some friends of mine but as long as I am comfortable with myself, why do I have to care about others or change myself for others.
BEing traditional does not mean taking crap or conspiring against others but willing to accept the age-old traditional roles assosiated with women 'for our own good.' Just to get in the mad rush of fulfilling our mindless materialistic desires we fall into the rut, feeding our bloated egoes just to be 'hip' with the rest of the crowd. I refuse to fall into that abyss where I might lose touch with my feminity and become a female android.
PCG, I agree with you. I would not like to be 'traditional' in the Pakistani sense of the word. Been there! I want to be traditonal on my own terms.
abyss, female android… kya Nuclear English bol rahee hau! ![]()
I agree with you and quite a few others here. What is traditional to you may be totally different than what is considered traditional for somebody else. At the end of the day, if you are happy with the way you live your life and who you are, then does it really matter about the negative stereotypes? Are these negative stereotypes really affecting your everyday life? I highly doubt it. Stereotypes of all forms exist against every type of person. At the end of the day, you can try as much as you want to battle this ‘ignorance’, but the stereotypes will still be there.
By the way, last I heard, being traditional was considered a very good thing, especially in our culture.