I don’t mean “successful” from an Indian perspective. I mean as a tournament itself.
Quality of Cricket - has been really good. We saw a LOT of close hard fought games in the league stages. All of England’s games, Pak vs SL, Pak vs NZ, Pak vs Aus, India vs SA, India vs England, India vs Aus, Ind vs Pak, today’s final etc etc… Great bowling and batting performances all around.
Sportsman spirit - Was overwhelmingly good. No crazy sledges, fights or controversies. I was really happy to see the Ind vs Pak game played in such good spirits.
Grounds - This one started shaky with Eden gardens losing a game and the media (indian and western) going out of control criticizing every little thing from there on. But just like the CWG… they pulled it off in the end somehow. Arrangements seemed good in all 3 countries. Second..there were multiple cases of indian crowds being smacked by police outside the ground when the ticket counter opened. Being a desi I understand why this would happen and why it would be necessary for cops to discipline stampede-ready crazy indians. Sure there could have been a better way to deal with it. I sure hope the grounds take a lesson from this and ticket sales are organized better next time.
Security - No issues. The Ind vs Pak was a HUGE game with both PMs in the stadium plus a LOT of billionaire indian businessmen and movie stars. They did what they had to.. no fly zone.. ready to go missiles etc. Same deal today with Indian and SL presidents + a LOT of high profile indian businessmen and movie stars again. No issues with security.
The only thing missing from this WC was of course that Pak did not host any games. We all understand why that is. It would have been great to see some games in Lahore, Karachi, Pindi, Multan etc. Hopefully by the next time WC comes back to the subcontinent things will be good in Pak and all 4 countries will host the event together.
From logistics point of view it ended well and no unwanted events occurred. But from tournament point of view it was too long in my view, 49 matches until you get to see quarter finals!! No doubt there were many exciting games and final was not as crappy as previous 3 finals.
^ the length has been the complaint with all tournament editions.. they have tried different formats but its always a long tournament!!
I personally don't have much problem with it. I liked the build up of the league stages with various teams getting their momentum together for the knockouts. 4 saal baad WC aata hai yar.. what's the rush to jump into the knockout stages :D
50-over cricket should stay. It tests your limited overs skills to the fullest
If anything I would abolish T20 world cup or reserve it for minnows or emerging teams like Ireland
T20 does not test any new skills. the skills that you need to excel in obligatory + bowling + batting PPs of a 50-over game are essentially the same as those required for T20
50-over cricket should stay. It tests your limited overs skills to the fullest
If anything I would abolish T20 world cup or reserve it for minnows or emerging teams like Ireland
T20 does not test any new skills. the skills that you need to excel in obligatory + bowling + batting PPs of a 50-over game are essentially the same as those required for T20
True. I missed that point in my original post. This WC has reassured us that ODIs are here to stay. I've always believed this anyway because ODIs require a higher skill/luck ratio to win the game.. compared to T20.
Regarding T20 WC.. I would still keep it but yeah I would involve more minnows in it to give them exposure. I would still not give too much credit to T20 wins or records because the skill/luck ratio needed to win a game is much much lower.
I still prefer the round robin format of 1992. Every team plays every team. Makes for a more interesting World Cup. Having said that this world cup was pretty good to watch, mainly because Pakistan made it to the semis. Although there were times I felt bitter about not being able to see our team in the stadium. Hopefully in the not so distant future we can watch Pakistan play at home.
1992 was before I started watching cricket (I was a baby back then haha).. but every team playing each other.. if you involve 3-4 minnows ( we should... to give them exposure)... then the tournament would be much longer .. right? not sure if people want that..
no doubt.. pakistan doing well was awesome for the WC.. with what pak cricket has gone through in the last 2 yrs its awesome how well they did... and im glad MOST pak fans have realized that and given credit to their team for reaching semis.. instead of dissing them...... this shows that pak is a force in world cricket... absolutely !
and yep... i wish to see cricket come to pakistan in the near future too.. unfortunately i dont think it will be in the very near future..
You know what made me sad. When I saw cricket stadiums without much fences. I want (and pray) for this to happen in Pakistan. Safe and secure environment so our people could go to grounds with their families and enjoy some good cricket. Cricket is one thing that could bring the whole nation together. Have you guys seen the picture of the streets of Karachi. Even a curfew could not keep that many people inside their houses that semi final did.
and then I don’t understand why you and everyone are bashing players bhai. Get over it.
See Pakistan is still 3rd Place even after a horror of a 12 month period before the WC and with a board that could not manage a Juma Bazar or fish market.