A rishta dilemma.

Re: A rishta dilemma.

This my friend is jewel!

It's a gem, because it's the perfect scapegoat for the perinneal desi slacker.

Well if someone's going to use my story (or similar ones) as an excuse for why it's ok to not work hard, then that's on them. It doesn't make it any less a fact that there are lots of people out there who have achieved great things both with and without degrees. All I'm trying to say is that when considering rishtas, one shouldn't simply look at the degree (or lack thereof) to make the final decision.

Listen, I understand it might be shallow or mean but you don't want to keep progressing in your career 20 years from now and resent your spouse for being stuck where he/she is. If you weren't into medicine, I wouldn't be saying any of this. You might be more of the breadwinner in this case, and if thats what you want- fine. If you don't want that, marry a guy who has some sort of education to fall back on. The economy is getting worse everywhere and you always need a back up plan. That being said, if you really like him and your heart feels content, consider it

OP's probably got a baby on the way by now.... it's over an year old thread

lol she doesn't

or do you @inspiron

:cb: kuch bhi hosakta hai.

Translate: anything is possible.

shukriya

aray wah. yeh to app nay hairan kar diya.

wow, you just surprised me.

A desi bahu in the making :cb:

haha I wish.
I'm trying to learn so I can understand what you guys are saying and I find Urdu way cheesier than english so it'll be fun if I can experiment with that.

you may post your words/sentences here and we will use inspi thread as translation. :hehe:

acha

see my limited vocab I don't think I'll ever be able to construct sentences ;(

i think inspiron has med school exams so she won't be updating for a while :S

:) Reading this made me happy, someone that talks some sense.

To me, someone holding a degree means sod all, I know degree holders that are very nice people indeed and know about allsorts, I also know degree holders whose intellegence can be compared to Homer Simpsons failed attempt at making a bar b q.

I know of one person that got married in the UK from Pak, came here and just drives a truck for a living, however he tries his best at what he does and he provides the best he can for his family, alot of respect for him in my eyes.

These days degrees mean jack unless if you have to qualify to qualify.. GP's , Pharmacists etc

My degree is just a tick in the box, nothing else

If this is a serious issue fo ryou now, I would say no to him because otherwise I am sure one day in some petty fight this subject will crop and not much to come out of it apart from resentment.
And I would be willing to say that not having a degree but being successful should not be frowned upon by anyone especially a husband/wife

Peace inspiron

This is the first time I've come to this thread and it is very busy indeed ... :)

My experience about university degrees is that the paper is overrated. The person in my opinion who gets a high degree has two traits:

1) Is well indoctrinated
2) Is well organised

Otherwise you may find things such as "ambition" and "zeal" and "character" and "charm" and "wit" exist in any camp and the degree has absolutely no bearing on it.

We can also conclude that the person who is more likely to be "compassionate" and "free-thinking" will be the person who did not get his numbers, unless of course there was some sort of expectation from his family to succeed - such as to compete in the glory before his peers in his broader family or to help rescue his struggling family from their economic situation.

I didn't get a great degree, but I did study one of the hardest ones ... my reasons were because I spent most of my time in frivolous parties and organising events, missing lectures ... I felt nothing was being taught in them ... I have been tutoring and still studying today - so I really value education, but I don't trust the university process as being one that makes us as truly educated as alumini used to be in the past. My life experiences have taught me a lot more - and in total that is not a lot at all - There is so much more left to learn.

I also find it confusing how "learning" can translate to being "ambitious" because I don't see that ... some of the greatest minds are less concerned about financial gain and much mroe enthused by discovery and intellectual progress. They can be more political rather than capitalistic in their outlook.

Learning for me has meant moral progress ... and my gain in worldly matters has purely come about as a matter of chance, du'as being accepted and being able to present myself in various situations with confidence.

I don't think uni drop out is a big deal if he has a good career.

education doesn't mean someone has to have degrees and diplomas.
someone with less education could also be very smart and someone with many degrees can also be lo$er in life.

may be im just too materialistic, but being a doc, why u wanna go for a guy who doesnt have formal education. Now I can totally understand if ur head over heels for the guy.