A questions regarding "Hoors"..

Everywhere in the Holy Quran it says that Hoors with big eyes will be there for U.. or when men enter Jannah, they will nikah with Hoors… so, I want to know what about the females? What about the wives of the men who get hoors? If they R “naik” & R also in Jannah, will they share their husbands or what?
Please enlighten me!

Men will get the Hoors + their worldly wives. Women will have their Husbands only. If the husband didn't make it to paradise then Allah (SWT) will marry them to some other man. ONLY men will get multiple Hoors. Women on the other hand will get one Husband. It is entirely wrong concept that women will get more then one husband.

[This message has been edited by Musalman (edited January 26, 2001).]

Originally posted by Musalman:
**Men will get the Hoors + their worldly wives. Women will have their Husbands only. If the husband didn't make it to paradise then Allah (SWT) will marry them to some other man. ONLY men will get multiple Hoors. Women on the other hand will get one Husband. It is entirely wrong concept that women will get more then one husband.

[This message has been edited by Musalman (edited January 26, 2001).]**

Are you saying according to Quran Allah discriminates against women. Good women end with their worldly husbands whereas men get women and hoors. What if somebody doesn't like their worldly husband?

Very little incentive for women to be good.

If I may say so, I do think the above answer is somewhat unfounded. Let us examine the evidence…

1. Hoor mentioned in the Qur’an

The word hoor occurs in the Qur’an in no less than four different places:

(1) In Surah Dukhan chapter 44, verse 54:

“Moreover, We shall join them to companions With beautiful, big and lustrous eyes.” [Al-Qur’an 44:54]

(2) In Surah Al-Tur chapter 52 verse 20:

“…And We shall join them to companions, with beautiful, big and lustrous eyes.” [Al-Qur’an 52:20]

(3) In Surah Rahman chapter 55 verse 72:

“Companions restrained (as to their glances), in goodly pavilions.” [Al-Qur’an 55:72]

(4) In Surah Al-Waqiah chapter 56 verse 22:

“And (there will be) companions with beautiful, big and lustrous eyes.” [Al-Qur’an 56:22]

2. Hoor Translated as Beautiful Maidens

Many translators of the Qur’an have translated the word hoor as ‘beautiful maidens’ especially in the Urdu translations. If hoor means ‘beautiful maidens’ or girls, then they are meant only for the men. Hence, what will the women get if they enter Paradise?

3. Meaning of Hoor

The word hoor is actually the plural of ahwar (applicable to man) and of haura (applicable to woman) and signifies a person having eyes characterized by hauar a special quality bestowed upon a good soul, male or female in paradise and it denotes the intense whiteness of the white part of the spiritual eye.

The Qur’an describes in several other verses that in paradise you will have azwaj which mean a pair or spouse or companion which means you will have spouses or companions pure and holy (mutaharratun means pure, holy).

*“But give glad tidings to those who believe and work righteousness, that their portion is gardens, beneath which rivers flow. Every time they are fed with fruits therefrom, they say: “Why, this is what we were fed with before”, for they are given things in similitude; and they have therein companions pure (and holy); and they abide therein (forever)”. [Al-Qur’an 2:25]

“But those who believe and do deeds of righteousness, We shall soon admit to Gardens, with rivers flowing beneath - their eternal home; therein shall they have companions pure and holy: we shall admit them to shades, cool and ever deepening”. [Al-Qur’an 4:57]*

Therefore the word hoor has no specific gender. Mohammad Asad has translated the word hoor as spouse and Abdullah Yusuf Ali as companion. Therefore according to some scholars a man in paradise will have a hoor that is a beautiful maiden with beautiful big and lustrous eyes and a woman in paradise will get a man with beautiful big and lustrous eyes.

4. Women will get something exceptional in Paradise

Many scholars say that in context, the word hoor used in the Qur’an refers only to ladies since gents are addressed. A reply that would be accepted by all types of people would rather be the answer given in the Hadith when a similar question was posed that if a man gets a hoor, a beautiful Maiden in Paradise, then what will the women get? The reply was that the women will get that which the heart has not desired for, the ear hasn’t heard off and the eye hasn’t seen, indicating that even the women will get something exceptional in Paradise.

I hope this helps.

They shoot partypoopers, don’t they?

[This message has been edited by Mr Partypooper (edited January 26, 2001).]

that was really informative partypooper

so what this means is that hoors could be either male or female?
also, could u explain the “females getting something exceptional” part a bit more? list a few sources maybe?

^^Believe to Understand^^**

[This message has been edited by hk (edited January 26, 2001).]

Thanks

… Yes, hoor is a plural term and is not confined to a particular gender.

My fault. I should have said “females also getting something exceptional”. I was trying to respond to Musalman’s assertion without making things clear. Sorry

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

Your sources:
http://www.understanding-islam.com/rpr/pr-035.htm

The Qur’an, while referring to the rewards of the pious in the Hereafter, has categorically stated that:

1. All persons – men as well as women – shall be fully rewarded for their deeds and shall not be wronged in the least (Aal Imraan 3: 195, Al-Nisaa 4: 124, Al-Nahl 16: 97, Ghaafir 40: 40);

2. They shall get all that they may desire and all that they can ask for, as a first gift from God. His blessings would follow subsequently (Fussilat 41: 31); and

3. They – men as well as women – shall have perfected counterparts/spouses as a reward of their deeds (Al-Baqarah 2: 25, Aal Imraan 3: 15, Al-Nisaa 4: 57).

As should be obvious from the above points, there is absolutely no difference in the reward of men and women, as it is mentioned in the Qur’an.

I hope this helps.

They shoot partypoopers, don’t they?

lol, hk jee, you want more don’t you?

Ok, please ignore that comment.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----

i just knew rani would comment on this thread speacially after what musalman said

dil-o-jaan say nafrat kerti hai pakistanio say aur musalmano say..get a life girl

Sherazz bud, my pal, mera yaar, lets gang up on her, shall we? HOLY war? lol

*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*

As usual you are wrong, i have no nafrat towards anybody..muslim or non-muslim. Unlike you i like and respect all people handsome, not so handsome and average. I have the capacity to accept all people regardless of their color, creed, gender and looks which is something that doesn’t seem to be part of your personality.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited January 26, 2001).]

Rani, I can’t believe my mind reading something from a Brahmin that has all those “civil” words in it. EQUALITY FOR ALL - no discrimination. :rolleye:

Sherazz, she got you there bud, see what happens when you “fakhar” your self.

I tried to tell you, but you wouldn’t listen.

Take it easy…my friends.

watcher u should notice it..she is always against muslims and pakistanis..all her posts are against them..and then she says she doesnt hate anyone lol..very funny rani

and rani honey dont even use that thread of mine against me..i just started it as a humorous thread but it kinda went the other way..i dont hate anyone..i even have alot of indian friends..its just sad that every post u write its against us

You better believe it… you have my permission to roll your eyes as many times as you want.

watcher if u really knew me well u would know i have no fakhar or anything like that..but kuch baatain kuch logo ko sabaq denay kay liye bhi kerni hoti hai..i hope u understand

Originally posted by Sheraz CT:
watcher u should notice it..she is always against muslims and pakistanis..all her posts are against them..and then she says she doesnt hate anyone lol..very funny rani

I fail to see the funny part, your sense of humor is different than most people's...I forgot you only like good looking people.

and rani honey dont even use that thread of mine against me..i just started it as a humorous thread but it kinda went the other way..i dont hate anyone..i even have alot of indian friends..its just sad that every post u write its against us

Really, Indians must be very naive and stupid to be friends with someone like you. Well read the language you used in your first post. Also, read the most of the posts on this forum and tell me who they are against...you guessed right against "Indians".

Dear Rani,

I will roll my eyes as many times as I CAN.

But than again, you are a brahmin, and you always show your hatred and predudice when it comes to Pakistan and Muslims in general. I have seen it not once, not twice, not thrice, and not fourice but as many times I have read your posts, that many times - all I saw was you bickering hate, biases and irrelevant comments about islam/muslim and Pakistan. I mean if its once or twice, I can understand, but every time I see your posts, I see the same. GET OVER US, lady!!!

Sherazz, I understand, my friend.

YOU take it easy now.

How do you know i am a Brahmin. BTW, you hate Kaffirs lot more than any non muslims hates you. Hate bigots hate that is fact of life. Learn to like and accept others and their religion, if you want them to accept you and your religion.

BTW, rolling up your eyes and jumping up and down would not help.

Hk,
Dont worry as per my research women will get Slaves (unimaginable)better than D.D. & that too as many as you want-Lol ,he he he So you can eat your heart out against those men who have 4 wives & you dont.

Rani there still time for you to convert & not miss the chance of getting your heart desire "slaves"in jannah ROFL ha ha

"The greatest trick that the devil played was to convince that he doesn’t exist"movie-Usual Suspect

i dont know about the naive part rani but they sure are stupid

stop defending them its better if u just leave this site..itna bayhiss hona bhi theek nahi hai rani ji