A question to Shias?

salam,

I just need someone to clarify some question:

Is matam neccessary if you are a shia, can you still be shia without matam. Is there any shia that doesnt do matam at majilis?

Why do you have taboot processions? Isnt that a form of shirk or bidah. I mean to replicate the events of the past. For example, in muharram their is procession of the horse. How would this represent the actual horse if it isnt?

Do you know of anyone that has converted from shia to sunni?

Please can somone answer these questions for me?

thanks

Wasalam,
Pretty intresting questions u got here, am goin to try to answer some of em, i cud be wrong.

If by matam u mean hitting on ur chest, I am 99% sure that matam isnt necessary.

There are alot of people who wud stand on side and listen to nohas but they are doing matam in light tone, I cant really recall anyone who doesnt do matam at all.
Abt the horse thats called Zuljanah, It represents the Horse of Imam Hussain a.s. On eid ul azha we sacrifie an animal remembering the lamb that was sacrified replacing Hazrat Ismail a.s, this isnt the actual animal we sacrifie but represents the one that was sacrified back then. Same applies here, this isnt the actual horse but represents the Horse of Imam Hussain a.s

I havent met anyone who is converted from shia to sunni permanently but one of the guys i knew from my village he was shia for while and then sunni for a while and then shia and then sunni and so on, This is what i have heared abt him, However i did see him reciting Majalis in Moharam, and last time i met him he was shia.

hopefully someone with more knowledge can answer all of ur questions in better way. :)

Re: A question to Shias?

thanks aqueel:)..I have been to a majilis before (no I am not shia) and as I wasnt performing matam, everyone tends to stare at you which I think is wrong. I listened to the sermon but after was just standing on the side doing nothing but I dont think people should look at what others do should they?

Also, I dont understand why shias curse sahaba and prophets wife?? Isnt Allah the judge?

I am not insulting any religion or sect as I respect all but I just needed some answers to the questions as noone gives me a proper answer!

Another question is why shias have different hadith and dont follow bukhari or muslim? Do they think these hadith are all wrong? And how do shia know their hadith is true? I should be also asking mysefl the question how do sunnis know that their hadith are true?

Wasalaam,

I believe Matam is a way of expressing greif and sorrow and love for the person who died. I was reading on net and learn’t this act has also being performed by companions of the Prophet: Please read below:

**Sheikh Abdul Haq Mohaddis Hanafi Dehlavi who is regarded as one of the greatest Scholars of the Sunni Sect, describing the events at the fatal illnes of the Holy Prophet (s.a.w) in his book ‘Modaarejun Nubuwwat’ vol II page 544 records:-

“Bilal emerged beating his head and loudly wailing (from the room of Aisha).”**

Your question regarding companions have been answered by Maulana Ishaq in the following video:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?do…070561&q=ishaq

Hope that helps.

I will get back to u soon sara, sorry for tge delay :)

I also want to know if matam is mandatory in shias.

same for cursing sahabas & prophet's wives. I am not a big fan of some of them, but curse is a waste of time and energy to me.

about hadith, source is the problem. Being close to prophet, and being in ghar-e-hira, being among few of his time who could read n write, I would expect most hadith to come from Ali. Sadly bukhari and muslim have very few hadith attributed from him. something is not right. I have not read shia's hadith book though, but I am thinking it will be more credible than this.

thanks aqueel:)

Another question is that why shias curse Prophets wife, Aisha, even though it is clearly mentioned in the quran to respect Aisha? Cursing would go contradict the holy quran wouldn't it?

Syedana Ali :razi: was not in Cave of Hira with him… Cave of Hira was the place where Prophet:saw2: used to go alone and where the first revelation was sent down.

Cave of Thaur was the cave during migration to Madinah where Sydena Abu Bak’r :razi: was with him…

As for your argument about being close to prophet:saw2:, a vast majority of ahaadeeth in sunni books came from the closest most person of Prophet:saw2:, that is from his beloved wife Syeda umm-ul-Momineen Aisha Siddiqa :razi2:

well offcourse they shldnt stare but this problem isnt the problem with a certian sect or religion but our desi community has this problem of staring at people… i went to Sunni Mosques few times and sometimes people give me the looks and act wiered coz i prayed with my hands open. I am sorry that u were treated bad but it will keep happening as long as u r part of desi community.

Almighty ALLAH:subhanahu: recites Darood on Prophet s.a.w and When we (muslims) reciet Darood on Prophet s.a.w we feel proud that we are doing something that ALLAH :subhanahu: does himself. sending lanat on kazebeen, zalemeen and munafiqeeen is what ALLAH did in Quran and i Quran doesnt Forbid us from doing it.

Offcourse ALLAH is the judge but we rnt telling someone " Tumhari Namaz kabool nahi ho gi" Thats Judging. we are simply cursing those who were against Prophet s.a.w, Imam Ali a.s and his family and were against Haq.

Abt sahaba, We will be proud considering ourselves there servent, However Loyality with Prophet s.a.w, his Religion and his Family are required. Same Applies to Wives Of Prophet s.a.w. The wives who Followed Quran and Stayed Loyal To Prophet s.a.w and Islam are repected by All sects.

When we Talk abt Respecting Ale-Mohammed s.a.w some of our sunni Brothers claim, just becuase they were family of Prophet s.a.w doesnt mean they get jail free ticket … off course not, We respect Prophet s.a.w’s Family for what they did and how they spent there lives.
Same applies to Wives, Being Prophet s.a.w’s wife doesnt mean they r hujjat on us, if Quran tells Prophet s.a.w wives to stay home and when we see ayesha not following Quran and goin on battle field against Imam Ali a.s then how can we call her same As Bibi Khadija s.a who were so beloved that Prophet s.a.w didnt marry another woman when bibi Khadija s.a was Around or How can ayesha be same as those who did Follow Quran and Stayed in there homes and Showed Loyality with Prophet s.a.w, Quran and Islam.

Abt book of Ahadees, when i compare Shia’s and Sunni’s i only take ahadees in consideration that are found in Sunni and Shia books. Those ahadees Got to be true.

I am sorry if i offended u or anyone else andI hope u find someone who can answer ur questions more clearly such that they make more sense to you. May ALLAH guide all of us on right Path.

Wasalam
Aqeel.

According to Dictionary.com curse means:

Our ideal, the prophet (s.a.w) never ever taught us to curse even the worst people on earth. If Allah (s.w.t) has cursed Abu-Lahab in the Quran, that is HIS right because HE is the ALMIGHTY. The prophet (saw) never gave us any right to curse anyone. He only taught us to pray for forgiveness of people because we (the ummah) have been chosen to spread peace instead of hatred and curse.

Just my understanding, I might be wrong. Allah (s.w.t) knows BEST! May Allah (s.w.t) guide us all.

When we ask these questions, we should just keep in mind that not all shia curse sahabas, or the wives of Prophet PBUH. Thoese who do would always have an explaination for it and it won't change just like a group of non shias who disrespect Imam Ali and Ahl-e-bait. This is like one of those never ending debates people are having for thousands of years with no productive results.

As for people staring you is simply a desi thing. It has nothing to do with Shia or Sunni. Mattam is not necessary to be a shia, there are plenty of shias who observe Muharram without Mattam.

There is no group in Muslims who disrespect Syedana Ali :razi: and the rest of Ahl-e-Bait.

Actually, AQ there are many fanatic sunnis and fanatic wahabi groups who do. Unfortunately I have had first hand experience with some of them that is why I said there are extremes in every sect.

Astaghfarullah, I dont think that anyone does that. As a sunni, I know that we love and respect Hazarat Ali :razi2:and its part of our imaan that Fatima bint Mohammed :saw2: is the head of all the women of jannat and Hazrat Hussain :razi2: is the sardar of all the youth of jannat

I do not know which sunnies you met Lusi… but if they were sunnies, find out what they say in arabic during the Jumuah Sermon about Syedana Ali, Abbas, Hassan-O-Hussain Ridhwaanullahay Aliyehim A’jmaeen… What are the words used for Syeda Fatmatuz Zahra :razi2:

Yaar aap har baat main bichaaray wahaabiyoN ko naa kheech liyaa kerain. Wahabis in fact very strictly follow the path of sahaba's and for that matter consider Hazrat Ali amongst the greatest of greatest sahabi.

TLK, I am sorry, never wanted to offend anyone but what I said wasn't just asumptions but the experience I had with certain people of these sects. Again like I said there are extremes in every group and we can not clump all in one pot.

Aq, sure, I will see if I can find out.

firstly whether we curse Ali ,aisha abu bakr or any other human that does not make us a nonmuslim ...lets be clear on that

^ True brother, but it won't make us a good Muslim either. A good Muslim would follow the teachings of the Prophet (saw) which doesn't include cursing in any way.

And about Hazat Ali (r.a), I have not yet met / heard / read a single person in my life who has said even a minor negative remark / hint against Hazrat Ali (r.a). So cursing of Hazrat Ali (r.a) is not that common in any sect as compared to use of bad words for Hazrat Abu bakr (r.a), Hazrat Ayesha (r.a)...etc. Which is not a good sign, because if they were that bad The Prophet (saw) would not have chosen them as part of his very close companions. Remember, Allah (s.w.t) did bless the Prophet (saw) the knowledge of each and every "Munafiq" and "kafir" present in his life. The prophet (saw) even warned people against "Yazid" when yazid was just a child, that is why he refused to meet him. IF he knew what Yazid would do later in life, then why wouldn't he know what the rest of the people in his life would do in future.

Hence instead of wasting our time on cursing people who are not alive anymore, let us better utilize this time in useful acts of spreading peace. If we are so desperate to curse, then let us curse the pharoah "Firo'n" (nafs) inside of each one of us and learn to control it (by the grace of Allah) as it deserves relatively more beating and cursing than any Fir'on, let alone the companions of the Prophet (saw).

P.S. Just to clarify... by non shia I do not mean non muslim but muslims from other sects.