A question to ladies about dressing...

Re: A question to ladies about dressing...

diwana bhai, aap ko sharam nahi aati?

Nahi sharam ko bi Inse sharam athi hai :D so athi hi nahii :)

Hahaha...bilkul sahi.

Re: A question to ladies about dressing…

I was merely asking for proof. :blush:

Religions have basic guidelines for hijab....you adjust them according to the culture and society you live in.

^By basic religious guidelines you mean covering head to tow except face and hands??? or the basic is something other than that??

go to post no. 15 ...........

Whatever it says in the Scripture. Quran tells women to cover their bosom and wrap a cloak around themselves, and don't act in a way that attracts people towards you.

Now if you're in Saudi you'll interpret it according to their culture, if in Malaysia then according to their culture, and also Pakistanis will interpret it according to their culture so a pair of trousers and long kurti might cover you properly but if you're visiting a conservative area or a village in Pakistan you might wanna change into shalwar kameez to blend in and not to attract the people.

^basically.........its your thorax area + privates and thats it?? arms and legs or head isn't included??

Re: A question to ladies about dressing…

aap ko sharam nahi ati? aap k ghar maa behen nahi hai?

Nope. :(

ofcourse relegion coz i love to wear abaya.

nomica, what is the point of this thread? there are lots of threads debating hijab, covering etc already.

you just want to hear women justify their choices (to prove what exactly?), well there are plenty of posts like that on this forum already.

i would expect you have reasons to justify all your lifestyle choices, unless you were born without free will.

lol....don't ask me for approval. This is what you understood from the verse.

approval?? like seriously??

You made a statement that thats the basic only.......and i am just asking for clarification about YOUR statement........ offcourse if you are unable to explain what you said....thats fine..

because i had always known that women are supposed to cover head to toe...except hand,feet and face............

I think it depends on the surroundings too the kind of people you live amongst. From what I know one shouldn't wear clothing that
1. makes one look prominent amongst others
2. be revealing at all (thin fabric i.e)
3. or be tightly clung to show the figure of the person
4. it should not mimic that of the opposite sex

I know what the rulings are Nomi , the sattar and all and am not getting into that. I however don't understand the pardah of some women who cover themselves completely but have their eyes so much done that they attract people's looks on them anyway and yet they admonish those who don't cover themselves from head to toe or question their faith. I also believe that one should dress modestly according to the **place **they are in. Hijab and pardah is not just a literal term but it is also of the 'nazar', action and words. Like keeping ones gaze lower and guarding their modesty.
And this equally implies on men too.

So I would rather be dressed in a simple casual shalwar kameez/trousers/kurta/jeans (not the skinny ones) and a decent top with my hair tied and the least amount of makeup rather than wearing an diamonte embellished headscarf and a flashy abaya with loads of eyeliner and kohl in my eyes to a market or a public place.

Again there isn't a point in dissing or disappriving anybody's way of dressing as it is a a matter of personal spirituality and everybody has different circumstances...one should also not force themselves to dress in a way that makes them a constant target of mockery and it mars their self esteem.

At the end of the day it's the inside that counts.

I didn't make a statement...I quoted from Quran. You're the one who's making a statement by declaring it "head to toe".

Please quote exactly from the Quran (I suppose you're muslim) because no where in Quran it says "cover head to toe". That's your personal interpretation of the Quranic verse and I'm not saying you're right or wrong because that's probably how you understood the verse.

I hope you know that Islam doesn't promote monoculture. And also, Islam gives women full freedom to wear what they are comfortable in. Talibanic punishments for women for not wearing burqa are unislamic because Quran suggests to muslim and pious women to cover up and act modest, it doesn't allow men to admonish women for not wearing what they want them to wear.

Just a little advice, men shouldn't be obsessed over a woman's clothing coz Aysha Takia might look ravishing to the eyes but men are given an order to lower their gaze in such situations.

Religion!

I agree with the 4 points of your post ... but

For some reason I don'T see people in diamonte embellished or flashy abayas with loads of eyeliner or kohl - that might be where you are but you are generalizing! Just like not everyone in shalwar kameez would come under decent dressing! =)

I didn't say ALL people I see are like that. I said this is the way I wouldn't choose to dress up as. And yes shalwar kameez too have various levels of decency. :)