A question for indian muslims in this forum

As a indian muslim i would like to ask my fellow indian muslims whether they have actually suffered discrimination because of thier relgion in india?
i have faced it many times but this does not mean that all hindus are dicriminating against muslims thats not true but this aparthied does exist and i have faced it

Originally posted by kabir:
As a indian muslim i would like to ask my fellow indian muslims whether they have actually suffered discrimination because of thier relgion in india?
i have faced it many times but this does not mean that all hindus are dicriminating against muslims thats not true but this aparthied does exist and i have faced it

why dont u tell ur experiences of discrimination, to begin with.

I have faced discrimination, because in my last company they did not promote me to the President of the company. The company was family owned and eldest son of the owner became president.

So…sad..
How can they do it…

let me tell you folks my story of discrimination..
I was one of the 70 candidates for the IAF Short service Commision in dehradun year 1997.
although i am a hindu...i wasn't selected in the last three...and there was a muslim among the last three..his name was ABBAS
I know as i was not selected beacuse i am not a muslim and they know it won't be a issue if they don't select me...
I still remember that day... and i will be forever in my memories..
HOW CAN THEY SELECT A MUSLIM OVER ME....

Yes, I was so damn pathetic that Azim premji wouldn't hire me in Wipro. If a fellow muslim doesn't help a poor muslim like me then how can I expect a hindu to take me.

Govt of India has also stopped taking muslims since Vajpayee govt has come to the power. However my father had a decent job in East Pakistan, he left all that there and came to India to suffer in India.

AK

My experience is a bit different. I was to interview a few of technicians/supervisors in a large process industry. As this unit runs day and night, people are required to run all the three shifts, non-stop.

Our top management insisited that there should be a good percentage of Muslims in the selected candidates or else they will find that many Hindus run away to their home during festivals causing lots of problem.

I have not heard of discrimination against Muslims in the private sector, but there are complaints against the state governments for Muslims are not represented adequately in jobs.

Iam not going to relate any personal or heard testimony

Neither iam hear to hear how Kabir didnt get into this or that college or Akif was not hired

The haegomony of overwhelming majority does not need to be proven.When any country is composed of 80to 90 %of one type & remainig divided among the different minority group ,it is imperative that EVERRYTHING will be designed for the majority by the majority & of the majority...

There are no other country other than USA b/c of its sensitivity of minority that ,majority comes anywhere close to being trusted...still it is much better to be wasp white anglo saxon protestent here in usa than jew or latino or black or asian .However it is better for minopritythan anyother couintry specially INDIA ...which has monopoly on discrimnation ingrained by virtue of its legetem,ised caste system which uno has declared rascism...

Job & college admission you can live with but suffocation from haegonomy you cant...

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

Yes, indeed there is a lot of discrimination. Like there was all kinds of hypocritical noises over Ameena case in Hyderabad.
Ameena was a 12 year old gorl whose father gave her away in marriage to a 60 year old Arab sheikh.
All the Hindus and Sikhs and some brainwasheed Muslims made a lot of noise about it.
Also there was the case of Shah bano, a 60 year old Muslim women whose husband divorced her and wouldn't pay compensation.
These are the incidents I know of.
Kabir, since you started the topic yourself, can you enlighten us by giving instances of how you were discriminated against because you are a Muslim. Or tell us about incidents you know of?

well first of all the topic was addressed to indian muslims and i got some ugly noses poking in anyways now coming back to the topic well as i said earlier i dont intend to say that all hindus are racist or that every muslim suffers from prejudice but there are cases which happen every day and its no point ignoring them or pushing them under carpet .
well this happened in 1992 during the bombay riots it was a time when bombay was burning police and shiv sena goondas were terrorising muslims
i could see from our flat that a muslim slum nearby was being torched there were screams heard and people were running for thier lives. i decided to call up the fire brigade so that the fire is extinguinshed
i rang the phone the fire brigade man picked up the phone i asked him to hurry to our locality as the houses were buring the man on the phone asked me which area was the fire? i told him the name of the locality or the slums rather which were inhabited by muslims, the man asked me my name to which i replied.and the man who was a hindu told me to tell those people to go to pakistan.
besides this incident there are times when i iam introduced to people and as i have a very secular name which does not show a persons religious identity people are very nice to me till they hear my sir name "i can see color change on thier faces. besides there are many cases which i have faced or others like me have come across

[This message has been edited by kabir (edited January 24, 2002).]

Kabir, After reading your Anti-India Posts on this forum, I am gonna blame you not him. You must have said something $T**** to him. Anyways Maratha police especially Mumbai police are known for their ShivSena Bias. Even one of the their MP was spotted in an Open Jeep during 92/93 riots. That dosn't mean that There is descrimination against muslims in Jobs and studies. Were you denied admission in any school just because you were a muslim ?

AK

Kabir, recounting experiences during communal riots and saying peoples ‘color changes’ when they know you are a Muslim are pathetic attempts at prooving communal bias.
Let me educate you a little bit about what ‘Communal Prejudice’ means. It is

1. The government officially insults your religion. For example Pakistani Government
    declaring Ahmadis as heretics Officially

1. The government passes laws restricting the activities of a particular communtiy like Nazis did to Jews.
    3.The governement limits the role in decision making of a particular community, like Pakistan does for Christians and the few Hindus who are left.
    So if you could come up with better examples of discrimination it will be better.
    For example many of the employers advertising for Gulf country jobs in Bombay openly ask for Muslims. THat is a good example of open, barbaric, uncultured prejudice

Again riots ,jobs admissions are steretypical complaints .Riots happen every so many years & a muslim has less chance of dying in riots than preventable diseases like hepatitis ,cholera t.b. etc.etc.which is possible for all to achieve .Everyday to day problem requires better understanding ...I dont mean kindness or sympathy or patronising but EDUCATION about other communities difficulties.Like SENSITIVITY ,awareness effort .In case of Gays ,Lesbian & AIDS not very popular group even in west, there is effort to humanise them & make ppl sensitive to be caring towards them by educating why ppl. are gay or lesbian or that whatever they are they still DESERVE HUMAN treament when ppl. suffer from AIDS.

In India it is blame game .If muslims are poor it must be ALL there mistake .If they are les educated ,THERE is nothing anybody can or willing to do about it .THEY DESERVE EVERY ILL FATE THAT MAYY FALL ON THEM NATURAL OR UNNATURAL.
There is no doubt being minority is directly related to lost oppertunity .poverty & all that .
There might be minority like Parsi in India or Jew in usa who are stronger than majority but when the playing ground is levelled minoritism =less power=less favour=less wealth

[This message has been edited by Azad Munna (edited January 24, 2002).]

asif i must say you got a good imagination
iam asking for help where peoples life are at stake and you think i must have abused the guy with the power to save lives?
asif i doubt if you are muslim .and if you were then you wont blame the victim instead of the accused.
and as far as the other incident of prejudice is concerned well it happens to every muslim at one point or the other. though as i said earlier iam not accusing all hindus of being biased.but discrimination does take place so instead of pushing the matter under carpet lets discuss it. i can remember one other case when i was in college i was in college and was denied first prize inspite of thundrous applause from the crowd. every student of our college and the crowd felt there was no match for me but i was denied prize even my teachers remarked that had i not been a muslim the results would have been different. iam not accusing any one. i think many of the hindus are wonderfull people including my own teachers who were so helpful but the fact is that prejudice is there in our society

[This message has been edited by kabir (edited January 25, 2002).]

Devil, this question was addressed to Indian Muslims and not you… Your pathetic attempts to convince people that the Muslims in India are treated like kings are not needed here… They demolished a historic mosque, how low can they get. Just goto the streets of Old Delhi near Jamia Masjid to see how the Muslims over there are living, very sad

And its obvious from the honest Indian Muslims here that they are indeed victims of discrimination.

Originally posted by kabir:
*asif i must say you got a good imagination.iam asking for help where peoples life are at stake and you think i must have abused the guy with the power to save lives? *

Reading all that hatred you have in your heart against India and Indians (Read Hindus) I can't think of anything else but you making up a story. Given a chance you will act exactly like those hindu butchers. Read my mesg before you write anything ******. I said Mumbai police is biased when it comes to Shiv Sena and muslims.

*iam asking for help where peoples life are at stake and you think i must have abused the guy with the power to save lives? *

Yes, in your outrage of hate and anger you can do that. I dont believe you.

asif i doubt if you are muslim .and if you were then you wont blame the victim instead of the accused.

Do I need a certificate from you for being a muslim ?? You are free to think whatever you want.

*and as far as the other incident of prejudice is concerned well it happens to every muslim at one point or the other. *

How are you so sure about every muslim ?? speak for yourself. Perhaps it's fed to you since your childhood, you are muslim that's the reason so many bad things happen to you in this country. Stop blaming others for your own problems.

*though as i said earlier iam not accusing all hindus of being biased. *

If you are not accusing all the Hindus then why do you feel that Dawood Ibrahim is your Hero. You feel happy that he masterminded the bomb blast in 1992 and took revenge of the Babri Demolition. Tell me how many RSS/Shiv Sena leaders were killed in those bomb blasts. ZERO. All those who were killed were ordinary citizens like me and you and some of them were Hindus and some of them were muslims too. He would have been my Hero if he had blasted Advani or Bal Thakeray. But no, that coward doesn't have the guts to do that he sits in a mansion in karachi and blast innocents people.
He is your hero because he killed Indians and tried to kill Indian economy.

but discrimination does take place so instead of pushing the matter under carpet lets discuss it.

Who is denying discrimination ? It is there in every Govt office, on the basis of Caste,religion, Regionalism. A Brahmin prefers a Brahmin, A Hindu prefers a Hindu, A Tamil prefers a Tamil. I am not denying that, It is there everywhere, isn't this smae descrimination there in the west ? I know a turkish in US who runs Pizza Outlet (Turkish Owner). His owner arranged everythin for him once he knew that he was from Turkey. I bet that Turkish owner wont do that for me. In Singapore, there is clear descrimination when it comes to Chinese and non chinese.

** i can remember one other case when i was in college and was denied first prize inspite of thundrous applause from the crowd. every student of our college and the crowd felt there was no match for me but i was denied prize even my teachers remarked that had i not been a muslim the results would have been different.**

This is a Pure BS. Is that the reason why you have so much hatred ? These things happen day in and day out in India where the deserving candidates dont win awards. All my employers were Hindus and I never felt any descrimination. Its all in your mind, you always want to blame someone for your problems.

*iam not accusing any one. i think many of the hindus are wonderfull people including my own teachers who were so helpful but the fact is that prejudice is there in our society *

Another BS. I dont believe anything you say. You have an amazing way of cooking up stories. How can a person who feels happy when Dawood kills innocents in Mumbai hoping that they are from the other religion and also think about them 'that they are wonderful people'.

I dont believe a person whose heros are Haji Mastans and Dawood Ibrahims.

AK

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited January 25, 2002).]

Asif_K keep the good work.
As you pointed out, Muslims were killed as well as Hindus in the Bombay blasts.
It is true of 911 too. SOmehow some people don't seem to look at it that way.

although the topic suggests ONLY FOR INDIAN MUSLIMS ,it tends to potriate indian hindus as racist.So its my duty as an indian to question it. and BTW who are you to question it…
and i am not trying to convince anyone that muslims are treated like kings in india.
they surely are not…they are treated as normal indians.
But you won’t understand it.
and regarding the condition of muslims living on streets of jama masjid ,delhi
We also have hindus living in dharavi,bombay
the largest slum in asia…what do you say about that…why doesn’t your heart beat for them..
is your heart a racist…
first clear the **** of religion from your eyes and then talk to me…

[This message has been edited by devil123 (edited January 25, 2002).]

Same can be said of you - Only people who have any rights here to say such thing are the moderators and not you.

And as if Indian Muslims are treated like kings in Pakistan. Didn’t we see that in EAST PAKISTAN. If they are treated like kings there wont be an MQM and those immigrant wont be called Mohazirs. So just shut up and stop pretending that you are better than those Indian fanatics, infact you are worse than them. You are no well wisher.

What did you do to help us when they demolished the mosque, apart from killing few innocents in some Bomb Blasts ? Since you cant help us, dont show your sympathy. All your moral help stops at Kashmir.

Yeah only Muslims live in Old Delhi, jama masjid,sadar bazar,chandni chowk area and all of them are poor. Come to my area in Jharkhand state in India and you will see how muslims live there - Name of the Place Dhatkidih, East Singhbhum, Jharkhand - India - 831001.
Btw Many of Those Muslims who you are calling poor are the ones who came from dhaka and other areas of East Pakistan between 1965 and 1971 due to the Pakistani hospitality rendered to them.

Yes, Indeed we are the worst victims of Partition - Na Ghar ke Na Ghat ke.

Asif_K bhai, one of the few consolations Pakis have for all their miseries is the thought that Indian Muslims are worse off

Please don’t puncture their balloon