A Qadr Query

I listened to a Yasmin Mogahed lecture on a similar topic a while ago and she said that when we are hurt by the way others treat us…we have to keep in mind that their harsh/unjust treatment of us is the qadr of Allah..that He destined this for us…and our offenders are only following Allah’s plan. Therefore we shouldn’t get mad at them or nurse a grudge toward them because it was His qqpadr that they would hurt and that we would get hurt.

But …surely Allah would never will or want us to be harsh/cold/unjust/disrespectful to anyone…whether it’s a Muslim, non-Muslim, or even an animal? So is it really predestined by Him that others will hurt us? Does Allah make people hurt us? Does Allah make us hurt others? It doesn’t seem that He would as that exempts us from any accountability/responsibility towards others.

How does one merge the two?

Re: A Qadr Query

Allah SWT don't want/allow us to hurt others, BUT IF others hurt us then we shouldn't sit there and think why they hurt us or cry, we should think what the person did to us was their deeds,they are answerable to ALLAH SWT for this. And this is why we are told to do Sabr and that's why Sabr KA itna Zyada enaam hai ke kaha Gaya hai ke Sabr Karne walo ke sath Allah SWT hai.

Now again m qouting ayat of surah at tawba...

if you can learn n understand these ayat inshaAllah you will find the answer

If good befalls you, it distresses them; but if disaster strikes you, they say, "We took our matter [in hand] before," and turn away while they are rejoicing. (50) Say, "Never will we be struck except by what Allah has decreed for us; He is our protector." And upon Allah let the believers rely. (51) surah at tawba

wassalam u alaikum warahamtullah

Peace redvelvet,

Plz provide link of Yasmin Mogahed’s lecture, if possible. :hat:

Lk,

She has many lectures. I watched it quite a while ago, it wasn't so recent. There were many points in her lecture that I agreed with. In one part...I vaguely remember her saying that we get stuck on why a person hurt us and how they could treat us so coldly...and that we should remember nothing happens without the will of Allah. Maybe her point was that instead of stressing ourselves out with why, why, why....just accept it's Qadar...and to move on.

Sometime we do sabar, and sometime we don’t… Insans are complicated creature of God… :bummer:

I don't know this Yasmin lady, but like to ask her if someone comes and take life of someone close to her, would she not go to the court and seek justice, or will she take it as qadr and be happy with that.

And the ones who hurt us are not simple either. They may be more complicated than us.

Peace redvelvet,

I, never heard her lecture before. In fact I heard her name first time and in this very first thread. Isliyeh I wanna listen her lecture on this topic and will appreciate if a link is provided :)

Dude it was one small segment of her lecture. At the time I agreed with her...because accepting seemed easier than questioning over and over and over.

LK

Mujhay milay to na. And I'd have to listen to it again myself to be more certain.

What's the best way of showing sabar? If one asks Allah for justice...is that sabr? Would asking Allah to forgive the person...would that be a better example of sabar than the former?

Insan is not wholey dictated by Allah (:hmmm: bary bol ki mafi) … He has given us free will too… I know… one can bring an argument… pata Allah ki marzi say nahi hil sakta… nahi hil sakta… mager phir bhi… Allah also grants free will…

One can hurt… free will of that person… iss main koi rocket science nahi hia…

Many scholars say... a person who is in pain... Allah forgives his/her sins.... likewise if one is hurting by his/her free will.... Allah would transfer his/her deeds to Mazloom...

this might help you

Hardships And Pathway To God - Yasmen Mogahed - Video Dailymotion

Keep calm and ask Allah's forgiveness for your own aswell...as above said the pain or suffering inshaAllah removes ones sin...
The seerah of muhammad sallal lahu alehe wassalam gives you the example of sabr...tell me have you ever read taeef incident..?

^I had watched the lecture on youtube; I do not remember the title. I don't know if the one you've posted is the one I had listened to. She had many good points that I agreed with. I know there was a part that dealt with qadar and it could even be that I misunderstood it. But as for her other points...such as whether a trial brings you close to Allah or drives you further away...and making Allah your end goal of your dua/ibadah instead of making the worldly desire an end goal..I agree with.

Results might be pre destined, but not actions. That is why we will be judged based on our actions, and not results.

You're right. I need to be more patient. Yes, I have heard the Taif story. Rasool SAWS didn't pray against the people harming him. His prayer focused more on his own limitations/weaknesses as opposed to the injustices of the people, I think.

Many verses of Quran tell us we will be tested..so it can be anything...either you hurt by human being..you get accident..you lost you loved ones..you get divorced...you lose your parents in childhood...etc etc..on the other that i believe the hardest test i feel...when you get everything you are blessed by Allah with everything...may we be among those who remember Him in any ciondition Ameen..Alhamdulilah Ala kulli haalin