a pakistani all- female version of junoon

…if there was one what would your first reaction be???

tell me the truth.

They’d have to fight through a hell lot of put downs is such a band existed …
they’d have to deal with issues culture wise … gender wise … religion wise …
the list goes on.

But overall, honestly Aphro, i’d just yell out to them:
girl power!!!

I dunno. I cant imagine a typical Pakistani girl doing whatever ALi Azmat does on stage. Apni larkiyaan to nazuk si bholi bhali hi achi lagti hay.

But I definitely support women in the Pakistani music scene. I mean who do we have. Hadiqa Kiyani? She is real nice and all but her music is mediocre. We need someone to match up Junoon and Junaid's talents.

i’m a big fan of female-junoon band [in advance ppl]…
v shud name them ‘junoonian’…

thanx 4 sharing…
God bless u…

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

well cant think of a female who could be like Junoon......but i think that hadiqa and shazia manzoor are pretty good now a days

~Its hard to fall in love, but even harder to fall out of it~

It would include all the activities performed by the members of Junoon. Nah, I wouldn't favor it. I mean if, that one singer, Komal Rizwi doenst suit that outgoing style, I doubt a couple of girls jumping up and down on the stage would be appreciated by the general public. The story would be differnt if such a group came out with songs as good as some of Junoon's songs yet kept within the cultural limits...

waisay junooniaN is not a bad name.

thanks for sharing DerVaisH

You know what we need. We need a good girl band like the spice girls. So all of us guys drool over 'em!

What do yoiu guys think! Return of the BEnjamin sisters? In tight pants though! Kitnaa zabardast idea hay!

nahi people i don’t mean literally like junoon where they’re jumping up and down the stage, and hair flying everywhere and singings like as if they’re yelping or something .
i’m referring more to the type of music played.

hadiqa’s real good, no doubt about that. infact, not only that … but also a trend setter who’s also sorta carved the road in a way for the pakistani music scene -i guess. she has a good image, she plays an acoustic, and also, her image is very, well, appealing ..

and as for shazia manzoor , well … her songs are really good. but,
how nirma dances infront of the audience ??

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

com’on ! surely, there must be some sort of other way to have your music appeal to more people. especially when it
comes to performing on stage ..

but i can’t honestly think of anyother females in that kinda area .. with modern paki music..can you ?
i just think pakistanis need more female musician … and well, more open-mindedness ( i dunno if there’s such a word )
when it comes to acceptance with culture, or religion even.
cuz they sooo are the culprits when it comes to stopping girls from doing so.

there should be a change in that area of our culture - espeically when it comes to music.
and well, rock (or whatever you wanna call the type of music junoon fits into ) is very assertive.

not to mention, wat can be more appealing than to see an assertive and aggressive woman !!?

[This message has been edited by aphrodite (edited August 07, 2001).]

Depends if they were any good. Spice Girls were mediocre IMO, but Shania Twaine - she's in a different league. It isn't easy for women to make it as pop singers in Pakistan because of the cultural restrictions, as kohal says. But it didn't stop Nazia Hassan and Hadiqa so it can be done.

That Nazia Hassan - I'd have crawled over broken glass just to hand her a mic.

not to mention, wat can be more appealing than to see an assertive and aggressive woman !!?

I can't think of any in pop music. they all seem more sexy and seductive types from my recall.

xtreme, that’s almost the same thing.

imo.

nazia hassan … she will always be the queen when it comes to trendy modern pakistani music .. always.

See aphro, when Nazia started to sing in that incredible voice - and with those gorgeous eyes - even the mullahs waited till she had finished the song before organising a jalsa.

So in a way, girls like her - especially as there was no pop culture at the time - have to be admired a lot more for what they achieved coz they were up against so much more.

Don’t you agree?

agreed!
No doubt NAzia Hassan was and is the pop Queen Diva of Pakistan!

Originally posted by aphrodite:
*nahi people i don't mean literally like junoon where they're jumping up and down the stage, and hair flying everywhere and singings like as if they're yelping or something .
i'm referring more to the type of music played.

I've always believed that Junoon are more performance oriented. I have never had the urge to listen to their music while sitting at home, or while working, or in the car, etc. But when it comes to watching them perform, Im usually there.
So to have a ditto copy for a female band would be hard to imagine, since the songs and music would limit their abilities.....and well, since in my mind their music is mainly produced with live presentation in mind, I dont think many girls in our culture would fit the mold...and even if they did, they wouldnt pass the bill.

Even without cultural barriers in place, I dont believe women can 'liven' up crowds the way men do, unless it involves skimpy dresses and seductive dances. Most female western performers rely on these in order to make their live presentations attract crowds. Other than that, most of the female singers that excel, do so based on the quality of their songs and voice.

hmmm…that surely would be interesting…come to think bout it, no all-female pakistani group…can’t even think of an indian all-female group for that matter

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

taboo in our culture and society u think??

If you do not hope, you will not find what is beyond your hopes…

DM,

there are some all-asian girl groups in the UK - off the top of my head I can think of Sansara. But they definitely play up the sensual side rather than charge around the stage doing guitar riffs.

I think this will happen in India before long as well, but it might be a bit much for Pakistan at the moment. Interesting point though about the cultural taboo. There was a programme recently on tv where an indian girl performed live for the first time in front of a UK audience. She was wearing a micro mini and had her bbutton pierced. Good singer, and she went down ok during the show. But afterwards while being interviewed, a lot of the audience complained about the way she was dressed - and these were mostly young Indians!

ooh good points raised by everyone .

you know, wrt the dressing bit and how the female musicians can 'rouse up the crowd by using it.. naaa no skimpy dresses required at all when it comes to real talent ..
which i’m pretty sure a lot of pakistani lady singers must have ..
the dressing bit is not a bad backup - but nonetheless .. it’s very, degrading so why even go there ?

nazia hassan didn’t have to ( at least i’ve never seen ) so i think she’s the proof almost.

xtreme, agreed.

I didnt say females cant perform onstage unless they are exposing themselves…i meant that females cannot usually liven up crowds with Ali Azmat like voice or Salman Ahmed like strumming…coz the question was whether we can foresee a ‘junoon’ like female group.
I really believe a junoon like female group would flop.
Talking about Nazia Hassan and the likes takes us into a different territory altogether. No comparison between Nazia/Zoheb’s music and Junoon

see here’s the thing … if there’s anything that appeals to me in junoon in the music is the guitar music , females can very much so play them as well - i’m sure it’s not ez but it’s possible for even a girl to play right, if she’s very eager to.

nazia hassan’s territory … well,
i think it’s still within the area that i’m thinking. she’s pakistani. she’s female. and she’s an artist

i think junoon female-like group would do very well ..
esepcially if they’re given a chance.
if not amongst pakistani people , then the west will accept them more, and then maybe pakistani people. who knows.

now if only such an actual group from pakistan would come out to prove it

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

but i don’t think that’s happening anytime soon ..