A New Challenge .. Guest: Shab-e-Hijr

Re: A New Challenge .. Guest: Shab-e-Hijr

thanks for trying... waiting for the pic:)

CB where are you???

I've heard from a youtube cooking expert that if your type of yoghurt curdles, then beat/whisk it before pouring it into the salan

^ great idea

i will make it again soon and make sure this time i take a pic, hubby loved it sooo much he wants me to make it again!

before adding yogurt to saalan, whip it with a tsp of oil before adding to the pot. it wont curdle at all :)

hey proto thnkx for the tip :hugz:

Here are the pics:

Pic of pot: I made it in a pot instead of karahai. Maybe I will use Karahai next time

In Serving Bowl:

My plate:

Some notes: I followed recipe exactly. I just added some kasuri methi. A suggestion I saw in another thread about karahai.
As far as yogurt, I was taught to whip yogurt until it gets velvety smooth texture. Another tip is to add some shorba from pot to temper the yogurt so it would curdle in the pot. I turned off the heat before adding yogurt. Proto’s tip was good too. Now when I run out of onions - this is a great chicken dish to make.

Thanks Shab-e-Hijr.

shab, can u plz tell us how much yogurt to add?

i added two tbspn of yogurt!!!

next time i will remember everyones suggestion for adding yogurt!!

twinklestar..looks good :k:

I ADDED ABOUT HALF CUP TO 3/4 CUP OF YOGURT. MY HUBBY LOVES MASALA AND PRETTY MUCH ATE ALL OF IT HIMSELF. The tomatoes and yogurt created masala so I think the amount depends on how much masala/gravy your family likes or requires.

2tb spoon.

ok girls i made karahi again today
and made a video for some of you.
quality isn’t that good so guzara kare :smiley:
twinklestar karahi looks good.. try it without the methi next time.

^Did I ever tell you how amazing you are?!

what no waddi ilachhi in there? :D

Thanks Shab :)

Can I use same recipe for bakrae ka ghost, instead of chicken?

Waddi illachi needed for lamb to kill the smell.

great vid shab :)

i made it again yesterday will upload piccys later on today :)

Shab-e-Hijar I literally used of pinch of Kasuri Methi so it wasn’t overpowering or anything. End result was very good (mashallah) it finished very quickly. We don’t make Karahai in my family so this recipe is a great addition to my recipe inventory. Best part is hubby loved and devoured it.

Btw the video is terrific. If I was a producer for Masala TV or ARY Zauq I would offer you a show.:biggthumb:

guac .. you just did :hehe: thanks hun :slight_smile:

same.. yes you can I use same recipe for lamb.. just boil the lamb cuz it takes longer to cook.

EB .. ap ko bari ilachi ki chaye bhi achi lagti hai kya??? :stuck_out_tongue:

:hehe: thanks for the offer…and I actually have never used methi in chicken or mutton salan.I only like methi in alo and black chana salan :-).