When you think of Nelson Mandela, one automatically thinks (perhaps):
international statesmanship, a leader in the sense of the word, i.e., not shirking from his responsibilities, respected globally but most importantly by his own people as well
honest, courageous, etc
Within the Muslim world, is there a comparable Muslim leader who comes anywhere close to being an international statesman-like leader whom the majority of Muslims look up to ? He (or she!) doesn’t have to be political…could be for religious/cultural reasons (the closest i can think of are Muhammad Ali or Yusuf Islam?). i mean, is there one current individual, someone the majority of Muslims respect and admire to that extent ? We have lots of Muslim rulers… any of them elicit the same level of respect? Any of them done something worthwhile on a scale that Muslims, whether they are living in eastern Canada or Egypt, admire and respect equally? Do we have a Muslim Nelson Mandela anywhere?
"When you think of Nelson Mandela, one automatically thinks (perhaps):
international statesmanship, a leader in the sense of the word, i.e., not shirking from his responsibilities, respected globally but most importantly by his own people as well
Meray laal, i have studied Nelson Mandela's personal and political life history, years back. You need not educate me, don't worry yourself about that. i am not asking you for a free education so try to calm down.
When someone makes a statement and claims it as a fact, i.e, your implying that Nelson Mandela is LESS than the great international statesman and leader that i articulated in my first post, then obviously one of your readers would like to know what 'facts' you base your statement upon. That is the sole reason i asked.
At any rate. Whatever, goli maaro. You think he's less than that and he has less international, respected credibility in your eyes. Fine. jeez won't be the first, nor the last, time i disagree with someone on gupshup.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by lunaticCalm: *
**All converts!!!*
If you turn away, Allah will replace you by another people, and they will not be like you. (47:38)
Isn't that interesting.... all reverts. Interesting but perhaps not entirely surprising anymore given how cultural aspects supercede Islamic principles in most if not all Muslim countries.
When someone makes a statement and claims it as a fact, i.e, your implying that Nelson Mandela is LESS than the great international statesman and leader that i articulated in my first post, then obviously one of your readers would like to know what 'facts' you base your statement upon. That is the sole reason i asked.
See what I mean. You read books but you don't understand. My point about NM was actually the opposite. He stands for far greater things than dou aanay kay concepts like "international statementship".
Yeah Romeo, what would you know about Mandela? I put him in the same league as Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr, and his name being mentioned in the same thread with jerks like Hamza Yusuf; Yusuf Islam; Muhammad Ali and other dime a dozen schmuks is injustice to grandiosity and immensity. Man, Mandela did what was undoable. He is a Prophet of Allah in my books, may be a little more than that. OK, may be a lot more than that.
You can mention Mohammad Ali with Mike Tyson, but please don’t mention Mandela in the same discussion.
Mats… You are my hero. I place you somewhere between Mandela and myself.
*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
Mahatir Muhammad (former Malaysian PM)
The 'problem' with Mahathir Muhammad would be that he may garner a great deal of respect in countries like Pakistan, but what about in other Muslim Arab countries ?
As far as i know, all Arabs in our community love him for his outspokenness.
Mahatir is a anti-semitic sihthead of the first order. If he is a candidate for heroship then it speaks volumes. Kya kehtay hain?...andhon mein..kaana (vaisey voh bhi toh andha hai)