A Most Beautiful hadith Among All The Beautiful Ahadith

Hazrat Khalid ibn al Walîd (ra) [The Sword of Allah] narrated the following hadith:

A Bedouin came one day to the Prophet (saw) and said to him,* ‘O, Messenger of Allah! I’ve come to ask you a few questions about the affairs of this Life and the Here After.’ *

Messenger of Allah - ** “Ask what you wish”. **

*Q: I’d like to be the most learned of men. *

**A: Fear Allah and you will be the most learned of men. **

*Q: I wish to be the richest man in the world. *

**A: Be contented, and you will be the richest man in the world. **

*Q: I’d like to be the most just man. *

**A: Desire for others what you desire for yourself, and you will be the most just of men. **

*Q: I want to be the best of men. *

**A: Do good to others and you will be the best of men. **

*Q: I wish to be the most favored by Allah. *

**A: Engage much in Allah’s praise, and you will be most favored by Him. **

*Q: I’d like to complete my faith. *

**A: If you have good manners you will complete your faith **

*Q: I wish to be among those who do good. *

**A: Adore Allah as if you see Him. If you don’t see Him, He sees you. In this way you will be among those who do good. **

*Q: I wish to be obedient to Allah. *

**A: If you observe Allah’s commands you will be obedient. **

*Q: I’d like to be free from all sins. *

**A: Bathe yourself from impurities and you will be free from all sins. **

*Q: I’d like to be raised on the Day of Judgment in the light. *

**A: Don’t wrong yourself or any other creature, and you will be raised on the Day of Judgment in the light. **

*Q: I’d like Allah to bestow His mercy on me. *

**A: If you have mercy on yourself and others, Allah will grant you mercy on the Day of Judgment. **

*Q: I’d like my sins to be very few. *

**A: If you seek the forgiveness Allah as much as you can, your sins will be very few. **

*Q: I’d like to be the most honorable man. *

**A: If you do not complain to any fellow creature, you will be the most honorable of men. **

*Q: I’d like to be the strongest of men. *

**A: If you put your trust in Allah, you will be the strongest of men. **

*Q: I’d like to enlarge my provision. *

**A: If you keep yourself pure, Allah will enlarge your provision. **

*Q: I’d like to be loved by Allah and His messenger. *

**A: If you love what Allah and Him messenger love, you will be among their beloved ones. **

*Q: I wish to be safe from Allah’s wrath on the Day of Judgment. *

**A: If you do not loose your temper with any of your fellow creatures, you will be safe from the wrath of Allah on the Day of Judgment. **

*Q: I’d like my prayers to be responded. *

**A: If you avoid forbidden actions, your prayers will he responded. **

*Q: I’d like Allah not to disgrace me on the Day of Judgment. *

**A: If you guard your chastity, Allah will not disgrace you on the Day of Judgment. **

*Q: I’d like Allah to provide me with a protective covering on the Day of Judgment. *

**A: Do not uncover your fellow creatures faults, and Allah will provide you with a covering protection on the Day of Judgment. **

*Q: What will save me from sins? *

**A: Tears, humility and illness. **

*Q: What are the best deeds in the eyes of Allah? *

**A: Gentle manners, modesty and patience. **

*Q: What are the worst evils in the eyes of Allah? *

**A: Hot temper and miserliness. **

*Q: What assuages the wrath of Allah in this life and in the Hereafter? *

**A: Concealed charity and kindness to relatives. **

*Q: What extinguishes hell’s fires on the Day of Judgment? *

A: Patience in adversity and misfortunes.

Related by Imam Ahmad ibn Hanbal

A comprehensive formula to be successful in this world and Hereafter ( which should the ultimate goal of All).

This really is a beautiful hadith. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you very much for posting. :jazak:

I tried hard to find this hadees on internet from the time i saw it on tv. But could not do so.

They are realy the pearl of wisdom. And our Prophet :saw: is the wisest man, the world has ever seen.

Alas ! we muslims are far from even realizing his message.

Friends ! Please do read all 25 Q n A. And analyse our general behaviour

please do ponder over all questions :flower2:

Who authenticated this hadith?

I remember ages ago looking through Musnad Ahmed - in the section on Khalid ibn al Walîd's reports - but didn't see this one.

:flower2:

jazakallah :k:

*Originally posted by gupguppy: *
Who authenticated this hadith?

what does it matter to simpletons.. jazakallah karo aur agay chalo..

^ So lets say:jazak: and move forward.

Ibn Sadique ?

:salam: gupguppy

I got this by e-mail and posted it here seeing the reference of Imam Ahmed bin Hanbal. :blush:

I have asked a knowledgeable Iranian friend of mine for reference. He is in Iran now. Insha’Allah when he gets back in a month’s time and manages to find the reference, I will post it here. Sorry about that.

Thanks for sharing...

Ibn Sadique :-|

Re: A Most Beautiful hadith Among All The Beautiful Ahadith

two questions that are raised by the bold part:
does this mean that I shud poison myself or contract some strange bacteria in order to get ill and remain free of sin? Furthermore, one might argue that actually someone who is ill will tend to sin, cuz if he’s poor he’ll try to obtain money via illegal ways so that he can get medical help :konfused:

Two answers

during illness is man is quite helpless, and in pain so lesser chance of doing sins which otherwise healthy man is more inclined to.

According to hadees(someone may quote), as the pain and misery cuased in Illness, they actually reduce a person's sin. If the person is already pious, then it increases his/her virtues in front of Allah(illness is sort of punishment or trial )

I’m not sure about the completeness of this one: wat about mental illness?

furthermore, pain and misery of illness might actually induce someone to do sins.
just a few random samples:
someone who is morbidily fat will try anything to get lean again: instead of exercise might go for liposuction (although that may not be a sin, it’s still borderline)
also, there are plenty of people who are diagnosed with AIDS and instead of looking at themselves go out to infect others with it via unsafe sex.
there are plenty of examples of people after hearing a fatal diagnosis commit suicide

finally, my critique on the wording of the hadith is still unanswered: the way these questions and answers are formulated one might be inclined to think that in order to be saved from sins i must persue illnesses. any comment on this concern? clearly the wording is not unequivocal.

The wording is for masses, illness as in bodily illness not Mental IMO. The examples are extreme cases

I think suicide resulting from fatal deseases and normal illness are all together two different topics.

And we should take wording in deductive sense and not inductive. Health and illness are both from Allah. I dont think the illness talked about in this hadees is "self imposed" illness, rather it is normal which we see and experience around.

it is like if i get ill, i will be saved from sin(to some extents) and NOT to save myself from sins I should get ill or short cut---> commit suicide

NO. You cant take it at face value nor add tons of your own details to it. What it means is if you happen to be facing an illness - it is haram to harm yourself in any manner - so assuming you got ill by natural means (whatever that means) - then dont pity yourself because of it. But rather “know” that when you are ill , ie suffering - Allah is forgiving you of your past sins.

:jazak:

it is strange to read that hadith that are thought to be strict rules to follow are now suddenly restricted to general masses, which one can deduce rationally as well. One wud expect hadith to give rulings on those matters where ratio is unequivocal, e.g. on the extremes :konfused:

so if i have a common cold, I am being forgiven for past sins. However, during such a common cold I feel myself as able to commit a sin than outside such episode.

It is strange to see that all other questions in that row are about active things one can do to be good. E.g. good manners, seek forgiveness, be good etc etc. And for this one thing a passive stance is required

and how hard is this to understand the bold part for those who are ready to reject any hadeeth they hear:) ?