A hindu-muslim wedding!!!

A hindu friend of mine is getting married to a muslim male. They were having a hindu and a muslim wedding. The hindu wedding was to include the regular saath pheray around the fire and right after the moulvi was to read their nikaah.

Now the elders are having a problem with this arrangement and want to have just one ceremony. After much pressure from the girl’s family, they have agreed to incorporate one hindu tradition into the wedding.

They are still working on it.

What do you all suggest? If anything at all. The girl is converting, but her family still wants to have a hindu flavor…

Re: A hindu-muslim wedding!!!

if she is converting then i think she should have the muslim wedding no saath pheray thing

most people think so too but her parents don’t :hmmm:

^agreed with same. why would she even want it if she believed in Allah?

who cares about parents :p j/k

acha tu saath phaeray nahi tu sirf mangal suttar woh black thing ki rasam kar lou.no

It seems like there is all this Bollywood stuff creeping in… her side of the family seems very inspired by Shahrukh-Gauri, etc… :bummer:

She’s not someone I know well enough to give suggestions…just thought it would be a good discussion topic. :hmmm:

ooo same, I like the mangal sutra idea. They are so pretty anyway :@:

discussion topic ziada dair nahi chalae ga :p

well converting to Islam and marrying a muslim was I am sure also against the parents wishes...so the saath pharay should not be made into an issue, its a moot point now since she converted. other than that desi weddings, indian or pakistani, are pretty alike...they can do an indian style mehndi or some rasams that are not non-religious I guess.

chalain abb topic closed kar dain...mera idea acha laga ;) j/k

Why, we may attract some special guests from Life1 and Religion :chai:

waiting patiently

Khair, ideally there should be just one wedding. The nikaah. And the hindu family can go all out during mehendi and ubtan rasams which are essentially the same anyway, no?

yaar i was kidding...

lets see wat other says.. :)

LOL I know :D

I think its all abt parents wishes......their girl is getting married, aur unke bhi to aarman hoge na.......so I think they can keep pheera thing but manage a day before the nikah day and call their guests whomever they want and enjoi..........who cares what they read in mantra (chants) just think dat its just a function added to the wedding, its dat simple........i dnt knw why families make things complicated. just give a day to the girls family to celebrate their wishes. :)

I’ll be that special guest.

Sooooo, wouldn’t it be shirk to do saat pheres while the priest chants names of hindu gods? :faizy:

no need to listen d chants, waise bhi whoz gonna understand all dat..............and it's shirk when u believe in all dat things and hv doubt in ur heart...........and if u are a pure muslim nothing should bother u. :)

whitesea, unfortunately everyone doesn't think it's that simple. Hindu wedding rituals have a lot of what muslims consider shirk...

Invalid marriage, plus their kids will be illegitimate. Congrats...

But they are both muslim and will have a nikaah :hmmm:

When we do a Muslim Nikkah, alot of hadiths are read along with ayahs from the Quran, and everything starts with the name of Allah swt followed by Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). It's not just, so and so is marrying so and so. It is all along the lines of our deen. And Im sure that's how it's done even in a hindu wedding- names of their gods, etc etc.. someone who understands it might be able to translate it better but I don't think that a hindu wedding is devoid of any hindu religious aspects. Therefore, roaming around a fire while a priest praises the lord and chants stuff that has nothing to do with our beliefs will be considered a shirk.
It's like getting married in a church under the 'name and blessings' of Jesus.