A Gupshup love story...

They had both registered almost at the same time, about two months apart or so…Sana in July and Salim in October. Salim chose the nick ‘Mason’ because he was studying architecture while Sana chose Chrysanthemum, which was her birth flower for the month of november.

When Salim first posted his greeting message in Cafe he simply wrote: “Salamalaikum everyone. This is my first post. I have seen some very interesting posts on Gupshup, especially by this guy called Lajawab. Thought I’d join the party. How is everyone doing?”

Sana was the first to reply, and she wrote: “Walaikumsalam Mason sahib. Welcome to Gupshup. :flower1::flower1::flower1:

Salim was overjoyed to see the first reply to his first post. He immediately replied: “Thank you Chrysanthemum, that’s a beautiful nick you have.
P.S. Where are the smilies?”

Sana replied: “Why thank you sir…:blush:
P.S. Look to the left of your message box. :)”

Salim wrote: “:smack: How could I have missed that? :smack:

Sana wrote: “Yes. How could anyone? :smiley: :smiley: :D”

Salim browsed through the different forums of Gupshup…He went and browsed around in Cafe and found the posts to be somewhat juvenile…He went to General, checked out a few posts in and decided that it must be for those with a short attention span and immediately left…He browsed through other forums, he went to World Affairs and found the heated debates to be somewhat to his liking…He posted an agreement to a post by Chota decrying the atrocities in Iraq and wrote “Disgusting” in a post by Imdad Ali in which he was saying how he loved Americans and how everything they did was right…

He finally decided that Khel and Religion were the most interesting and the most interesting characters were to be found in Religion…He agreed with Bao Bihari who was saying how Shias were wrong about something but kept away from a thread about Ahmedis…That could really get him going…

He went to Images and saw some Cat-woman posing in a Kimono and wrote “Nice dress” and saw twelve pictures of smooth guy and Spock in different poses…

Next morning Salim was off his work…The first thing he did was open his browser and go to GS…He had a picture of his bike, the Suzuki Intruder which he loved and kept so dearly, on his computer, and posted it right away…Immediately someone called Bored in Brisbane replied saying “Cool bike. Any modifications?”

Salim went to Religion and saw a post by Sana. She was asking if it was okay to perform Salat in the dark. Salim had good knowledge of Islam thanks to religious friends and the internet. He replied with whatever knowledge he had, to which Sana replied “:jazak: bro. But can you please tell me from where you got this information? I mean your sources. I would be much obliged.” Salim went to the site he visited most often about religious matters and posted the link alongwith the words: “Hope that suffices.” Sana wrote, :jazak: again bro." Then he went to the Jokes section and posted a desi joke someone had sent him by email…

Sana went to the jokes section to check out some jokes and found Salim’s joke there…She had never heard that joke before and it was very funny, so she wrote: “:smiley: :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: :D”. Salim had just posted his joke and was still lurking in the jokes section when he noticed the reply…He quoted Sana and replied “It’s not that funny. :konfused:” to which Sana replied: “OK. How about :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: :D” and Salim replied: “:smiley: :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: :D” to which Sana said: “And this is funny? :rolleyes:

A year and a few PMs later, their cyber friendship had really grown. But it was just that, friendship, nothing more. They had only told each other their real names just a couple of months ago.

By this time they had stopped replying to each other’s posts for fear of people getting the wrong idea about them. Salim would do a search for all of Sana’s post and vice versa, but they hardly replied in the same post.

Salim’s parents now wanted him to be married and asked if there was someone he knew in whom he was interested in. Salim though being a mature and practical person, was surprised when his first thought turned to Sana…He had never imagined Sana as a prospective marriage partner, but as a very good friend and confidant…Now that he thought about it, he didn’t know any person with whom he could be so compatible as he was with Sana…He knew she was never married, was religious, came from a good family, was educated and literate…What more could one want and he enjoyed his chat sessions with her…

Salim PM’d Sana the next day to join him in chat…

Salim was already there when Sana joined chat and he double clicked her nick to go into a private session:

Mason: Salamzzzzz

Chrysanthemum: W’salamzzzz wazupzzzzz :smiley:

Mason: How are you?

Chrysanthemum: Alhumdulillah…You?

Mason: I am well. Listen. I want to meet you.

There was no reply for a few seconds. Salim realised he had asked for something too much too soon…No self-respecting girl would take this proposition lightly…He suddenly realised his mistake and wrote:

Mason: If you wish to.

Still no reply…

Mason: Sana, we know each other for more than a year now and I believe you know as much about me as anything…

By this time Salim was realising that he was beginning to sound very much in love which he had no intention of doing, yet his stupid fingers kept typing desperate sounding sentences…

Chrysanthemum: Why do you have to meet me?

A response!

Mason: Oh, you know. It’s been a year that we’ve been talking. I would love to see what my cyber friend looks like.

Chrysanthemum: Well, if we’re cyber friends, then what’s the need to see?

Mason: Don’t you trust me?

Chrysanthemum: lol. :smiley: Famous words. But still, I trust you. But meeting is out of the question.

Mason: :mad: Why?

Chrysanthemum: Because it’s not necessary.

Mason: But I am dying of curiosity to see my bestest cyber friend. Please?

Chrysanthemum: Bestest? Is that even a word? And anyways, I hate for you to die.

Mason: Doesn’t matter. I would still have eight to spare.

Chrysanthemum: lol

Mason: Have you no desire to see me?

Chrysanthemum: No.

Mason: :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o

Salim was absolutely bewildered…How could she not realize what he was hinting at?

Mason: I am s.h.o.c.k.e.d.!!! OK, I won’t ask you to meet me on one condition.

Chrysanthemum: What’s that?

Mason: You have to send me a picture of yourself. For god’s sake, we have known each other for more than a year. Can I at least see my cyber friend?

Chrysanthemum: lol. You sound almost desperate Salim. Hold on, let me send you my photo. It’s a passport photo. I don’t have any fancy shmancy pictures of myself.

Mason: And your phone number. I wish to talk to you.

Chrysanthemum: You are pushing it.

Mason: OK OK. Bhaagtay chor ki langot hi sahi… :mad:

At this point Salim thought that while my affection for Sana had changed overnight, hers hadn’t…He somehow had to make her understand that his affection for her went further than just cyber friendship…

A couple of months went by and a couple of phone conversations during which they found out about each other’s families and discovored the same city…Salim found the passport photo of Sana to be everything he had imagined and more…

Sana after talking to Salim had come to the conclusion that Salim was in fact in love with her…She had seen the couple of photos that he had sent and she liked Salim…He was a very innocent looking person and sounded like that, even on the phone…She realized that Salim was a genuine person and not shallow at all…Everything he said was spoken with conviction and earnestness…She was torn…On one hand she wanted to meet him so badly, while on the other…

She decided to gamble it all and she cried…She decided it’s this or nothing…She decided to meet him despite all odds, at least it will be out of her way forever…There would be no more dilly dallying about her emotions…She would put it behind her and be done with it…She called Salim…

Salim: Sana? Salamalikum.

Sana: Walaikumsalam. Where do you want to meet?

There was silence at the other end then Salim spoke…

Salim: Huh? Meet? Meet! Yes…Meet…

Sana could guess that Salim was not expecting this phone call…

Sana: Where do you want to meet Salim?

There was silence at the other end…After a while Salim said:
“Do you know where Stratford park is?”

Sana: Yes…

Salim: When you enter through the west gate, you come across a fountain…Take a left and keep going straight, you’ll run straight into a ‘T’ junction with a bench…I will meet you there at exactly three…Tomorrow, InshAllah…Did you get the directions?

Sana: Yes…

Salim: And Sana, I have so much I have to say to you, but I promise…Whatever I have to say I will say it…I swear, no matter what…

Sana: OK…Allah Hafiz…

Next morning Salim woke up early…He bathed and shaved and got ready…He wore his new black collar less Perry Ellis Shirt and his lucky Khakis…He rushed out, but forgot his wallet…He rushed back up grabbed his wallet and ran back down…He went down to the basement and started up his Intruder, he revved it a couple of times and didn’t even wait for the gates open up properly, he just ducked under them…

Stratford park was half an hour's drive away and it was still just 1:00 o'clock...He had plenty of time...He was thinking maybe he should grab a coffee from 7-11, but decided it might make him pee...As Salim was weaving through the traffic a million thoughts were going through his mind...What would she be like in person? Would she be tall? Short? Thin? Fat? Deformed? After all, you can't tell much from a passport photo...But then he thought about about the way she was, the things she said, and her spirit, and he swore at that moment, however she was, she was to be his...

Sana was slow in getting ready...Everything she was doing was like weighted down with load...She was dreading going and was cursing herself for ever allowing herself to be in this position, yet the promise had been made...The only thing that kept her going was the thought of putting it all behind her quickly so they both can get on with their lives...

Salim revved up his bike even more doing 55 in a 35 mph zone...He just prayed there were no cops around...They would spoil everything and he wanted to be there before Sana...Once again he did a mental checkup of everything...Shirt, wallet, cologne, pants, zipper...Zipper? Did he close it? He glanced down for an instant and saw the zipper open...Crap...He took his left hand of the handle and tried to zip up, but it wouldn't work...He looked down to see what was keeping the zipper from closing shut...It was his shirt...He tucked it in and looked up again, just to see an 18 wheeler backing out of a grocery store backlot...Salim slammed on the brakes...

Sana just arrived at the Starford park...It was 2:15...She sat in her van thinking what she was doing...She decided to get it over with so she started to get out of the van for the promised guppie meet...

Salim's bike had started skidding sideways...Salim decided the best option was to let go of the bike and slide under the truck...Salim did that, however too late...The undercarriage of the 18 wheeler hit Salim squarely on the side of the head and Salim was dead before his body hit the road...

Sana had always been extremely shy, but today she was petrified...She had waited an hour, then hour and a half...It was now 3:45 and Salim hadn't shown up, and her shyness kept raising many questions in her mind..."He didn't like what he saw...He must have come early, hidden himself and seen her and didn't like her up front and then left...He will now probably never want to see me again, even on Gupshup...Perhaps he will change his nick and become a multinick and never come back as Mason for fear of running into me..."

She felt a tear roll down her cheek...Funny...She wasn't even crying, she was just sad...She smiled...As she looked at her shriveled, useless legs and turned her wheelchair to go back to her handicap van, she wondered, what nick would Salim come on Gupshup as now?

Oh Lord! Is this true or a figment of your imagination?

lajawaab...if this is ur imagination, bohot phatke parne hain.....for makis us read all that.

ending pe aa kar satyaanaas kar diya saari story ka....

lajju yaar why cant u put happy ending to ur stories????
zamaana badal gaya hai....
woh pehlay waqton ki baat thee jab love stories used to end in a sad note with the lovers either dying to separated for ever....
aaj kal to bas kissi tarah bhee (logically or illogically) hero or heroine ko milna hee hota hai....

i say EDIT it and let the couple meet....
let them see each other for a while and later realize that the 'online' feelings r not exactly 'real' and that they dont feel for each other after meeting face to face....
and let them end up as moo bolay behan bhai....
lekin plz dono ko handicapped to na banaao....

:(

lol Armughal..moo bolya bhen bhai :hehe: Afterall thats who they started off right? With bro and sis stuff?

as a dea old school-day friend used to say in the school-days "Islam me moo bolay rishton ka koyee wujood nahin hai.... sari zindagi larrkiyaan apnay cousins ko bhaijaan kehti rehti hain or phir aik din un ki mangani ho jati hai"....

oh Goddddddddddddd Lajawab u sure do have a lot of time on ur hands these days dont u :smiley:

tobbah :hehe:

now come on can you please give this story a substantial ending :hoonh:

OK

OMG :eek: she’s handicapped? :teary1:

haven’t u seen the movie MANN? :frowning: Amir Khan still marries Manisha even tho she’s handicapped coz he loves her. Salim can’t be this cruel nooooo what happenned to his pyaar ke daavay :bummer: :frowning:

btw Saleem is my surname and no person called Salim can be so heartless :snooty:

u edited ur post…:stuck_out_tongue:

:-(

i hate the ending!

wow, what a beautiful story! :teary1:

to the rest of you who want a happy ending…
reality check - there are NO happy endings!

life sucks
then you die
so, **** the world
and go get high!

Should I laugh? I just feel like laughing. The religion part was hillarious.

You started off so well, LJ. I was really cracked up, but I didnt like the ending at all!! Bohot sad ending thi!! (Thanks for the mention by the way.)

^ Crack is bad for health catty.

Humsa, and who gave me my first shot hey?

Sssh

beautiful story :frowning:

(cudnt he do his zipper after he had parked :hoonh: )

:eek: Good story. :k: